SEARCH THE DATABASE

A Night to Dismember (1983)


July 16, 2009 - 4:05am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Doris Wishman, exploitation, POS movie

1.33333
Your rating: None Average: 1.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
1/10
Director: 
Doris Wishman
Cast: 
Samantha Fox, Diane Cummins, Saul Meth, Miriam Meth, William Szarka, Chris Smith, Dee Cummins, Norman Main, Mary Lomay, Rita Rogers


Its been a long time since I last gave a movie a 1-rating, but A Night to Dismember certainly deserves it. With its horrible editing, script, directing, acting, and even dubbing, exploitation director Doris Wishman surely exceeds herself when it comes to making crappy films. Born in 1920 Doris Wishman didn't hit the film scene until the 60s with cheesy nudies and eventually exploitation flicks. Though, by the time Dismember was released the exploitation scene went more mainstream, leading this mess without proper distribution.

A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)


April 29, 2010 - 7:25pm | Johnny D
  Tags: a nightmare on elm street, burnt, freddy krueger, horror icon, Jackie Earle Haley, Katie Cassidy, killer, Platinum Dunes, re-imagining, reboot, remake, Samuel Bayer, Thomas Dekker

5.12281
Your rating: None Average: 5.1 (57 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Samuel Bayer
Cast: 
Jackie Earle Haley, Kyle Gallner, Thomas Dekker, Kellan Lutz, Rooney Mara, Katie Cassidy, Clancy Brown, Connie Britton


Like most of you, I had it out for Platinum Dunes since the moment I heard of their plans for a Texas Chainsaw Massacre re-do.  But, to my surprise, I actually enjoyed it quite a bit and became open to the idea that they would be remaking the movies I had grown up with.  Unfortunately, with each of their films my hatred began boiling with the fire of a thousand burning suns.  They’ve created a pattern for their remakes and, despite my hopes for something better, A Nightmare on Elm Street came out EXACTLY how I feared it would.

A Perfect Getaway (2009)


August 11, 2009 - 8:01am | Johnny D
  Tags: a perfect getaway, Chris Hemsworth, couple, David Twohy, Kiele Sanchez, Marley Shelton, Milla Jovovich, Steve Zahn, thriller, Timothy Olyphant, vacation

5.94118
Your rating: None Average: 5.9 (17 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
David Twohy
Cast: 
Steve Zahn, Timothy Olyphant, Milla Jovovich, Kiele Sanchez, Marley Shelton, Chris Hemsworth


I’m not quite sure what kind of movie the filmmakers behind A Perfect Getaway were trying to make. Is it supposed to be a slow burning horror film? A plot twist filled mystery thriller mixed with a bizarre comedic element? A beginners guide to screenplay structure? Or maybe an excuse for the cast and crew to get a free trip to Hawaii? Me thinks a little of everything. In any event, A Perfect Getaway is a mixed bag of good and bad, but damn does it look pretty.

We’re introduced to Cliff and Cydney, a newlywed couple spending their honeymoon island hopping in beautiful Hawaii. While on a hiking trip to the perfect beach, they run into two couples. One is fun loving and eccentric, the other is aggressive and threatening. Meanwhile news breaks of a pair of murderers knocking off vacationing couples. Paranoia and plot twists ensue until the bloody battle that is the final act.

A Quiet Place (2018)


April 16, 2018 - 6:30pm | FrighT MasteR

7.5
Your rating: None Average: 7.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
John Krasinski
Cast: 
Emily Blunt, John Krasinski, Millicent Simmonds, Noah Jupe


Who knew the goofy nice guy from NBC's The Office would end up co-writing and directing one of the best and original horror films to come out of recent years. John Krasinski stars in this film with his real-life wife Emily Blunt, as a married couple and their kids living in a world where sound is their greatest enemy. Luckily, since their eldest daughter is deaf they've learned to use sign language to communicate, which gives them a bit of an edge in this new way to live.

A Tale of Two Sisters (2003)


June 15, 2010 - 1:13pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: A Tale of Two Sisters, Asian Horror, Geun-yeong Mun, ghosts, haunting, Ji-woon Kim, Jung-ah Yum, Kap-su Kim, korea, korean, Su-jeong Lim

7.6
Your rating: None Average: 7.6 (10 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ji-Woon Kim
Cast: 
Su-jeong Lim, Geun-yeong Mun, Jung-ah Yum, Kap-su Kim


I heard a lot of positive buzz on this flick a little before it was released on DVD, so I knew once it hit DVD that I'd have to get my hands on it. Well anyway, although the movie is a little confusing at times, it's a good mix of drama and the supernatural.

The story is basically about two sisters who return home to their father and stepmother after being treated for mental illness because of the birth-mother's death. The sisters hate it at home, because of their naive father and cruel stepmother, but not only do they have to deal with them, but also the strange happenings around the house. Could the ghosts and strange happenings be the cause of the sisters’ return home? Actually I believe that this movie is based on a famous Korean folk-tale.

Abandoned Dead (2017)


January 19, 2017 - 6:43pm | Ryan Tutolo

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Mark W. Curran
Cast: 
Ivan Adame, Hannah Johnson, Sarah Nicklin


Abandoned Dead tells the story of Rachel, a security guard hired to do an overnight shift at a methadone clinic on a holiday weekend. As you would expect she’s not all too happy about this, but even worse it’s in a pretty bad section of town and she has terrible cell phone reception. Meanwhile, there’s a detective investigating a series of murders and it may or may not have something to do with the aforementioned clinic.

Bizarre, seemingly supernatural occurrences keep happening and Rachel examines the creepy hospital setting armed with only a flashlight or lantern. Rachel has to get to the bottom of the mystery with her mind in one piece and confront the mysterious Dr. Mayfield, but even still, not all is what it seems.


Abominable (2006)


June 5, 2010 - 10:43pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Abominable, Ashley Hartman, blood, cabin, Christien Tinsley, creature feature, Dee Wallace, gore, Haley Joel, Jeffrey Combs, Karin Anna Cheung, Lance Henriksen, Matt McCoy, Natalie Compagno, Paul Gleason, Phil Morris, Rex Linn, Ryan Schifrin, Tiffany Shepis, underrated

7.07143
Your rating: None Average: 7.1 (14 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ryan Schifrin
Cast: 
Matt McCoy, Haley Joel, Christien Tinsley, Lance Henriksen, Jeffrey Combs, Dee Wallace, Natalie Compagno, Karin Anna Cheung, Paul Gleason, Ashley Hartman, Rex Linn, Phil Morris, Tiffany Shepis


In a long line of B-movie crapfests delivered by the Sci-Fi Channel they actually get it right for a change by premiering a movie that seemingly doesn't suck. The film astonished all when it premiered on the channel back in May and proved that even if you take a over-used theme like a killer beast in the woods, you can still bring forth an interesting and original little gem. Abominable is the first feature film from newcomer Ryan Schifrin, who also wrote the script. Playing off the typical clichés we see time and time again in our beloved genre, Ryan somehow managed to deliver everything but predictability, and even adding a few creepy scenes here and there for added measure.

Aerobicide (1986)


July 29, 2009 - 6:50am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, aerobicide, cheesy, David A. Prior

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
David A. Prior
Cast: 
Marcia Karr, David James Campbell, Fritz Matthews, Ted Prior, Teresa Van der Woude, Richard Bravo, Dianne Copeland, Laurel Mock, Lynn Meighan, Teresa Truesdale, Denise Martell, Michael Beck

After Midnight (1989)


June 5, 2010 - 10:40pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Alan Rosenberg, anthology, Ed Monaghan, hidden gem, Jillian McWhirter, Jim Wheat, Jordana Capra, Ken Wheat, Kent Burden, Luis Contreras, Marc McClure, Marg Helgenberger, Monique Salcido, Nadine Van der Velde, Pamela Adlon, Patty Avery, Penelope Sudrow, Ramy Zada, Tracy Wells, underrated

7.4
Your rating: None Average: 7.4 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Jim Wheat, Ken Wheat
Cast: 
Marg Helgenberger, Marc McClure, Ed Monaghan, Alan Rosenberg, Monique Salcido, Pamela Adlon, Penelope Sudrow, Nadine Van der Velde, Tracy Wells, Ramy Zada, Jillian McWhirter, Patty Avery, Kent Burden, Jordana Capra, Luis Contreras


After taking on the Ewoks with the 1985 made-for-TV film Ewoks: The Battle for Endor, the Wheat brothers decided to take a shot at the horror genre with After Midnight, a little-known horror anthology. I heard about the flick many years ago, and had it on my "must see" list of out-of-print VHS horror movies, but i It wasn't until it got a re-release on DVD that I finally managed to get my hands on it. To my surprise the movie is actually quite good. Although the stories aren't scary and seem to lean more towards a tame rendition of Tales From the Crypt, they are still fairly original and interesting none-the-less. I especially liked the one involving the pack of dogs.

After.Life (2009)


April 8, 2010 - 1:39am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: After Life, Agnieszka Wojtowicz-Vosloo, buried alive, Chandler Canterbury, Christina Ricci, funeral, Harbor Light Entertainment, Jakub Korolczuk, Josh Charles, Justin Long, Liam Neeson, Lleju Productions, mortician, Paul Vosloo, Plum Pictures

7.25
Your rating: None Average: 7.3 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Agnieszka Wojtowicz-Vosloo
Cast: 
Liam Neeson, Christina Ricci, Justin Long, Josh Charles, Chandler Canterbury


After.Life was originally set to begin filming back in 2007 with Kate Bosworth and Alfred Molina, but production never took shape and the project seemed to be in a state of limbo until a year later when Christina Ricci and Liam Neeson replaced'em and filming finally began. This marks newcomer Agnieszka Wojtowicz-Vosloo's directorial debut and proves that the genre isn't just full of remakes and pointless sequels, dishing out a thinking man's horror flick for a change.

The movie  doesn't take long to get to the point, following Christina Ricci's character as a teacher named Anna, who after having a public verbal fight with her boyfriend (Justin Long), finds herself unable to move with a creepy Liam Neeson hovering above her. He reveals that he's the mortician and she got in a car accident and is now dead. He adds that he's able to still communicate with her due to a "special gift" that enables him to talk to the recently deceased and helps them cross over. The defiant Anna questions whether she's actually dead and makes any attempts possible to escape the clutches of the mortician.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.