SEARCH THE DATABASE

Bait (2012)


September 15, 2012 - 6:53pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 3d, action, Adrian Pang, Alexander Russell, Alice Parkinson, Arclight Films, Aussie, australia, Bait, Bait 3D, Cariba Heine, Damien Garvey, Jesse Spencer, Julian McMahon, Lincoln Lewis, Pictures in Paradise, Qi Yuwu, Russell Mulcahy, Shane Krause, sharks, Sharni Vinson Phoebe Tonkin Martin Sacks, Shayne Armstrong, Story Bridge Films, thriller, Xavier Samuel

7.13333
Your rating: None Average: 7.1 (15 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Kimble Rendall
Cast: 
Cariba Heine, Alice Parkinson, Jesse Spencer, Xavier Samuel, Julian McMahon


I'm not a huge fan of shark flicks, but I did like the concept of Bait, which is why I decided to give this a shot. Luckily I didn't expect much from the movie to begin with, because it turned out to be a rather bland addition to the genre. Though, I will give it points for a decent cast and slightly above average production values.

The story follows an eclectic group of people in an underground supermarket where a couple armed men decide to hold the place up. Before the criminals can escape with the loot, the place gets hit by a huge tsunami and they find themselves submerged in several feet of water.  With only a handful of survivors (including one of the criminals) they must put their differences aside and band together in hopes of finding a way out of the dire predicament. To make matters worse, it seems that a couple vicious man-eating sharks are also trapped in there with them.

Basket Case (1982)


October 22, 2009 - 11:19pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, basket case, Beverly Bonner, cheesy, comedic, deformed, Diana Browne, Frank Henenlotter, Kevin VanHentenryck, Robert Vogel, siamese, Terri Susan Smith, underrated

6.5
Your rating: None Average: 6.5 (10 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Frank Henenlotter
Cast: 
Kevin VanHentenryck, Terri Susan Smith, Beverly Bonner, Robert Vogel, Diana Browne


I finally got a chance to check this movie out. I've heard it was a bit of a cult classic and I can see it being one, because most of them are very weird and this was a weird film; especially towards the end. The movie had a lot of cheap ass graphics, but it was fun to laugh at end shrug off. It was a good film. The story was pretty much just about a man who carries around his deformed siamese-twin brother in a basket, as the two roam the city searching for the doctor who separated them at birth. It was cool to see the deformed brother go on a rampage in certain scenes. He sure is a strong mofo. It was funny to see the claymation they used in scenes where the deformed brother was throwing stuff around. I guess the effects were somewhat good at the time *shrugs*.

Basket Case 2 (1990)


October 22, 2009 - 11:22pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, Annie Ross, basket case, Beverly Bonner, cheesy, comedic, deformed, Frank Henenlotter, Heather Rattray, Judy Grafe, Kevin VanHentenryck, siamese

5.33333
Your rating: None Average: 5.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Frank Henenlotter
Cast: 
Kevin VanHentenryck, Judy Grafe, Annie Ross, Heather Rattray, Beverly Bonner


I knew this film wasn't anything special from the start, but I saw it anyway since it came with a batch of horror films I purchased off eBay. I saw the third film many years ago, but never bothered to check this one until now. The movie supposedly takes after the incidents that took place in the first film. Apparently Duane and his brother survived and are treated in a hospital, only to escape not-soon-after. They end up in the care of a woman who's known to help "freaks". Later on a nosy reporter goes on a hunt for Duane and his brother in hopes of getting a reward for their whereabouts.

Battle Royale (2000)


July 3, 2009 - 6:30am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, battle royale, bloody, Chiaki Kuriyama, japan, japanese, kids, Kinji Fukasaku, students, Takeshi Kitano, Tatsuya Fujiwara, violent

8.18605
Your rating: None Average: 8.2 (43 votes)

Rating #: 
10/10
Director: 
Kinji Fukasaku
Cast: 
Takeshi Kitano, Tatsuya Fujiwara, Aki Maeda, Taro Yamamoto, Chiaki Kuriyama, Sosuke Takaoka, Takashi Tsukamoto, Yukihiro Kotani, Eri Ishikawa, Sayaka Kamiya, Aki Inoue, Takayo Mimura

Bedevilled (2010)


April 10, 2011 - 6:27pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, Bedevilled, blood, Chul-soo Yang, drama, gore, Jeong-hak Park, Ji-eun-i Lee, korea, korean, Min Je, Min-ho Hwang, revenge, Seong-won Ji, south korea, thriller, torture, violent, Yeong-hie Seo

7.16667
Your rating: None Average: 7.2 (6 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Chul-soo Yang
Cast: 
Yeong-hie Seo, Seong-won Ji, Min-ho Hwang, Min Je, Ji-eun-i Lee, Jeong-hak Park


Bedevilled is a masterful piece of revenge cinema to come out of South Korea. First-time director Chul-soo Yang details how much one person can take before they lose grip of reality and snap. In this case we start off with a young apathetic woman, who decides to take a much-needed vacation from the city and return to the little island where she grew up. Home to less than a dozen people, some of the inhabitants in the island aren't too fond of her return, with the exception of her ecstatic friend, who greets her with open arms.

Though the flick starts out with the city girl, it's her island friend that's the actual lead of the movie, as we follow her throughout a majority of the film. Beneath that smile and open arms is a woman hurting and in dire need of an escape herself. Getting beaten by her husband and ridiculed by the locals is a regular occurrence for her. Having grown up on the island with nothing but physical and mental abuse from the people, a sense of worthlessness is all she's come to know. If it weren't for her daughter, she probably would have ended her life ages ago.

Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon (2006)


May 6, 2012 - 10:07pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Angela Goethals, Behind the Mask, Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon, Ben Pace, Bridgett Newton, comedic, Hart Turner, Kane Hodder, Kate Lang Johnson, Krissy Carlson, Leslie Vernon, Nathan Baesel, Robert Englund, Scott Glosserman, Scott Wilson, Teo Gomez, Zelda Rubinstein

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Scott Glosserman
Cast: 
Nathan Baesel, Robert Englund, Angela Goethals, Zelda Rubinstein, Krissy Carlson, Scott Glosserman, Teo Gomez, Scott Wilson, Kate Lang Johnson, Bridgett Newton, Ben Pace, Hart Turner, Kane Hodder


Similar to the 1992 Belgium film, Man Bites Dog, Behind the Mask is part mockumentary and part slasher movie, with the film following a young female journalist and her crew of two (camera man and mic operator) as they document a man called Leslie Vernon -- a fairly new killer hoping to climb the ranks of the likes of Michael Myers and Jason Voorhees. Leslie explains the ins-and-outs of being a killer, as he shows the crew how he picks his victims and plans out the murders down to the littlest detail, from plotting their routes they take when they try to escape, to what weapons they will choose when they stand and fight.

Believe (2000)


October 11, 2011 - 12:26am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Believe, Christopher Heyerdahl, Elisha Cuthbert, Justin Bradley, Mario Boni, POS movie, Ricky Mabe, Robert Tinnell, Vlasta Vrana

1
Your rating: None Average: 1 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
1/10
Director: 
Robert Tinnell
Cast: 
Ricky Mabe, Mario Boni, Justin Bradley, Vlasta Vrana, Christopher Heyerdahl, Elisha Cuthbert


Did I just watch a really long episode of Are You Afraid of the Dark on Nickelodeon? I guess that's what I get when I rent a horror movie that isn't rated R. There was nothing scary about this film at all. It's mainly focused on some punk kid and his stupid pranks. They don't get to solve the mystery behind the ghost until the last 30 mins of the film. What I also didn't like about this movie was the fact that the kid had so much knowledge and equipment for creating pranks to scare people, that just seemed impossible.

I wish I could say that there were some scenes of the movie where it was interesting, but there weren't any! I found the whole flick very boring. In fact, I was so bored that I decided to surf the web while it was still playing! We don't really get to see much of the real ghost, as she just appears every now and then and stares at a few people. The acting was dumb and there were no actual effects at all. The story behind the ghost was SO stupid. I expected a lot more to it at the end, but nope.

This is another one of those horror movies with a semi-cool cover, but a horrible script. Sorry to keep this review short, but I think I've already gotten my point across already. Believe me when I say this: avoid!!

Beneath (2013)


February 11, 2016 - 8:29pm | DMHead777
  Tags: Ben Ketai, Beneath, Brent Briscoe, Chris Valenziano, DMHead777, Eric Etebari, Jeff Fahey, Joey Kern, Kelly Noonan, Mark L Young, Netflix, Patrick J. Doody, Revolver Picture Company

4.5
Your rating: None Average: 4.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ben Ketai
Cast: 
Jeff Fahey, Kelly Noonan, Joey Kern, Brent Briscoe, Mark L Young, Eric Etebari


Plot: A crew of coal miners become trapped underground. A collapse occurs and with oxygen running out, the miners begin to turn on each other.

Beneath is a pretty rare film for me. A lot of the times I will search through Netflix to find something decent only to discover the film is way below par. Not too many horror films made in the last few years are worth watching in my opinion. However, every once in a while a gem is found giving hope to genre of horror. Sure, the movie is almost exactly like 2005's "The Descent", but is that a bad thing? Beneath has its own twists that make it a quite a unique film, especially for this decade. It has most characteristics of a quality horror film that include; practical effects, character development, decent acting and a sense of claustrophobia.

Bestseller (2010)


August 1, 2010 - 10:35pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, Best Seller, Bestseller, Choi Kang-Hee, Choi Moo-Sung, ghosts, Ha Dae-Ro, haunting, Jeong-ho Lee, Jo Hie-Bong, Jung Young-Ki, Kim Tae-Hun, korea, korean, Lee Seong-Min, Lee Yong-Nyeo, Mystery, Oh Jeong-Se, orphanage, thriller, writer

3.5
Your rating: None Average: 3.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jeong-ho Lee
Cast: 
Kim Tae-Hun, Ha Dae-Ro, Jo Hie-Bong, Oh Jeong-Se, Jung Young-Ki, Lee Seong-Min, Lee Yong-Nyeo, Choi Kang-Hee, Choi Moo-Sung

Bestseller is a new South Korean thriller that borrows from a couple notable genre flicks, but also blends a couple sub-genres together and delivers a decent little murder mystery. Not the most original of flicks, the movie does give a couple chills in the beginning and an out've-nowhere twist half way that sets the mark for a change of pace and story.

Bio-Zombie (1998)


August 16, 2009 - 7:08pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, Asian Horror, bio-zombie, cheesy, comedic, Emotion Cheung, Frankie Chan, Guy Lai, hong kong, Jordan Chan, low budget, Matt Chow, Wilson Yip, Zombie Movies

5.66667
Your rating: None Average: 5.7 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Wilson Yip
Cast: 
Frankie Chan, Jordan Chan, Emotion Cheung, Matt Chow, Guy Lai


Many people have said that this film was funny and I have to agree that it was pretty funny. Some scenes were hilarious, while others will give you a slight chuckle. Also the dubbing made it all the more comedic. What I didn't like about the movie was the b-movie effects and the silly plot, but I have to keep reminding myself that a film like this shouldn't be taken too seriously. I couldn't really follow the beginning for the film well, because it didn't quite make much sense. All I know is that some guys ordered a new bio-chemical weapon in the form of a soft drink that turns people into zombies and all hell break’s loose.

LATEST VIDEOS

UHM PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.