SEARCH THE DATABASE

Cherry Falls (2000)


July 3, 2009 - 6:42pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: blood, Bre Blair, Brittany Murphy, Candy Clark, D.J. Qualls, Douglas Spain, Gabriel Mann, Geoffrey Wright, Jay Mohr, Jesse Bradford, Joannah Portman, Keram Malicki-Sánchez, Kristen Miller, Michael Biehn, Michael Weston, Natalie Ramsey, slasher

6.375
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Geoffrey Wright
Cast: 
Brittany Murphy, Jay Mohr, Michael Biehn, Jesse Bradford, Candy Clark, Gabriel Mann, Natalie Ramsey, Douglas Spain, Bre Blair, Kristen Miller, Michael Weston, Keram Malicki-Sánchez, Joannah Portman, D.J. Qualls

Children of the Corn (2009)


September 26, 2009 - 11:35pm | Slayer
  Tags: based on book, children of the corn, Daniel Newman, David Anders, Kandyse McClure, kids, POS movie, Preston Bailey, Stephen King, syfy, TV

3.71429
Your rating: None Average: 3.7 (14 votes)

Rating #: 
2/10
Director: 
Donald P. Borchers
Cast: 
Daniel Newman, David Anders, Kandyse McClure, Preston Bailey


I just finished watching the remake of Children of the Corn and I can honestly say that I haven't been this mad at a movie in a long long time. To think that people actually greenlit, financed, shot and overall made this movie, angers me to my core. The original Children of the Corn is a classic and something I hold very dear, as it was one of the first horror films I saw when I was a kid. The scene where the young boy gets stalked and eventually has his throat slit in the corn field is a scene that gave me nightmares for weeks. The only nightmares I can say I will get from this pointless remake is ones where I'm tied to chair and forced to watch it over and over again.

Children of the Living Dead (2001)


July 3, 2009 - 8:09pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: POS movie, Tom Savini, Tor Ramsey, undead, walking dead, Zombie Movies

2
Your rating: None Average: 2 (6 votes)

Rating #: 
2/10
Director: 
Tor Ramsey
Cast: 
Tom Savini, Marty Schiff, Damien Luvara, A. Barrett Worland, Tom Stoviak


When I first heard about this movie I figured it would be good, but then I started to learn more and more about it and gradually became disappointed. Eventually I just came to the point where I didn't expect much at all and all the negative reviews I read just backed it up even more. I haven't read one positive review for this. Even Tom Savini didn't like the movie, and he was in it! I've heard mention in the past that this was supposedly the unofficial sequel to the Living Dead trilogy and I think that's crap, because this movie is far from the likes of the classic Living Dead films. The plot is silly and so is the concept of a "master zombie".

Chillerama (2011)


December 7, 2011 - 9:20pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Adam Green, Adam Rifkin, Adam Robitel, anthology, Anton Troy, Chillerama, comedic, creature feature, Eric Roberts, Gabby West, I Was a Teenage Werebear, Joe Lynch, Joel Moore, Kane Hodder, Kristina Klebe, Lin Shaye, musical, nazi, Ray Wise, Ron Jeremy, sci-fi, scifi, Sean Paul Lockhart, The Diary of Anne Frankenstein, Tim Sullivan, Wadzilla, Zom-B-Movie, Zombie Movies

6.6
Your rating: None Average: 6.6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Adam Green, Joe Lynch, Adam Rifkin, Tim Sullivan
Cast: 
Adam Rifkin, Ray Wise, Eric Roberts, Joel Moore, Kristina Klebe, Kane Hodder, Gabby West, Lin Shaye, Adam Robitel, Tim Sullivan, Ron Jeremy, Sean Paul Lockhart, Anton Troy


Chillerama is definitely not a film for everyone, as it's essentially an homage to the late cheesy drive-in movies of the 50's and 60's. I've personally never had the chance to go to a drive-in theater, so the whole experience is a bit lost with me. A collaboration of four different directors, the pic attempts to deliver absurd, schlock and grindhouse-esque features that you normally wouldn't see in cinema now-a-days. It works in certain aspects, but falls flat in others, and unfortunately due to a couple underwhelming segments that make up half the flick, it ends up a somewhat disappointing effort.

"Zom-B-Movie" Joe Lynch
6/10

Chopping Mall (1986)


September 4, 2010 - 5:29pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Barbara Crampton, cheesy, Chopping Mall, Jim Wynorski, John Terlesky, Karrie Emerson, mall, Nick Segal, robots, Russell Todd, Suzee Slater, Tony O'Dell, Zoe Kelli Simon

6.57143
Your rating: None Average: 6.6 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jim Wynorski
Cast: 
Zoe Kelli Simon, Tony O'Dell, Russell Todd, Karrie Emerson, Barbara Crampton, Nick Segal, John Terlesky, Suzee Slater


Ah yes, Chopping Mall. I remember seeing this flick when I was a kid and really enjoying it. It was good to go back to it thanks to its recent DVD release and this isn’t a barebones disc either -- there are actually extra features unlike a lot of other 80's horror releases on DVD.

There's a nice short documentary that talks about the making of the film. This movie obviously isn't a masterpiece, but it sure is entertaining 80's horror cheese. I think the robots in this movie are much like how Johnny Five from Short Circuit would have been if he weren't such a wussy robot.

Christmas Evil (1980)


September 4, 2010 - 5:51pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, cheesy, christmas, Christmas Evil, killer santa, Lewis Jackson, low budget, santa, slasher

6.25
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Lewis Jackson
Cast: 
Brandon Maggar, Jeffrey DeMunn, Dianne Hull, Andy Fenwick, Brian Neville, Joe Jamrog


This a film that some may consider to be the definitive Christmas slasher, next to Silent Night, Deadly Night, of course. Personally I don't like either films, but I can see how some may consider this to be a cult classic. The movie really isn't all that bad, but then it isn't all that good either, especially with that silly-ass ending.

The movie is about a toy-maker who's obsessed with Christmas and Santa, and eventually takes it upon himself to become the mythical icon and spread joy to the children by handing out toys for those who deserve it, and sleighing (get it? bwahahaha!) those who've been "naughty". This movie had its moments, but a lot of the pacing was too slow for me. The movie really doesn't get goin' until towards the end when the lead character Harry, is in full costume and out wrecking havoc, then having to flee from the pissed off townspeople.

Chronicle (2012)


February 7, 2012 - 3:54pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Adam Schroeder Productions, Alex Russell, Ashley Hinshaw, Chronicle, Dane DeHaan, Davis Entertainment, found footage, high school, Josh Trank, Max Landis, Michael B. Jordan, Michael Kelly, pov, powers, students, teens

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Josh Trank
Cast: 
Michael B. Jordan, Alex Russell, Ashley Hinshaw, Dane DeHaan, Michael Kelly


I'm not particularly a fan of found-footage/POV films much, so I tend to avoid them. Chronicle, on the other hand, intrigued me from the start. The promise of regular teens gaining supernatural powers and watching their rise and fall unfold before our eyes via camera footage offered an interesting and realistic look to the usual superhero-type sub-genre. Added with the fact that one of the teens would eventually use his newfound gift for nefarious means meant we'd hopefully also see some familiar genre fair as well. I went into the theater hopeful and came out happy to find that the movie didn't disappoint.

Citadel (2012)


March 15, 2013 - 4:29pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: agoraphobia, Amy Shiels, Anuerin Barnard, Blinder Films, Ciaran Foy, Citadel, evil kids, feral, feral children, Ireland, Irish, James Cosmo, Sigma Films, uk, urban, Wunmi Mosaku

5.2
Your rating: None Average: 5.2 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Ciaran Foy
Cast: 
Anuerin Barnard, James Cosmo, Amy Shiels, Wunmi Mosaku


Citadel is like a modern day Irish take on The Brood, with the hooded mutant children causing all sorts of mayhem, but in this case specifically centered around a broken down apartment complex and its poor inhabitants. I liked the flick to a certain extent, but had a problem with some of the glaring plot-holes in the story.

The flick follows a young man who's forced to raise his baby alone after his pregnant wife/GF is violently assaulted by a group of hooded assailants, causing her to give birth early and essentially ending her life. Not only is the young father having a hard time doing it all on his own, but thanks to the attack he's developed a severe case of agoraphobia, leaving him cooped up in the small cluttered apartment most of the time. That will soon be the least of his troubles when he realizes that the hooded people are coming back for the baby.

Cloverfield (2008)


October 23, 2009 - 12:20am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Blake Lively, cloverfield, creature, giant, Greg Grunberg, handheld camera, Jessica Lucas, Lizzy Caplan, Matt Reeves, Michael Stahl-David, Mike Vogel, monster, Odette Yustman, pov, T. J. Miller

6.85714
Your rating: None Average: 6.9 (14 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Matt Reeves
Cast: 
Michael Stahl-David, Mike Vogel, Odette Yustman, Lizzy Caplan, Jessica Lucas, T. J. Miller, Greg Grunberg, Blake Lively

Clown (2014)


March 17, 2015 - 5:33pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Andy Powers, based on trailer, Christian Distefano, Christopher D. Ford, clowns, Cross Creek Pictures, curse, Eli Roth, Elizabeth Whitmere, family, Jon Watts, Laura Allen, Matthew Stefiuk, Peter Stormare, Vertebra Films

7.69231
Your rating: None Average: 7.7 (13 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Jon Watts
Cast: 
Andy Powers, Elizabeth Whitmere, Christian Distefano, Matthew Stefiuk, Peter Stormare, Laura Allen


It's every upcoming filmmaker's dream to put out a short or concept trailer for a project and have it get enough attention that it actually gets financed and turned into a full length feature. That's pretty much how Clown came about--director Jon Watts created a fake trailer for a movie called Clown and slapped Eli Roth's name on it before posting it on YouTube. Naturally this got the attention of Roth, who actually liked the idea so much that he decided to help finance it. Unfortunately, the trailer is much more interesting than the movie itself.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.