SEARCH THE DATABASE

Believe (2000)


October 11, 2011 - 12:26am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Believe, Christopher Heyerdahl, Elisha Cuthbert, Justin Bradley, Mario Boni, POS movie, Ricky Mabe, Robert Tinnell, Vlasta Vrana

1
Your rating: None Average: 1 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
1/10
Director: 
Robert Tinnell
Cast: 
Ricky Mabe, Mario Boni, Justin Bradley, Vlasta Vrana, Christopher Heyerdahl, Elisha Cuthbert


Did I just watch a really long episode of Are You Afraid of the Dark on Nickelodeon? I guess that's what I get when I rent a horror movie that isn't rated R. There was nothing scary about this film at all. It's mainly focused on some punk kid and his stupid pranks. They don't get to solve the mystery behind the ghost until the last 30 mins of the film. What I also didn't like about this movie was the fact that the kid had so much knowledge and equipment for creating pranks to scare people, that just seemed impossible.

I wish I could say that there were some scenes of the movie where it was interesting, but there weren't any! I found the whole flick very boring. In fact, I was so bored that I decided to surf the web while it was still playing! We don't really get to see much of the real ghost, as she just appears every now and then and stares at a few people. The acting was dumb and there were no actual effects at all. The story behind the ghost was SO stupid. I expected a lot more to it at the end, but nope.

This is another one of those horror movies with a semi-cool cover, but a horrible script. Sorry to keep this review short, but I think I've already gotten my point across already. Believe me when I say this: avoid!!

Beneath (2013)


February 11, 2016 - 8:29pm | DMHead777
  Tags: Ben Ketai, Beneath, Brent Briscoe, Chris Valenziano, DMHead777, Eric Etebari, Jeff Fahey, Joey Kern, Kelly Noonan, Mark L Young, Netflix, Patrick J. Doody, Revolver Picture Company

4.5
Your rating: None Average: 4.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ben Ketai
Cast: 
Jeff Fahey, Kelly Noonan, Joey Kern, Brent Briscoe, Mark L Young, Eric Etebari


Plot: A crew of coal miners become trapped underground. A collapse occurs and with oxygen running out, the miners begin to turn on each other.

Beneath is a pretty rare film for me. A lot of the times I will search through Netflix to find something decent only to discover the film is way below par. Not too many horror films made in the last few years are worth watching in my opinion. However, every once in a while a gem is found giving hope to genre of horror. Sure, the movie is almost exactly like 2005's "The Descent", but is that a bad thing? Beneath has its own twists that make it a quite a unique film, especially for this decade. It has most characteristics of a quality horror film that include; practical effects, character development, decent acting and a sense of claustrophobia.

Bestseller (2010)


August 1, 2010 - 10:35pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, Best Seller, Bestseller, Choi Kang-Hee, Choi Moo-Sung, ghosts, Ha Dae-Ro, haunting, Jeong-ho Lee, Jo Hie-Bong, Jung Young-Ki, Kim Tae-Hun, korea, korean, Lee Seong-Min, Lee Yong-Nyeo, Mystery, Oh Jeong-Se, orphanage, thriller, writer

3.5
Your rating: None Average: 3.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jeong-ho Lee
Cast: 
Kim Tae-Hun, Ha Dae-Ro, Jo Hie-Bong, Oh Jeong-Se, Jung Young-Ki, Lee Seong-Min, Lee Yong-Nyeo, Choi Kang-Hee, Choi Moo-Sung

Bestseller is a new South Korean thriller that borrows from a couple notable genre flicks, but also blends a couple sub-genres together and delivers a decent little murder mystery. Not the most original of flicks, the movie does give a couple chills in the beginning and an out've-nowhere twist half way that sets the mark for a change of pace and story.

Bio-Zombie (1998)


August 16, 2009 - 7:08pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, Asian Horror, bio-zombie, cheesy, comedic, Emotion Cheung, Frankie Chan, Guy Lai, hong kong, Jordan Chan, low budget, Matt Chow, Wilson Yip, Zombie Movies

5.66667
Your rating: None Average: 5.7 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Wilson Yip
Cast: 
Frankie Chan, Jordan Chan, Emotion Cheung, Matt Chow, Guy Lai


Many people have said that this film was funny and I have to agree that it was pretty funny. Some scenes were hilarious, while others will give you a slight chuckle. Also the dubbing made it all the more comedic. What I didn't like about the movie was the b-movie effects and the silly plot, but I have to keep reminding myself that a film like this shouldn't be taken too seriously. I couldn't really follow the beginning for the film well, because it didn't quite make much sense. All I know is that some guys ordered a new bio-chemical weapon in the form of a soft drink that turns people into zombies and all hell break’s loose.

Black Christmas (1974)


October 27, 2009 - 2:18am | Johnny D
  Tags: 70's, Andrea Martin, Art Hindle, attic, black christmas, Bob Clark, christmas, classic, college, Douglas McGrath, James Edmond, John Rutter, John Saxon, Keir Dullea, killer, Les Carlson, Lynne Griffin, Margot Kidder, Marian Waldman, Martha Gibson, Michael Rapport, Olivia Hussey, Robert Warner, slasher, sorority

7.75
Your rating: None Average: 7.8 (20 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Bob Clark
Cast: 
Olivia Hussey, Keir Dullea, Margot Kidder, John Saxon, Marian Waldman, Andrea Martin, James Edmond, Douglas McGrath, Art Hindle, Lynne Griffin, Michael Rapport, Les Carlson, Martha Gibson, John Rutter, Robert Warner


The late Bob Clark's filmography is the definition of hit and miss. From the bizarrely-entertaining Children Shouldn't Play With Dead Things to the 'oh sweet merciful crap why do you exist' Baby Geniuses 2: Super Babies. While the general public will remember him for his dark humored yearly must see family classic A Christmas Story, us horror fans will forever know him as the man behind the first holiday themed slasher film. The movie guaranteed to make your skin crawl unless it's on too tight, Black Christmas.

Black Christmas (1974)


December 5, 2016 - 2:50am | Ryan Tutolo

8
Your rating: None Average: 8 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Bob Clark
Cast: 
Olivia Hussey, Keir Dullea, Margot Kidder, John Saxon, Marian Waldman, Andrea Martin, James Edmond, Douglas McGrath, Art Hindle, Lynne Griffin, Michael Rapport, Les Carlson, Martha Gibson, John Rutter, Robert Warner


On the 3rd day of Christmas my true love gave to me...arguably the first traditional slasher. Ok so maybe I’m not the best songwriter. Though before you jump, yes I'm aware of earlier entries like Psycho and various gialli. Black Christmas represents the first real jumping off point for the subgenre and inspired Halloween, the father of the traditional slasher. So if we go into this movie with an open mind does it hold up?

The plot is simple, a killer has invaded a sorority house at a local college and is dispatching the unsuspecting girls.  Meanwhile, a police lead search is underway for one of the missing girls and a mysterious lewd caller is bothering the girls. The race is on to identify the killer before it’s too late.

Black Christmas (2006)


December 21, 2011 - 5:33pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Andrea Martin, black christmas, christmas, Crystal Lowe, Glen Morgan, holidays, Jessica Harmon, Katie Cassidy, Kristen Cloke, Lacey Chabert, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Michelle Trachtenberg, Oliver Hudson, remake, slasher, slasher film, slasher movie

6.375
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Glen Morgan
Cast: 
Michelle Trachtenberg, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Katie Cassidy, Oliver Hudson, Lacey Chabert, Crystal Lowe, Andrea Martin, Jessica Harmon, Kristen Cloke


The original film came out in 1974 from the late Bob Clark and over time built a fan base that now consider it to be one of the pioneers of the slasher genre. Even influencing the great Halloween, which originally started as an idea for a Black Christmas sequel that turned into an original script by John Carpenter. Black Christmas is one in a long line of classic films that are "re-envisioned" for today's audience. Naturally flooding the film with pretty faces and lots of on-screen blood and guts, the producers hope to strike it big at the box office from fans of the original and those who just want to see something "scary".

It's sad when some of the younger viewers today are unaware when a movie is a remake, and especially when producers ruin a perfectly classic film such as the original Black Christmas and turn it into a mindless slash-and-hack thriller. When the project was first announced they claimed that they would show more back-story of this "Billy" character who was the killer in the first movie that was never caught, and whose identity was never revealed.

Black Christmas (2006)


December 14, 2016 - 2:32pm | Ryan Tutolo

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Glen Morgan
Cast: 
Michelle Trachtenberg, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Katie Cassidy, Oliver Hudson, Lacey Chabert, Crystal Lowe, Andrea Martin, Jessica Harmon, Kristen Cloke


Even the small precious subset of Christmas horror movies are not immune from the plague of the modern remake. We’ve already covered the original Black Christmas on Day 3 so let's see if this is one of those rare occasions where the remake actually holds up. The overall plot isn’t much different from the original. A group of sorority sisters are being stalked and killed by a psycho. It also turns out it’s Christmas and the killer has been making disturbing phone calls to the house to further antagonize the women of Delta Alpha Kappa trapped inside by the snow storm.

Blade (1998)


August 13, 2011 - 6:54pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, Arly Jover, blade, blood, blood suckers, Donal Logue, Kris Kristofferson, martial arts, N'Bushe Wright, Stephen Dorff, Stephen Norrington, Traci Lords, Udo Kier, vampire, vampire hunter, Wesley Snipes

7.41667
Your rating: None Average: 7.4 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Stephen Norrington
Cast: 
Wesley Snipes, Kris Kristofferson, Stephen Dorff, N'Bushe Wright, Donal Logue, Udo Kier, Arly Jover, Traci Lords


Blade is a film I've wanted to revisit for several years now, especially after being somewhat disappointed with the previous efforts. I was lucky enough to catch it in the theaters growing up and it really blew my mind. I had no idea who this Blade character was, but one thing was sure right from the start and that he was a badass vampire hunter and someone you definitely didn't want to fuck with. Despite being 13 years after its release, it still holds up as being an overall great flick. Sure the special effects aren't the greatest by today's standards, but everything else -- from the action to the vampires -- just oozes awesomeness.

Blade 2 (2002)


August 25, 2009 - 1:47pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, blade, blood, gore, Guillermo del Toro, Kris Kristofferson, Leonor Varela, Luke Goss, martial arts, Ron Perlman, swordplay, vamps, Wesley Snipes

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (18 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Guillermo del Toro
Cast: 
Wesley Snipes, Kris Kristofferson, Ron Perlman, Luke Goss, Leonor Varela


I finally got to check this movie out today. I thought it was good, but to be honest, I expected it to be a little better. When I first saw the trailer for it, it looked interesting, but I didn't find myself really that pumped up about seeing it like I did with the first movie. The story is basically about Blade having to team up with an elite team of vampires, who were actually trained to kill Blade. They do that to fight this new breed on the streets that feed on vampires called "Reapers" who are much deadlier than regular vamps. You'd think that Blade would let the Reapers kill off the vampires, but he knew that after the vamps are gone that they'd turn to humans.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.