SEARCH THE DATABASE

Amityville: The Awakening (2017)


October 11, 2017 - 11:25pm | FrighT MasteR

5.85714
Your rating: None Average: 5.9 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Franck Khalfoun
Cast: 
Bella Thorne, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Cameron Monaghan, Mckenna Grace, Thomas Mann, Taylor Spreitler, Mckenna Grace, Kurtwood Smith


This project has long been in development for years and actually started out as found footage with the subtitle "The Lost Tapes." That idea was obviously scrapped and after several rewrites, reshoots, and shifting release dates it's finally making its way to us by way of Google Play. Yes, the studio has so little faith in the movie that they're actually dumping it for FREE on the platform. Honestly after having watched the movie I don't really blame them, as this isn't anything we haven't seen already, especially from the Amityville franchise.

Amusement (2009)


November 14, 2012 - 5:57pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Amusement, anthology, Jessica Lucas, John Simpson, Katheryn Winnick, Keir O'Donnell, Laura Breckenridge, Tad Hilgenbrinck

7.75
Your rating: None Average: 7.8 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
John Simpson
Cast: 
Keir O'Donnell, Katheryn Winnick, Laura Breckenridge, Jessica Lucas, Tad Hilgenbrinck


This is actually a movie that I've been looking forward to for quite some time. Originally sporting an early January '08 release, the film was thought to be going to theaters, but was delayed a handful of times before settling on a straight-to-DVD release a year after the initial date. Written by Jake Wade Wall (When a Stranger Calls '06, The Hitcher '07), with Bernerd Ross (Candyman) originally attached as director before getting replaced by John Simpson, the film had surprisingly above-average production values compared to your standard DVD fair.

The story is told as somewhat of an anthology, following three different girls as they're captured by the man, whom was sent to a mental institution as a child due to his twisted sense of humor that the girls didn't find very amusing. He returns several years later to scare the hell out’ve the girls in distinctive ways that only he finds humorous. The first segment involves a girl on a road trip with her boyfriend who's a big fan of convoys with strangers. They end up following the wrong person and find themselves lost and fighting for their lives.

An American Werewolf in London (1981)


July 2, 2009 - 4:19am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, an american werewolf in london, blood, gore, John Landis, lycan, werewolf

8.03125
Your rating: None Average: 8 (64 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
John Landis
Cast: 
David Naughton, Jenny Agutter, Griffin Dunne

Anguish (1987)


September 6, 2010 - 5:16pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Ángel Jovè, Anguish, audience within audience, blood, Clara Pastor, gore, J.J. Bigas Luna, Michael Lerner, Talia Paul, Zelda Rubinstein

6.66667
Your rating: None Average: 6.7 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
J.J. Bigas Luna
Cast: 
Zelda Rubinstein, Michael Lerner, Talia Paul, Ángel Jovè, Clara Pastor


I went in not knowing much about this movie except for the fact that its got a lot of mixed reviews. The story revolves around a weird mother and her son, who is an orderly for an optometrist. He gets fired from the job due to screwing up and was reported by a snobby rich woman. His mother uses a form of hypnosis to get him to go out on a killing spree, starting with the woman who got him fired. Oh, and the son also collects his victim’s eyes after he kills them...

Animal (2014)


June 21, 2014 - 8:17pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Amaury Nolasco, Animal, Brett Simmons, cabin, Catherine Trillo, Chiller Films, creature feature, Elizabeth Gillies, Eve Nolasco, Flower Films, Jeremy Sumpter, Joey Lauren Adams, Keke Palmer, Parker Young, Paul Iacono, Synthetic Cinema International, Thommy Hutso, Thorsten Kaye, vacation

7.58333
Your rating: None Average: 7.6 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Brett Simmons
Cast: 
Keke Palmer, Eve Nolasco, Amaury Nolasco, Parker Young, Joey Lauren Adams, Elizabeth Gillies, Paul Iacono, Thorsten Kaye, Jeremy Sumpter


Animal is the latest flick from the line of recent original productions by Chiller Films and normally I don't give their movies much personal attention, but being a fan of creature features and knowing this was also backed by Drew Barrymore's production outfit Flower Films, I figured I'd give it a look and went in expecting at least a decent effort. For the most part that's what I got, but the film's lack of originality is what really hurts it.

The movie basically starts out like countless others before it--with a group of young friends looking to camp/hike at some secluded wooded area. It's not long before this standard group of victims finds themselves being hunted by a mysterious creature. The remaining survivors somehow make it to a cabin, where they also encounter another small group of people. With little time and resources, the ensemble must find a way to either stop or kill the beast that's lurking outside. 

Annabelle (2014)


October 22, 2014 - 8:33pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Alfre Woodard, Annabelle, Annabelle Wallis, Brian Howe, doll, Eric Ladin, Gary Dauberman, haunting, John Leonetti, killer doll, killer dolls, spinoff, The Conjuring, The Safran Company, Tony Amendola, Ward Horton

6.3
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (20 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
John Leonetti
Cast: 
Annabelle Wallis, Ward Horton, Alfre Woodard, Tony Amendola, Eric Ladin, Brian Howe


Feeding off the success of The Conjuring comes Annabelle, the spinoff/prequel that focuses primarily on the creepy doll we knew little about. In this film we revolve around a young married couple named Mia and John, where their seemingly perfect life is shattered one night when some occultists break into their home and attempt to slay the family. They fail, but not before the female cult member expresses her love for a particular doll in Mia's collection. Thus, we have the origins of Annabelle or so it would seem.

Annabelle: Creation (2017)


September 23, 2017 - 5:14pm | FrighT MasteR

7.5
Your rating: None Average: 7.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
David F. Sandberg
Cast: 
Miranda Otto, Talitha Bateman, Stephanie Sigman, Anthony LaPaglia, Lulu Wilson, Philippa Anne Coulthard, Grace Fulton, Lou Lou Safran, Samara Lee, Tayler Buck


While fans might not've liked the first Annabelle spinoff much, it still made just enough money for the studio to warrant a sequel and much like they did with Ouija: Origin of Evil, they opted to go the prequel route. Luckily they also got someone talented to get behind the camera for this installment by the name of David F. Sandberg, who some may remember also brought us the short and feature length films, Lights Out. It seems like that's all it took to make what started out as mediocre spinoff and turn it into another solid addition to The Conjuring universe, because unlike the first movie this was actually good.

Apocalypse of the Dead (2009)


March 7, 2010 - 5:02pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, apocalypse of the dead, blood, gore, indie, Ken Foree, low budget, serbia, serbian, undead, walking dead, Zombie Movies, zone of the dead

5.5
Your rating: None Average: 5.5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Milan Konjevic, Milan Todorovic
Cast: 
Ken Foree, Kristina Klebe, Emilio Roso, Miodrag Miki Krstovic, Vukota Brajovic, Ariadna Cabrol, Steve Agnew, Iskra Brajovic, Marko Janjic, Nenad Ciric, Bojan Dimitrijevic, Živko Grubor, Eugeni Roig, Maria Kawecka


Also known as Zone of the Dead, this marks Serbia's first attempt at a zombie flick and is pretty much what one would expect from an unimaginative low-budget genre effort. At least they got it right by adding genre vet Ken Foree to the cast, but his badassery wasn't enough to save the film from its inevitable low-rating.

April Fools Day (2008)


September 29, 2011 - 8:53pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: April Fools Day, drama, Jennifer Siebel, Joe Egender, Joseph McKelheer, Josh Henderson, killer, Mystery, remake, Samuel Child, Scout Taylor-Compton, slasher, Taylor Cole, The Butcher Brothers

3.66667
Your rating: None Average: 3.7 (6 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
The Butcher Brothers
Cast: 
Scout Taylor-Compton, Josh Henderson, Jennifer Siebel, Taylor Cole, Joseph McKelheer, Samuel Child, Joe Egender


I feel like I've been played the fool for actually having wasted the hour-and-a-half of my life watching this garbage. The whole time I felt like I was watching a horrible, cheesy day-time soap. It's no surprise that this went straight to DVD. I actually liked the original movie, so naturally I hated the idea of a remake. I knew right away that with a cast like this and the mediocre directors behind the camera, that this would end up as just another forgettable remake, however, I didn't expect the movie to actually turn out as bad as it did.

Although the general idea behind the two movies remain the same, the storyline has been changed dramatically. Now, instead of following a group of teenage friends on a trip to a rich friend's vacation home, we've got a group of young rich snobs getting together at a couple uber-rich siblings' party on April 1st. The host of the party is the much-hated "Desiree," who makes it a point to play numerous pranks on her various guests each year she has this get-together. Only this time the joke is on her and her circle of friends, after one of them falls off a balcony when a prank goes bad. After the incident was publicized in the media, and the friends get off without any jail time, a year passes and the dreaded day returns.

Army of Darkness (1993)


July 16, 2009 - 2:25am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, blood, Bridget Fonda, Bruce Campbell, cheesy, comedic, demonic, Embeth Davidtz, evil dead, gore, Ian Abercrombie, Marcus Gilbert, Michael Earl Reid, Possession, Richard Grove, Sam Raimi, Timothy Patrick Quill

7.83871
Your rating: None Average: 7.8 (62 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Sam Raimi
Cast: 
Bruce Campbell, Embeth Davidtz, Marcus Gilbert, Ian Abercrombie, Richard Grove, Timothy Patrick Quill, Michael Earl Reid, Bridget Fonda

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.