SEARCH THE DATABASE

Borderland (2007)


July 30, 2009 - 12:41am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: After Dark Films, blood, borderland, Brian Presley, Damian Alcazar, gore, Jake Muxworthy, Martha Higareda, mexico, Rider Strong, Sean Astin, violent, Zev Berman

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Zev Berman
Cast: 
Brian Presley, Jake Muxworthy, Rider Strong, Martha Higareda, Damian Alcazar, Sean Astin


Loosely based on the true story involving the disappearance of a young American tourist that was linked to a cult leader that practiced human sacrifice, Borderland was the sleeper hit of the After Dark festival, in my opinion. Mulberry Street and Deaths of Ian Stone were other hits in the fest, but both seemed to get a bit more buzz than this did, which led me to not expect much from this. It turns out that this is actually a good movie, and delivers a realistic approach at how certain scenes would likely turn out in real life. This is no cookie-cutter movie.

Botched (2007)


May 6, 2012 - 10:03pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: bloody, botched, comedic, Geoff Bell, gory, Jaime Murray, Jamie Foreman, Kit Ryan, Sean Pertwee, Stephen Dorff, underrated

6.5
Your rating: None Average: 6.5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Kit Ryan
Cast: 
Stephen Dorff, Jaime Murray, Sean Pertwee, Jamie Foreman, Geoff Bell


Botched is a film that really took me by surprise. When I started watching the flick I was under the assumption that it was just a heist comedy, but then 20-minutes in some dude gets his head chopped off by a pair of large sheers, delivering a very bloody and awesome scene. I was hooked and as I continued to watch I was treated by decent comedy, fun characters, lots of gore, and a couple over-the-top killers. How the hell did a movie like this slip by me? Apparently it slipped under the radar for a lot of people, as it only received a small blurb over a year ago on various news outlets, but then it pretty much fell off the planet until recently. Scheduled to hit DVD in Germany and other countries later this year, there's currently no US distribution set, but Darclight Films owns the rights, so it'll likely get a DVD release sometime next year.

Brain Damage (1988)


July 21, 2009 - 1:42pm | steelba
  Tags: 80's, blood, brain damage, cheesy, comedic, Frank Henlotter, Gordon MacDonald, gore, Jenifer Lowry, Joseph Gonzalez, Lucille St-Peter, Rick Hearst, Theo Barnes, Vick Darnell

6.125
Your rating: None Average: 6.1 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Frank Henlotter
Cast: 
Rick Hearst, Gordon MacDonald, Jenifer Lowry, Theo Barnes, Lucille St-Peter, Vick Darnell, Joseph Gonzalez


This is one I saw a long time ago and had been meaning to revisit for some time. After a regular poster here requested a review for it I figured this was as good a time as any to check it. I didn't remember to much in the way of details about this older Henlotter film except that I liked it. Well I hadn't completely forgotten the gore, the Aylmer, or the over the top craziness either. All the other aspects had been forgotten though, so it was almost like seeing it for the first time again.

Brainscan (1994)


December 8, 2009 - 1:29pm | daylynn4ever
  Tags: 90's, brainscan, Edward Furlong, Frank Langella, psychological, serial killer, T. Ryder Smith, teens, trickster, video games

6.4
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
John Flynn
Cast: 
Edward Furlong, Frank Langella, T. Ryder Smith


Ever wonder what that quiet boy who sits in the back of your class with his one and only friend does when he home alone? Well Enter Brainscan the newest innovation in virtual reality video games and you’ll soon find out. Come on play I dare you!

A lonely teenage horror-movie fan named Michael Brower (Edward Furlong), who has lost his mother in horrible accident as a child and inadvertently lost his father in the process, aims for the ultimate horror thrill discovers a mysterious computer game that uses hypnosis to custom-tailor the game into the most terrifying experience imaginable.

BubbaHo-Tep (2002)


April 12, 2011 - 10:50pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Bob Ivy, Bruce Campbell, BubbaHo-Tep, comedic, Don Coscarelli, Ella Joyce, Elvis, Heidi Marnhout, Mummies, mummy, Ossie Davis, Reggie Bannister

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Don Coscarelli
Cast: 
Bruce Campbell, Ossie Davis, Reggie Bannister, Ella Joyce, Heidi Marnhout, Bob Ivy


I first heard about this film back when it just barely wrapped up filming and some pics for the film were released online. Back then it was a part of the UHM page, but eventually I took it down, because it seemed like it was never going to get distribution. It wasn't until recently that I added it back on the UHM page after learning that MGM was going to be distributing the flick on DVD. I was lucky enough to catch a copy it, but sadly after viewing it I was left disappointed. I wasn't sure what to expect from this, but I was thinking we'd at least get a little more action here.

Burning Bright (2010)


August 28, 2010 - 7:35pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Briana Evigan, burning bright, Carlos Brooks, DVD, Garret Dillahunt, Ravenous, suspense, tiger

6.8
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Carlos Brooks
Cast: 
Briana Evigan, Garret Dillahunt, Charlie Tahan, Mary Rachel Dudley, Peggy Sheffield


A young woman (Briana Evigan) and her autistic little brother are trapped inside their boarded up home during a hurricane, and the only other company they have is an F'n murderous Bengal tiger! That's the basic premise for Burning Bright, and as ludicrous as it sounds, the film itself is actually fairly decent, especially for a straight-to-DVD effort.

Byzantium (2012)


October 30, 2013 - 7:01pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: based on play, Bradley James, Byzantium, Caleb Landry Jones, Danny Mays, Gemma Arterton, Jonny Lee Miller, Moira Buffini, Neil Jordan, Number 9 Films, Sam Riley, Saoirse Ronan, Tom Hollander, vampire

6.8
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Neil Jordan
Cast: 
Saoirse Ronan, Gemma Arterton, Caleb Landry Jones, Danny Mays, Bradley James, Sam Riley, Jonny Lee Miller, Tom Hollander


After a lengthy hiatus from horror, director Neil Jordan (Interview with the Vampire) returns to the genre with Byzantium--an unconventional and poignant tale of a mother-daughter vampire duo who've been on the run for hundreds of years from a secret vampire organization known as "The Brotherhood." While the genre is starting to finally heal from what Twilight did to the modern vampire sub-genre, the beautifully shot Byzantium attempts to take some of the lore we already know and change a few things along the way. Although fangs aren't seen anywhere in the film, the bloodsuckers here are still very dangerous. This is especially apparent when we get a pretty graphic decapitation scene within the first 10 minutes.

Cabin Fever (2002)


February 7, 2010 - 1:03pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: bacteria, cabin, cabin fever, Cerina Vincent, Eli Roth, flesh-eating, James DeBello, Joey Kern, Jordan Ladd, Rider Strong, vacation

6.83333
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Eli Roth
Cast: 
Rider Strong, Jordan Ladd, Joey Kern, Cerina Vincent, James DeBello


I remember being first emailed about this movie from director Eli Roth some time ago. At the time I didn't really know much of what to think, considering I hadn't really heard much about the flick until then. As time went on I started noticing that it may actually be a good movie. I guess that's where I made my mistake, because I expected a little too much and didn't get exactly what I was hoping for. The story is pretty simple - a group of friends vacation in an old cabin in the woods. They somehow contract some sort of strange virus or something which causes their skin to apparently be eaten until the host remains bloodied and disfigured. Paranoia and panic sets in, which ends up splitting the group and leaving every man for himself.

Cabin Fever (2016)


February 18, 2016 - 6:42pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Armory Films, cabin, cabin fever, Cassian Elwes, Contend, Dustin Ingram, Eli Roth, Gage Golightly, infection, Matthew Daddario, Nadine Crocker, Pelican Point Media, Randy Pearlstein, remake, Samuel Davis, the woods, Travis Zariwny, virus

2.85714
Your rating: None Average: 2.9 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Travis Zariwny
Cast: 
Gage Golightly, Dustin Ingram, Samuel Davis, Matthew Daddario, Nadine Crocker


While nobody asked for a remake of 2002's Cabin Fever, we got one anyway and apparently with the backing of original writer/director Eli Roth (who serves as executive producer here). I personally didn't care much for the original movie, which I found a little too slow and silly at times, but I think I was most disappointed with its lack of gore. Keep in mind prior to the film's release Eli Roth made a lot of promises and hyped the flick up to be this gorefest that it surely wasn't. My expectations were clearly set too high.

Cabin Fever 2: Spring Fever (2009)


February 7, 2010 - 10:41am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Alexi Wasser, bacteria, blood, cabin fever, DVD, flesh-eating, Giuseppe Andrews, gore, high school, Judah Friedlander, Larry Fessenden, Lionsgate, Marc Senter, Mark Borchardt, Noah Segan, prom, Rider Strong, Rusty Kelley, school, students, Ti West, virus

5.1875
Your rating: None Average: 5.2 (16 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Ti West
Cast: 
Noah Segan, Rusty Kelley, Alexi Wasser, Marc Senter, Giuseppe Andrews, Rider Strong, Mark Borchardt, Judah Friedlander, Larry Fessenden


Eli Roth's Cabin Fever opened to theaters back in 2002 and for its low-budget was fairly successful at the box office. Talks of a sequel with Eli returning was brought up a couple years later, but the man became too busy with other projects to pursue the sequel, and Ti West (The Roost, The House of the Devil) came into the project in 2006, with promises of bringing something new to the table. I personally didn't really like the first Cabin Fever all that much. I liked the concept, but wasn't a fan of the comedy or the random weirdness it offered.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.