SEARCH THE DATABASE

The Woman in Black (1989)


July 2, 2009 - 5:44am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, based on book, based on play, british, cult, ghosts, haunting, Herbert Wise, made for tv, the woman in black

7.4
Your rating: None Average: 7.4 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Herbert Wise
Cast: 
Adrian Rawlins, Bernard Hepton, David Daker, Pauline Moran


This movie is based on what's known as the "longest running play in London" with the same name. I heard a lot of positive stuff on this flick about how it's "scary" and such, so I got a hold of it and gave it a look-see. I have to admit that those critics weren't kidding when they said it was scary. Although I was never really "scared" at any moment, it did manage to give me some chills at times (which hasn't happened since I saw The Eye for the first time). The stuff in this movie is the kinda stuff that'd scare the hell outta me as a kid.

The Woman in Black (2012)


February 7, 2012 - 1:00pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Alisa Khazanova, Alliance Films, based on book, based on play, british, Cathy Sara, Ciaran Hinds, cult, Daniel Cerqueira, Daniel Radcliffe, David Burke, Exclusive Media Group, ghosts, Hammer Films, haunting, James Watkins, Jane Goldman, Janet McTeer, Liz White, Lucy May Barker, Mary Stockley, remake, Roger Allam, Shaun Dooley, Talisman Films, the woman in black, Tim McMullan, Victor McGuire

5.5
Your rating: None Average: 5.5 (10 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
James Watkins
Cast: 
Daniel Radcliffe, Janet McTeer, Ciaran Hinds, Liz White, Alisa Khazanova, Tim McMullan, Roger Allam, Daniel Cerqueira, Shaun Dooley, Mary Stockley, Cathy Sara, David Burke, Victor McGuire, Lucy May Barker


The Woman in Black has a long history in the UK -- before receiving this recent remake from Hammer Films, there was a successful book, which was later adapted into a long-running stage play, which was then turned into a creepy underrated made-for-TV movie in the late 80s. I liked the original film, but also don't deny that it had some room for improvement. This remake does manage to develop certain aspects better than the original, but also falls short in others, making it a good, but not a great remake.

Set in the early 1900s, the story follows a young lawyer sent to a small town to gather documents from a recently deceased woman that would aid his employers into selling the estate. While there he's forced to stay in the woman's secluded mansion home, where he encounters various strange unexplained sounds and visions of a dark figured woman. He soon learns of the town's ghost story of the "Woman in Black". Apparently she's the vengeful spirit of a woman who lost her own child and now she's determined to kill the town's remaining children.

The Zombie Diaries (2006)


April 13, 2011 - 2:12am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: low budget, low-budget, Michael Bartlett, pov, The Zombie Diaries, uk, Zombie Movies

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Michael Bartlett
Cast: 
Russell Jones, Craig Stovin, Jonnie Hurn, James Fisher, Anna Blades, Imogen Church, Kyle Sparks, Alison Mollon, Victoria Nalder


There have been a thousands of zombie films since Romero started the craze in the late 60s, but none of them have really tried to tackle the sub-genre the way that this little indie flick did. There was once a time where making a movie look like it was shot on home video was frowned upon, but now, with the constant advancing technology and lack of fresh ideas in the genre, viewers like myself are more open to new things and experimentation. Thus, we have The Zombie Diaries, a low-budget UK film that takes advantage of easily-accessible camera equipment and combines it with a solid script and a clever idea. The Blair Witch Project took shot-on-home-video filmmaking to a whole new level when it made a ridiculous $200 + million on a meager $60-thousand-dollar budget and spawned a lot of lame copycats over the years. Though, the documentary-style filmmaking never really brush over the zombie genre until now. Even Romero himself is using this style of filmmaking with his upcoming Diary of the Dead.

Them (2006)


June 15, 2010 - 11:18am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: David Moreau, france, french, Ils, Michaël Cohen, Olivia Bonamy, Them, Xavier Palud

6.8
Your rating: None Average: 6.8 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
David Moreau, Xavier Palud
Cast: 
Olivia Bonamy, Michaël Cohen


Once again France delivers a seemingly good horror flick up until the WTF ending. First with High Tension and now with Ils, or translated to "Them". This movie is the perfect example of how a low-budget horror film with a simple cast can be effective if you give it the right atmosphere. This movie will definitely give you the chills considering its all taken place in an old dark mansion. So the story, much like the cast, is quite simple -- a woman and her hubby are plagued by mysterious calls, and other unfamiliar events one night, from the TV turning off and on, to their car seemingly moved from the back to the front of the house.

Someone is essentially playing mind games with the couple, and we soon find out that they've got murderous intent, as apparent to the night before when they killed a mother and daughter duo on their way home. For almost an hour we witness our two leads as they attempt to flee and hide from whomever that's chasing them. We're not shown who they are, except for the faint silhouette of hooded individuals. They also emit some kind of odd, almost inhuman, noise, which adds to the already tense atmosphere during a lot of scenes.

They're Watching (2016)


March 20, 2016 - 3:41pm | FrighT MasteR

6.5
Your rating: None Average: 6.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Micah Wright, Jay Lender
Cast: 
David Alpay, Brigid Brannagh, Dimitri Diatchenko, Mia Faith, Carrie Genzel, Kris Lemche


They're Watching is a horror comedy that pokes fun at the house hunting/repairing market, as we revolve around the crew behind a global reality TV show that helps find cheap homes for new couples. In this particular episode the show enlist the help of a local realtor (of sorts) to find the couple a nice place well within their budget, which just so happens to be a dilapidated "fixer upper" in some secluded tiny Eastern European village. Fast forward six months and we follow the film crew as they make their way back to the town to see how much progress they've made with the home.

Thirst (2009)


November 15, 2009 - 7:43pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, blood, Chan-wook Park, CJ Entertainment, drama, Focus Features, Kang-ho Song, korean, romance, south korea, thirst, thriller, Universal Pictures, vamps

6.4
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (10 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Chan-wook Park
Cast: 
Song Kang Ho, Kim Ok Bin, Mercedes Cabra, Sin Ha-gyoon, Kim Hae-sook


Acclaimed South Korean director Chan-wook Park makes his genre debut with Thirst, a film that I've been anxiously awaiting since I first heard about it. Many are probably already aware of Park's work with the "Vengeance Trilogy" or more specifically Oldboy -- the second installment in his trilogy. Being a huge fan of the director and South Korean cinema in general, I expected that we wouldn't get a standard genre effort and I was right. Although a vampire flick, there are so many more layers in the film that cross over to Drama and Romance, so those looking for a cliched vamp feature need to look somewhere else.

To All a Goodnight (1980)


December 21, 2011 - 4:27pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Angela Bath, Bill Martins, Buck West, christmas, David Hess, Denise Stearns, Forrest Swanson, Jay Rasumny, Jeff Butts, Jennifer Runyon, Judith Bridges, killer santa, Linda Gentile, Sam Shamshak, slasher film, slasher movie, Solomon Trager, To All a Goodnight, William Lauer

4.4
Your rating: None Average: 4.4 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
David Hess
Cast: 
Jennifer Runyon, Forrest Swanson, Linda Gentile, William Lauer, Judith Bridges, Buck West, Sam Shamshak, Angela Bath, Denise Stearns, Solomon Trager, Jeff Butts, Bill Martins, Jay Rasumny


Before Silent Night, Deadly Night, there was To All a Good Night, a film that came out around the same year as Christmas Evil was released. This is supposedly the first film to have the killer wear a Santa outfit, which was later recreated in the previously mentioned films. Last House on the Left villain David Hess makes his directorial debut with this, which turns out to be one of the more less-known killer-Santa movies. At least me it was.

The film is basically your typical 80's slasher -- its Christmas break for the horny girls at the Calvin Finishing School and those who remained behind plan out a huge party, and invite a bunch of guys over (who for some reason flew there by a private plane?) and bodies start piling up. The movie really isn't all that bad considering the deaths were pretty decent, and so was the gore. We get a decapitation, axe to the head, strangulation, throat slash and propeller death to name a few. The twist at the end might catch some off guard, but I had a hunch about it before it was revealed.

Tooth and Nail (2007)


March 7, 2010 - 8:08pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: After Dark Films, Alexandra Barreto, Beverly Hynds, cannibalism, cannibals, Emily Catherine Young, Kevin E. Scott, Michael Kelly, Michael Madsen, Nicole DuPort, post-apocalyptic, Rachel Miner, Rider Strong, Robert Carradine, Tooth and Nail, Vinnie Jones, Zack Robidas

5.6
Your rating: None Average: 5.6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Mark Young
Cast: 
Nicole DuPort, Rider Strong, Michael Kelly, Alexandra Barreto, Robert Carradine, Emily Catherine Young, Kevin E. Scott, Zack Robidas, Beverly Hynds, Rachel Miner, Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones


Tooth and Nail originally made its theatrical debut in After Dark Film's horrorfest back in 2007 and I've been curious about it ever since. Despite the negative reviews it received, I've been meaning to watch it, as I'm partial to post-apocalyptic and cannibalism films. As expected from the films of the horrorfest -- it wasn't very good and should've stuck with its intended DVD premiere.

Tourist Trap (1979)


October 27, 2009 - 12:39am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 70's, Chuck Connors, David Schmoeller, Jocelyn Jones, Jon Van Ness, Robin Sherwood, slasher, Tanya Roberts, tourist trap, underrated

6.2
Your rating: None Average: 6.2 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
David Schmoeller
Cast: 
Chuck Connors, Jocelyn Jones, Jon Van Ness, Robin Sherwood, Tanya Roberts


I heard a lot of positive stuff on this film and it took me a while to check it out for myself, but I'm glad I did. This is one of those underrated horror films that most people haven't heard about. The story is pretty simple being about a group of teens (like usual) who come across a man who seems to live on his own at an old wax museum in the country. They end up finding out that there's a killer around the property that has special telekinetic powers.

Train (2008)


December 21, 2009 - 9:27pm | BK
  Tags: Gideon Raff, organ harvesting, POS movie, teens, Thora Birch, Train

5
Your rating: None Average: 5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
3/10
Director: 
Gideon Raff
Cast: 
Thora Birch, Gideon Emery, Kavan Reece, Derek Magyar, Gloria Votsis, Todd Jensen, Vladimir Vladimirov, Koyna Ruseva, Valentin Ganev, Ivan Barnev, Nikolay Mutafchiev


In the remake era of the modern horror movies, things gradually started to migrate from redoing creepy and successful Asian movies, to giving birth to a new set of updated versions of 80s flicks. When some titles seemed to be chosen from a sound business perspective (Halloween, Friday the 13th), the others were just plain obscure. Who would have thought that Tibor Takacs' The Gate will get a new version? Troll remake?

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.