SEARCH THE DATABASE

Burning Bright (2010)


August 28, 2010 - 7:35pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Briana Evigan, burning bright, Carlos Brooks, DVD, Garret Dillahunt, Ravenous, suspense, tiger

6.8
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Carlos Brooks
Cast: 
Briana Evigan, Garret Dillahunt, Charlie Tahan, Mary Rachel Dudley, Peggy Sheffield


A young woman (Briana Evigan) and her autistic little brother are trapped inside their boarded up home during a hurricane, and the only other company they have is an F'n murderous Bengal tiger! That's the basic premise for Burning Bright, and as ludicrous as it sounds, the film itself is actually fairly decent, especially for a straight-to-DVD effort.

Byzantium (2012)


October 30, 2013 - 7:01pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: based on play, Bradley James, Byzantium, Caleb Landry Jones, Danny Mays, Gemma Arterton, Jonny Lee Miller, Moira Buffini, Neil Jordan, Number 9 Films, Sam Riley, Saoirse Ronan, Tom Hollander, vampire

6.8
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Neil Jordan
Cast: 
Saoirse Ronan, Gemma Arterton, Caleb Landry Jones, Danny Mays, Bradley James, Sam Riley, Jonny Lee Miller, Tom Hollander


After a lengthy hiatus from horror, director Neil Jordan (Interview with the Vampire) returns to the genre with Byzantium--an unconventional and poignant tale of a mother-daughter vampire duo who've been on the run for hundreds of years from a secret vampire organization known as "The Brotherhood." While the genre is starting to finally heal from what Twilight did to the modern vampire sub-genre, the beautifully shot Byzantium attempts to take some of the lore we already know and change a few things along the way. Although fangs aren't seen anywhere in the film, the bloodsuckers here are still very dangerous. This is especially apparent when we get a pretty graphic decapitation scene within the first 10 minutes.

Cabin Fever (2002)


February 7, 2010 - 1:03pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: bacteria, cabin, cabin fever, Cerina Vincent, Eli Roth, flesh-eating, James DeBello, Joey Kern, Jordan Ladd, Rider Strong, vacation

6.83333
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Eli Roth
Cast: 
Rider Strong, Jordan Ladd, Joey Kern, Cerina Vincent, James DeBello


I remember being first emailed about this movie from director Eli Roth some time ago. At the time I didn't really know much of what to think, considering I hadn't really heard much about the flick until then. As time went on I started noticing that it may actually be a good movie. I guess that's where I made my mistake, because I expected a little too much and didn't get exactly what I was hoping for. The story is pretty simple - a group of friends vacation in an old cabin in the woods. They somehow contract some sort of strange virus or something which causes their skin to apparently be eaten until the host remains bloodied and disfigured. Paranoia and panic sets in, which ends up splitting the group and leaving every man for himself.

Cabin Fever (2016)


February 18, 2016 - 6:42pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Armory Films, cabin, cabin fever, Cassian Elwes, Contend, Dustin Ingram, Eli Roth, Gage Golightly, infection, Matthew Daddario, Nadine Crocker, Pelican Point Media, Randy Pearlstein, remake, Samuel Davis, the woods, Travis Zariwny, virus

2.85714
Your rating: None Average: 2.9 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Travis Zariwny
Cast: 
Gage Golightly, Dustin Ingram, Samuel Davis, Matthew Daddario, Nadine Crocker


While nobody asked for a remake of 2002's Cabin Fever, we got one anyway and apparently with the backing of original writer/director Eli Roth (who serves as executive producer here). I personally didn't care much for the original movie, which I found a little too slow and silly at times, but I think I was most disappointed with its lack of gore. Keep in mind prior to the film's release Eli Roth made a lot of promises and hyped the flick up to be this gorefest that it surely wasn't. My expectations were clearly set too high.

Cabin Fever 2: Spring Fever (2009)


February 7, 2010 - 10:41am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Alexi Wasser, bacteria, blood, cabin fever, DVD, flesh-eating, Giuseppe Andrews, gore, high school, Judah Friedlander, Larry Fessenden, Lionsgate, Marc Senter, Mark Borchardt, Noah Segan, prom, Rider Strong, Rusty Kelley, school, students, Ti West, virus

5.1875
Your rating: None Average: 5.2 (16 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Ti West
Cast: 
Noah Segan, Rusty Kelley, Alexi Wasser, Marc Senter, Giuseppe Andrews, Rider Strong, Mark Borchardt, Judah Friedlander, Larry Fessenden


Eli Roth's Cabin Fever opened to theaters back in 2002 and for its low-budget was fairly successful at the box office. Talks of a sequel with Eli returning was brought up a couple years later, but the man became too busy with other projects to pursue the sequel, and Ti West (The Roost, The House of the Devil) came into the project in 2006, with promises of bringing something new to the table. I personally didn't really like the first Cabin Fever all that much. I liked the concept, but wasn't a fan of the comedy or the random weirdness it offered.

Cabin Fever: Patient Zero (2014)


February 11, 2014 - 11:02pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: bacteria, cabin fever, Cabin Fever: Patient Zero, disease, flesh eating virus, Jake Wade Wall, Jillian Murray, Kaare Andrews, Lydia Hearst, Mitch Ryan, paranoia, Ryan Donowho, sequel, The Indomina Group, virus

6.33333
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
6
Director: 
Kaare Andrews
Cast: 
Sean Astin, Brando Eaton, Jillian Murray, Lydia Hearst, Ryan Donowho, Mitch Ryan


It seems that a lot has changed from the point that this was announced to now. It was originally going to be a prequel of sorts that would detail the origins of the virus and was going to focus on some sort of cruise ship colliding with an abandoned research vessel where the virus had been unleashed. Somewhere along the way things changed and it seems that none of us following the project were informed. Either way, the final result ended up being surprisingly decent and better than the previous sequel, although that's not exactly saying a whole lot.

Cannibal Apocalypse (1980)


February 5, 2010 - 12:08pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Antonio Margheriti, Cannibal Apocalypse, cannibalism, Cinzia De Carolis, Elizabeth Turner, Giovanni Lombardo Radice, gory, John Saxon, Tony King, underrated

7.25
Your rating: None Average: 7.3 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Antonio Margheriti
Cast: 
John Saxon, Elizabeth Turner, Giovanni Lombardo Radice, Cinzia De Carolis, Tony King


I heard a lot of positive stuff on this film before seeing it, so I knew it would be good, but I didn't think I'd enjoy it as much as I did. It had a cool original story and a good amount of gore. The story is mainly about a Vietnam vet who is released from a small institution due to over-crowding and because they thought he was cured from being cannibalistic. Once he is released he tries to catch up with his old commander, but is shunned, because of an incident years ago when he was held prisoner - when the commander tried to help free them he was bitten on the arm.

Cannibal Holocaust (1980)


December 9, 2010 - 12:49am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, blood, cannibal holocaust, cannibals, Francesca Ciardi, gore, Luca Barbareschi, mockumentary, Perry Pirkanen, Robert Kerman, Ruggero Deodato, Salvatore Basile

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Ruggero Deodato
Cast: 
Robert Kerman, Francesca Ciardi, Perry Pirkanen, Luca Barbareschi, Salvatore Basile


I heard a lot of hype about this movie before seeing it which made me want to see it. It was said to be a very disturbing and gory movie, so I just had to see it for myself. After watching it I have to say that it does somewhat live up to the hype, though, it wasn't as disturbing as I thought it'd be, but there are some cringe-worthy moments.

Captivity (2007)


October 19, 2009 - 9:32pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: captivity, Daniel Gillies, Elisha Cuthbert, Laz Alonso, Michael Harney, Pruitt Taylor Vince, torture, torture porn

3.83333
Your rating: None Average: 3.8 (6 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Roland Joffé
Cast: 
Elisha Cuthbert, Daniel Gillies, Pruitt Taylor Vince, Laz Alonso, Michael Harney


Released in other countries this past Spring, the film underwent additional shooting after negative screenings proved that some scenes needed to be reworked, so a reported four new torture sequences were added to amp up the gore, while other scenes were shortened and extended. The first version of the movie was essentially just a psychological thriller with zero gore or torture sequences, and just followed Elisha's character as she tried to endure the mind-games that the killer was subjecting her to.

These new gore scenes are obviously just there for no reason other than to shock the audience and please the fans of the torture sub-genre and offer nothing to the overall story. However, some of the additional non-gore sequences sped up the pace and added a little story and edge that was missing from the first version. The movie went under some pressure when a billboard was posted near a middle school that depicted a series of images with the words "Abduction, Confinement, Torture, Termination" above it. The MPAA also gave the film a hard time in receiving its R-rating, which led to the delay in the release by a couple months.

Carrie (2013)


January 15, 2014 - 10:09pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Alex Russell, Ansel Elgort, based on book, Carrie, Gabriella Wilde, Ivana Baquero, Judy Greer, Julianne Moore, MGM, Portia Doubleday, psychic, remake, Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa, Screen Gems, Stephen King, telekinesis, telekinetic

7.70588
Your rating: None Average: 7.7 (17 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Kimberly Peirce
Cast: 
Chloe Moretz, Julianne Moore, Gabriella Wilde, Alex Russell, Ansel Elgort, Ivana Baquero, Gabriella Wilde, Portia Doubleday, Judy Greer


Having never read the book or considered myself much of a fan of the original 1976 film, I went into this remake not expecting much and with a semi-open mind. I knew from the trailer that little was changed, so I figured the flick wouldn't try to pull any surprises on us. This isn't the first time it received the remake treatment, as NBC apparently released a made-for-TV movie back in 2002 starring Angela Bettis, which somehow flew passed me, because I've never seen it. I did, however, watch the terrible Rage: Carrie 2 in theaters back in '99. Until this review I've since had that atrocity blocked from memory. Whether you want to consider it another adaptation from the book or simply a remake of the original, either way, it's actually not that bad of a movie.

LATEST VIDEOS

UHM PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.