SEARCH THE DATABASE

Chawz (2009)


October 31, 2009 - 12:53pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, boar, chaw, creature feature, giant, hunters, Jeong-won Shin, killer boar, korean, pig, south korea

5.66667
Your rating: None Average: 5.7 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Jeong-won Shin
Cast: 
Tae-woong Sin, Hang-seon Jang, Je-moon Yoon, Yu-mi Jeong, Hyeok-kwon Pak


Chaw is the latest creature feature to come out of South Korea, a country that's not exactly known for much in that particular sub-genre. Aside from The Host in 2006, I can't specifically think of any other recent efforts as far as creature features go. Sadly, Chaw turned out to be a big disappointment for me. Being a fan of Korean cinema I was hoping for a fun and cool horror romp, but instead the movie turned out to be mostly just a comedy with very minor horror and dramatic elements.

Films from the country are known to blend various sub-genres together, which can work sometimes, but for movies like Chaw, it definitely doesn't. If it weren't for the brief cuts to the pig grabbing hold and occasionally taking a bite of out some unsuspecting victim, you'd think you were simply watching a comedy. Much like what director Jeong-won Shin did with Sisily 2km, he blends horror and comedy together, but for one reason or another, opted to use more comedic aspects for this movie instead of horror.

Cheerleader Camp (1987)


December 30, 2010 - 1:37pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Betsy Russell, Cheerleader Camp, cheerleaders, cheesy, John Quinn, Leif Garrett, Lorie Griffin, Lucinda Dickey, POS movie, slashers

5.33333
Your rating: None Average: 5.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
3/10
Director: 
John Quinn
Cast: 
Betsy Russell, Leif Garrett, Lucinda Dickey, Lorie Griffin


After watching the first 10 minutes of the film and witnessing girls take off their tops for no apparent reason, I realized that I've already seen this. After having felt like a dumbass for renting a film twice, I continued to watch it, because I wanted to do a review. I guess that's the price you pay when you've seen as many horror films as I have. You kinda lose track.

Anyway, the film is just like any other 80s slasher -- girl goes to camp with a bunch of her peers and they end up dying one by one. The thing I did somewhat like about the film was the ending. It wasn't like many other slashers where the bad guy gets found out and dies or gets caught. It's a little different and more interesting. The film itself still kinda sucks though.

Chernobyl Diaries (2012)


June 7, 2012 - 12:30pm | Johnny D
  Tags: Bradley Parker, Chernobyl Diaries, Devin Kelley, Dimitri Diatchenko, FilmNation Entertainment, Ingrid Bolso Berdal, Jesse McCartney, Jonathan Sadowski, mutants, Nathan Phillips, Olivia Taylor Dudley, Oren Peli, The Genre Co., Warner Bros

6.8
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (10 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Bradley Parker
Cast: 
Jonathan Sadowski, Devin Kelley, Jesse McCartney, Olivia Taylor Dudley, Nathan Phillips, Ingrid Bolso Berdal, Dimitri Diatchenko


I didn’t go in expecting much from Chernobyl Diaries. All the advertising beat the audience over the head with the fact that the creator of the Paranormal Activity series produced it. That’s more of a deterrent for me than seal of approval at this point, considering the plummeting decline in the Paranormal sequels. Alas, I was really drawn in by the premise of using the Chernobyl disaster as the backdrop of a horror film, and the promise of some ghostly mischief. Wait a second. This isn’t a ghost movie? The marketing lied to me? Dammit.

A plot doesn’t get much more basic or thin than that of Chernobyl Diaries. A small group of American vacationers head to the Ukraine to visit one of said vacationer’s black sheep, rebel brother. Being the black sheep rebel that he is, he books a tour of the now abandoned town of Pripyat; the site of the Chernobyl nuclear explosion. They soon become stranded and realize the town isn’t as abandoned as they thought. Throw in a European couple to raise the body count, and a questionable Ukrainian tour guide, and BOOM. Instant horror movie.

Cherry Falls (2000)


July 3, 2009 - 6:42pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: blood, Bre Blair, Brittany Murphy, Candy Clark, D.J. Qualls, Douglas Spain, Gabriel Mann, Geoffrey Wright, Jay Mohr, Jesse Bradford, Joannah Portman, Keram Malicki-Sánchez, Kristen Miller, Michael Biehn, Michael Weston, Natalie Ramsey, slasher

6.375
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Geoffrey Wright
Cast: 
Brittany Murphy, Jay Mohr, Michael Biehn, Jesse Bradford, Candy Clark, Gabriel Mann, Natalie Ramsey, Douglas Spain, Bre Blair, Kristen Miller, Michael Weston, Keram Malicki-Sánchez, Joannah Portman, D.J. Qualls

Children of the Corn (2009)


September 26, 2009 - 11:35pm | Slayer
  Tags: based on book, children of the corn, Daniel Newman, David Anders, Kandyse McClure, kids, POS movie, Preston Bailey, Stephen King, syfy, TV

3.73333
Your rating: None Average: 3.7 (15 votes)

Rating #: 
2/10
Director: 
Donald P. Borchers
Cast: 
Daniel Newman, David Anders, Kandyse McClure, Preston Bailey


I just finished watching the remake of Children of the Corn and I can honestly say that I haven't been this mad at a movie in a long long time. To think that people actually greenlit, financed, shot and overall made this movie, angers me to my core. The original Children of the Corn is a classic and something I hold very dear, as it was one of the first horror films I saw when I was a kid. The scene where the young boy gets stalked and eventually has his throat slit in the corn field is a scene that gave me nightmares for weeks. The only nightmares I can say I will get from this pointless remake is ones where I'm tied to chair and forced to watch it over and over again.

Children of the Living Dead (2001)


July 3, 2009 - 8:09pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: POS movie, Tom Savini, Tor Ramsey, undead, walking dead, Zombie Movies

2.25
Your rating: None Average: 2.3 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
2/10
Director: 
Tor Ramsey
Cast: 
Tom Savini, Marty Schiff, Damien Luvara, A. Barrett Worland, Tom Stoviak


When I first heard about this movie I figured it would be good, but then I started to learn more and more about it and gradually became disappointed. Eventually I just came to the point where I didn't expect much at all and all the negative reviews I read just backed it up even more. I haven't read one positive review for this. Even Tom Savini didn't like the movie, and he was in it! I've heard mention in the past that this was supposedly the unofficial sequel to the Living Dead trilogy and I think that's crap, because this movie is far from the likes of the classic Living Dead films. The plot is silly and so is the concept of a "master zombie".

Chillerama (2011)


December 7, 2011 - 9:20pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Adam Green, Adam Rifkin, Adam Robitel, anthology, Anton Troy, Chillerama, comedic, creature feature, Eric Roberts, Gabby West, I Was a Teenage Werebear, Joe Lynch, Joel Moore, Kane Hodder, Kristina Klebe, Lin Shaye, musical, nazi, Ray Wise, Ron Jeremy, sci-fi, scifi, Sean Paul Lockhart, The Diary of Anne Frankenstein, Tim Sullivan, Wadzilla, Zom-B-Movie, Zombie Movies

6.6
Your rating: None Average: 6.6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Adam Green, Joe Lynch, Adam Rifkin, Tim Sullivan
Cast: 
Adam Rifkin, Ray Wise, Eric Roberts, Joel Moore, Kristina Klebe, Kane Hodder, Gabby West, Lin Shaye, Adam Robitel, Tim Sullivan, Ron Jeremy, Sean Paul Lockhart, Anton Troy


Chillerama is definitely not a film for everyone, as it's essentially an homage to the late cheesy drive-in movies of the 50's and 60's. I've personally never had the chance to go to a drive-in theater, so the whole experience is a bit lost with me. A collaboration of four different directors, the pic attempts to deliver absurd, schlock and grindhouse-esque features that you normally wouldn't see in cinema now-a-days. It works in certain aspects, but falls flat in others, and unfortunately due to a couple underwhelming segments that make up half the flick, it ends up a somewhat disappointing effort.

"Zom-B-Movie" Joe Lynch
6/10

Chopping Mall (1986)


September 4, 2010 - 5:29pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Barbara Crampton, cheesy, Chopping Mall, Jim Wynorski, John Terlesky, Karrie Emerson, mall, Nick Segal, robots, Russell Todd, Suzee Slater, Tony O'Dell, Zoe Kelli Simon

6.57143
Your rating: None Average: 6.6 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jim Wynorski
Cast: 
Zoe Kelli Simon, Tony O'Dell, Russell Todd, Karrie Emerson, Barbara Crampton, Nick Segal, John Terlesky, Suzee Slater


Ah yes, Chopping Mall. I remember seeing this flick when I was a kid and really enjoying it. It was good to go back to it thanks to its recent DVD release and this isn’t a barebones disc either -- there are actually extra features unlike a lot of other 80's horror releases on DVD.

There's a nice short documentary that talks about the making of the film. This movie obviously isn't a masterpiece, but it sure is entertaining 80's horror cheese. I think the robots in this movie are much like how Johnny Five from Short Circuit would have been if he weren't such a wussy robot.

Christmas Evil (1980)


September 4, 2010 - 5:51pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, cheesy, christmas, Christmas Evil, killer santa, Lewis Jackson, low budget, santa, slasher

6.25
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Lewis Jackson
Cast: 
Brandon Maggar, Jeffrey DeMunn, Dianne Hull, Andy Fenwick, Brian Neville, Joe Jamrog


This a film that some may consider to be the definitive Christmas slasher, next to Silent Night, Deadly Night, of course. Personally I don't like either films, but I can see how some may consider this to be a cult classic. The movie really isn't all that bad, but then it isn't all that good either, especially with that silly-ass ending.

The movie is about a toy-maker who's obsessed with Christmas and Santa, and eventually takes it upon himself to become the mythical icon and spread joy to the children by handing out toys for those who deserve it, and sleighing (get it? bwahahaha!) those who've been "naughty". This movie had its moments, but a lot of the pacing was too slow for me. The movie really doesn't get goin' until towards the end when the lead character Harry, is in full costume and out wrecking havoc, then having to flee from the pissed off townspeople.

Chronicle (2012)


February 7, 2012 - 3:54pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Adam Schroeder Productions, Alex Russell, Ashley Hinshaw, Chronicle, Dane DeHaan, Davis Entertainment, found footage, high school, Josh Trank, Max Landis, Michael B. Jordan, Michael Kelly, pov, powers, students, teens

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Josh Trank
Cast: 
Michael B. Jordan, Alex Russell, Ashley Hinshaw, Dane DeHaan, Michael Kelly


I'm not particularly a fan of found-footage/POV films much, so I tend to avoid them. Chronicle, on the other hand, intrigued me from the start. The promise of regular teens gaining supernatural powers and watching their rise and fall unfold before our eyes via camera footage offered an interesting and realistic look to the usual superhero-type sub-genre. Added with the fact that one of the teens would eventually use his newfound gift for nefarious means meant we'd hopefully also see some familiar genre fair as well. I went into the theater hopeful and came out happy to find that the movie didn't disappoint.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.