SEARCH THE DATABASE

Alien Raiders (2009)


May 18, 2009 - 4:40pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: alien raiders, aliens, Ben Rock, Carlos Bernard, parasite, Rockmond Dunbar

6.33333
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (6 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ben Rock
Cast: 
Rockmond Dunbar, Carlos Bernard, Courtney Ford, Mathew St. Patrick, Bonita Friedericy, Samantha Streets, Tom Kiesche, Joseph Steven Yang, Haley Pullos, Bryan Krasner, Philip Newby


Originally titled Supermarket and Inhuman, before settling on Alien Raiders, this is the latest installment in the Raw Feed straight-to-DVD horror line from Warner Bros.. Most of the films from the banner have been mediocre at best, but they finally got some things right with

Alien: Covenant (2017)


June 4, 2017 - 8:05pm | Ryan Tutolo

6.5
Your rating: None Average: 6.5 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Ridley Scott
Cast: 
Michael Fassbender, Noomi Rapace, Katherine Waterston, Danny McBride, Demian Bichir, Jussie Smollett, Amy Seimetz, Carmen Ejogo, Callie Hernandez, Ben Rigby, James Franco


The Alien series has a long history of ups and downs in terms of movie quality and fan reception. Personally, I find something to like in each one (except maybe Alien: Resurrection...blegh) and Ridley Scott’s latest is no different. This movie is both a prequel to the original Alien (1979) and sequel to Prometheus (2012). (side note: at some point 20th Century Fox will retitle it to “Alien: Prometheus” I have no evidence for this, just speculation) This is also a tough movie to discuss without delving into spoilers, but I’ll be sure to warn you ahead of time.

All About Evil (2010)


January 9, 2011 - 7:48am | Johnny D
  Tags: all about evil, campy, Cassandra, cheesy, comedic, Jack Donner, Joshua Grannell, Julie-Caitlin Brown, Mink Stole, Natasha Lyonne, Noah Segan, Peaches Christ, Thomas Dekker

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Joshua Grannell
Cast: 
Natasha Lyonne, Thomas Dekker, Cassandra "Elvira" Peterson, Mink Stole, Noah Segan, Jack Donner, Julie-Caitlin Brown, Peaches Christ


Campy, horror-comedy is quite possibly the most difficult subgenre to make a successful entry for.  And for that reason I usually stay far, far away from things with titles like “Hillbilly Zombies” or “Sexy College Co-eds Must Die!”.  To each their own if movies like that excite you, but my corneas have been raped and money wasted a time too many.  I was ready to all but dismiss All About Evil as such a film.  But with a slight air of positive buzz generating, and the fact that it was produced by Darren Stein (who directed one of THE seminal mean spirited films of my teen generation, Jawbreaker), I gave in to the blind buy and thankfully didn’t regret it.

All Cheerleaders Die (2013)


May 1, 2014 - 11:05pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: All Cheerleaders Die, Amanda Grace Cooper, Brooke Butler, Caitlin Stasey, cheerleaders, Chris Petrovski, Chris Sivertson, comedic, high school, Jordan Wilson, Leigh Parker, Lucky McKee, Modernciné, Nicholas S. Morrison, Reanin Johannink, school, Sianoa Smit-McPhee, students, Thomas Williamson, Tom Williamson

6.63636
Your rating: None Average: 6.6 (11 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Lucky McKee, Chris Sivertson
Cast: 
Caitlin Stasey, Sianoa Smit-McPhee, Brooke Butler, Tom Williamson, Reanin Johannink, Amanda Grace Cooper, Leigh Parker, Jordan Wilson, Nicholas S. Morrison, Chris Petrovski


I'm not sure where All Cheerleaders Die went wrong, but it seemed like such a promising project early on. With Lucky McKee having a decent genre track record and promises of "popcorn fare" and "thrills" added to the small amount of hype that I was feeling towards it. I was hoping for a fun, cheesy gore-filled ride, but instead got a lame MTV-style high school melodrama for nearly the first half, while the second was nothing more than a tame B-movie that tried its best to be campy and entertaining, whilst not actually being campy OR entertaining.

The film's storyline is your standard horror premise--focusing on a small group of high school cheerleading snobs that experiment with the football squad as much as they do on each other. Eventually the girls piss off the wrong footballer and he goes into some sort of rage, racing after the girls in their car after a little late night partying. Naturally this leads to the girls flying off a cliff and into a river (whoops!).

All Hallows' Eve (2013)


November 1, 2013 - 7:02pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: All Hallows' Eve, anthology, Art the Clown, Brandon deSpain, Catherine A. Callahan, clowns, Damien Leone, Katie Maguire, killer clowns, Michael Chmiel, Mike Giannelli, Robyn Kerr, Ruthless Pictures

7.18182
Your rating: None Average: 7.2 (11 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Damien Leone
Cast: 
Katie Maguire, Mike Giannelli, Catherine A. Callahan, Michael Chmiel, Robyn Kerr, Brandon deSpain


This has been a movie I've been waiting for since I saw Damien Leone's previous shorts The 9th Circle and Terrifier, which was put him on a lot of people's radar. They were both creative, featured some decent practical and makeup effects and were pretty gory. Not only that, but they featured a mute and very creepy antagonist named Art the Clown. I knew that Leone was planning to incorporate his shorts into this anthology, but I was hoping he would change them in a way to where it wouldn't seem like we're just watching the same old shorts all over again. Unfortunately that's exactly how it is, which is the biggest issue I have with this, but I'll delve more into that later.

All the Boys Love Mandy Lane (2006)


June 5, 2010 - 11:11pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aaron Himelstein, Adam Powell, All the Boys Love Mandy Lane, Amber Heard, Anson Mount, Edwin Hodge, Jonathan Levine, Luke Grimes, Melissa Price, Michael Welch, slasher, teens, Whitney Able

7.46154
Your rating: None Average: 7.5 (13 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jonathan Levine
Cast: 
Amber Heard, Anson Mount, Michael Welch, Aaron Himelstein, Edwin Hodge, Whitney Able, Luke Grimes, Melissa Price, Adam Powell


There's really so much you can do within the slasher sub-genre (much like any other genre) before you begin to see the same thing over and over. All the Boys Love Mandy Lane uses the stereotypical teen-slasher formula and adds its own little changes to it, giving us half your average slasher and the other something entirely different. The movie's premise was incredibly simple, but the ending suffers from being highly too complicated for its own good. I for one love twists, but the one delivered in this movie purposely made little sense, so us viewers were forced to come with our own conclusions.

All Through the House (2015)


December 28, 2016 - 12:32am | Ryan Tutolo

8
Your rating: None Average: 8 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Todd Nunes
Cast: 
Ashley Mary Nunes, Jessica Cameron, Melynda Kiring


So we’ve had lots of different kinds of holiday horror movies. Spoofs, supernatural terrors, anthologies, low budget, medium budget, big budget (well as big budget as horror gets), we’ve covered them all. One sorely missing from this list is a good old fashioned traditional slasher. I mean a movie where the highlight is just the kills, there are some random scantily clad characters running around, and the movie tries to play off that there will be some big twist, but the outcome is as obvious as you originally thought. This is All Through the House.

Almost Mercy (2015)


February 26, 2016 - 3:12am | DMHead777

3
Your rating: None Average: 3 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
3/10
Director: 
Tom DeNucci
Cast: 
Kane Hodder, Bill Moseley, Jesse Dufault, Danielle Guldin, Tommy Dreamer


Plot: Jackson and Emily aren't like the other kids. Two burgeoning sociopaths on the brink of total meltdown. Ticking time bombs seeking revenge. Who will unravel first?

Almost Mercy is a film I was actually excited for. Netflix promised me Bill Moseley and Kane Hodder, so I had to click that play button. It must be one of the more juvenile "horror" films I have ever watched. I put horror in quotes for a reason because this film doesn't know what it wants to be. There is a decent level of gore in the second half, but getting to that point was a real struggle.

Alone in the Dark (1982)


July 29, 2009 - 7:17am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Deborah Hedwall, Donald Pleasence, Dwight Schultz, Erland van Lidth, Jack Palance, Jack Sholder, Martin Landau

6.875
Your rating: None Average: 6.9 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jack Sholder
Cast: 
Jack Palance, Donald Pleasence, Martin Landau, Dwight Schultz, Erland van Lidth, Deborah Hedwall


I heard a lot of good things about this movie before actually seeing it, so I was glad to finally catch the movie. It's rare that you see this number of famous faces like the ones in this film and I thought that was very cool, although I didn't really like Donald Pleasences character too much. The movie is about these group of mental patients who despise their new psychiatrist.

Alone in the Dark (2005)


November 14, 2012 - 7:02pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Alone in the Dark, based on game, Christian Slater, Frank C. Turner, Stephen Dorff, Tara Reid, Uwe Boll

4.25
Your rating: None Average: 4.3 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Uwe Boll
Cast: 
Christian Slater, Tara Reid, Stephen Dorff, Frank C. Turner


Alone in the Dark is considered by many as one of the worst films ever made. I consider it to be one of the worst theatrical releases I've seen in a long time. Budgeted at an estimated $20-million bucks, it barely managed to rack in $5-million at the box office. I don't know where Uwe gets all his money, but someone has to freeze his account or something, because I don't think this guy is gonna stop making crappy movies. BloodRayne already looks lame to me, with their plastic swords and all. Well anyway, onto the movie -- this flick has problems from the beginning. It tries to be a hardcore action horror flick, but only ends up looking like some Saturday night movie on the SciFi channel. Within the first 15 minutes we're treated to what's supposed to be some high-stake car chase and fight sequence involving Christian's character and some human/demon guy, but the fight choreography is so fake that it looks as though it's a clip taken from a high school film project.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.