SEARCH THE DATABASE

The Twilight Saga: Twilight (2008)


October 22, 2009 - 10:28pm | Johnny D
  Tags: Anna Kendrick, Ashley Greene, based on book, Cam Cigandet, Catherine Hardwicke, Christian Serratos, drama, Elizabeth Reaser, high school, Jackson Rathbone, Justin Chon, Kellan Lutz, Kristen Stewart, Michael Welch, Nikki Reed, Peter Facinelli, Robert Pattinson, romance, school, teens, Twilight, twilight saga, vamps

4.55556
Your rating: None Average: 4.6 (9 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Catherine Hardwicke
Cast: 
Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, Justin Chon, Anna Kendrick, Nikki Reed, Cam Cigandet, Michael Welch, Peter Facinelli, Elizabeth Reaser, Jackson Rathbone, Ashley Greene, Kellan Lutz, Christian Serratos


Let me preface this by saying that in no way do I fall into the demographic of Twilight's target audience. I have never read the books, I am not a 14 year old girl, nor am I a same-sex oriented male who finds Robert Pattinson dreamy. I am, however, an admirer of Director Catherine Hardwicke. I'm a total sucker for her brutally in your face Thirteen and believe she's truly a talent to watch out for. It's because of her skilled direction that I found myself not repulsed...and dare I say it...slightly intrigued and entertained by Twilight.

The Two Faces of Fear (1972)


June 23, 2009 - 11:43am | steelba
  Tags: 70's, Giallo, Giallo Flicks, Murder, Mystery

5
Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Tulio Demichelli
Cast: 
George Hilton Fernando Rey Luciana Paluzzi Anita Strindberg Manuel Zarzo


Here we have another somewhat rare Giallo directed by a relatively unknown director but staring many familiar faces. The most familiar being genre vet George Hilton and the good looking Anita Strindberg. They have both been in good and bad flicks so that didn't necessarily draw me in. Nevertheless I hadn't seen or heard anything about this particular film so that is reason enough to check it. Well it was reason enough for me..

The Unholy (1988)


December 9, 2010 - 12:57am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Camilo Vila, church, devil, evil, Ned Beatty, Nicole Fortier, Peter Frechette, Phil Becker, priests, religion, religious, Ruben Rabasa, The Unholy, underrated

5
Your rating: None Average: 5 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Camilo Vila
Cast: 
Ruben Rabasa, Nicole Fortier, Peter Frechette, Phil Becker, Ned Beatty


I read a little about this movie before seeing it and from most of what I read it seemed pretty positive. It's an underrated supernatural film in my opinion. The story is basically about these priests who are murdered by a demon who makes them sin then kills them. Later in the movie it's revealed that a single priest would be chosen to battle the demon known as the Unholy.

The film has some good creepy moments and maybe a scare or two, but it does fall apart a bit towards the end compared to the pace of the rest of the movie. It seemed out of place, like it was a bit rushed and I think it would have been better if we didn't see the demon the way we did. They ended up showing the whole demon and it's somewhat silly looking.

The Unnamable (1988)


July 30, 2009 - 12:05am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Alexandra Durrell, Blane Wheatley, Charles King, creature, Delbert Spain, Eben Ham, H.P. Lovecraft, humanoid, Jean-Paul Ouellette, Laura Albert, Mark Kinsey Stephenson, Mark Parra, the unnamable, underrated

5.6
Your rating: None Average: 5.6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Jean-Paul Ouellette
Cast: 
Charles King, Mark Kinsey Stephenson, Alexandra Durrell, Laura Albert, Eben Ham, Blane Wheatley, Mark Parra, Delbert Spain


I remember watching this movie on VHS many years ago as a kid and really enjoying it. I actually forgot about the movie until recently and I decided to get the Double-Feature disc from Anchor Bay U.K., that has this and it's sequel together on DVD. For some reason only part two is released here in the U.S. and that's thanks to Lion's Gate. Who knows if or when the first will ever get the DVD treatment, but I suggest that if you have access to a DVD player that's able to play Region 2; Pal discs, then get your hands on this set, because it's well worth it.

The Vagrant (1992)


July 11, 2009 - 4:52am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, Bill Paxton, Chris Walas, Colleen Camp, comedic, Marc McClure, Marshall Bell, Michael Ironside, Mitzi Kapture, Patrika Darbo, slasher, the vagrant

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Chris Walas
Cast: 
Bill Paxton, Michael Ironside, Marshall Bell, Mitzi Kapture, Colleen Camp, Patrika Darbo, Marc McClure

The Veil (2016)


February 4, 2016 - 2:09pm | DMHead777
  Tags: Blumhouse Productions, cult, DMHead777, Jessica Alba, Lily Rabe, Meegan Warner, Netflix, Phil Joanou, religious cult, Robert Ben Garant, The Veil, Thomas Jane

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Phil Joanou
Cast: 
Thomas Jane, Jessica Alba, Lily Rabe, Meegan Warner


"The Veil" takes place 25 years after a religious cult commits mass suicide. There is one survivor of the tragedy and she returns to face her fears with a documentary crew

I admit, I am a sucker for found footage flicks. I think if done right, they can be some of the creepiest horror films out there. There is just something gritty and raw about them that I love. Reading about "The Veil" had me interested. I know there has been a lot of crap to come out of the found footage sub-genre as of late, but I was looking for something new as a lot of them have become quite tedious. Hollywood found footage films are the worst as they all look exactly the same, especially when it comes to possession films. "The Veil" sounded interesting and it had Thomas Jane! So, how could this movie be terrible, right? Unfortunately, Thomas Jane and Lily Rabe are the only great parts about this movie.

The Vineyard (1989)


April 7, 2012 - 9:40pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, action, cheesy, Cheryl Lawson, Cheryl Madsen, James Hong, Karen Witter, Lars Wangberg, Michael Wong, Rue Douglas, Sean P. Donahue, Sherri Ball, The Vineyard, William Rice, Zombie Movies

3
Your rating: None Average: 3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
James Hong
Cast: 
James Hong, William Rice, Karen Witter, Michael Wong, Lars Wangberg, Cheryl Madsen, Cheryl Lawson, Rue Douglas, Sean P. Donahue, Sherri Ball


Another night of aimless Netflix browsing eventually led me to The Vineyard, an 80's cheesefest that's the epitome of 80's cheesefests. The flick was written, directed, and starred James Hong (who is probably best remembered as Lo Pan from Big Trouble in Little China) as a wealthy movie producer and wine maker named Dr. Po, who throws regular parties at his little island home and has most recently invited a group of aspiring actors to partake and inquire on his latest film. However unbeknownst to the guests, Po plans to use them for his mysterious rejuvenating elixir that has since kept him alive for centuries.

The Vineyard is a film that has it all -- action, romance, horror, oh and zombies! It's just a completely muddled and horribly acted and executed film and not only does all that work against it, but also in its favor! The movie is just so ridiculous to the point of being entertaining. For instance, one of my fav. scenes involves one of Dr. Po's henchmen getting "fired" after he catches him sleeping with the man's wife. The scene pretty much went down like this:

The Visit (2015)


September 17, 2015 - 7:12pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Benjamin Kanes, Blinding Edge Pictures, dark comedy, Deanna Dunagan, Ed Oxenbould, Erica Lynne Marszalek, Kathryn Hahn, M. Night Shyamalan, Olivia DeJonge, Peter McRobbie, Sundowning, The Visit

7.11111
Your rating: None Average: 7.1 (9 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
M. Night Shyamalan
Cast: 
Kathryn Hahn, Erica Lynne Marszalek, Ed Oxenbould, Peter McRobbie, Benjamin Kanes, Deanna Dunagan, Olivia DeJonge


There was a time when "Directed by M. Night Shyamalan" carried a lot of weight to a film. The man seemingly came out of nowhere and blew audiences away with The Sixth Sense in 1999, then followed that up with the unconventional superhero tale Unbreakable and the creepy alien invasion flick Signs. It was The Village that started the decline in quality of the films from M. Night (in my opinion), which gradually continued with each additional movie to the point where some people will completely avoid a project solely on the his name alone.

The Voices (2014)


February 15, 2015 - 6:43pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: animals, Anna Kendrick, cats, comedic, dark comedy, dogs, Gemma Arterton, Gulliver McGrath, Jacki Weaver, Mandalay Vision, Marjane Satrapi, Michael R. Perry, psychological, Ryan Reynolds, The Voices, thriller, Vertigo Entertainmen

7.8
Your rating: None Average: 7.8 (5 votes)
Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Marjane Satrapi
Cast: 
Ryan Reynolds, Gemma Arterton, Anna Kendrick, Jacki Weaver, Gulliver McGrath


The Voices is an odd, but interesting look at a schizophrenic named Jerry, who essentially just wants to be liked. On the outside Jerry (Ryan Reynolds) is all smiles and happy thoughts, because he doesn't need his meds anymore, despite what his doctor says. Sure his goofy dog Bosco and his sadistic foul-mouthed cat Mr. Whiskers talks to him sometimes, but that still beats the grim reality he's faced with when he's actually on his medication.

Yup, everything's just fine and dandy until one day when his workplace crush stands him up for dinner. That's where a little misunderstanding leads to her death and Jerry decides to store her severed head in his fridge for safe keeping (naturally). Unfortunately her poor old head is lonely in there, so now Jerry is forced to find her a friend (don't you hate when that happens?).

The Void (2016)


April 10, 2017 - 8:20pm | FrighT MasteR

6.375
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Jeremy Gillespie, Steven Kostanski
Cast: 
Kenneth Welsh, Aaron Poole, Daniel Fathers, Kathleen Munroe, Ellen Wong


The Void is the latest indie flick to pay homage to the greats from yesteryear, specifically borrowing a lot from early John Carpenter. Normally when a movie borrows from other films it can be seen as derivative, but in this case I personally felt it was a surprising welcomed return to form.

The story kicks off early with a small town deputy taking an injured man to a soon defunct hospital nearby, where the handful of remaining staff members are less than eager to offer assistance. Meanwhile, a group of white-robed randos have amassed around the hospital and will apparently attack anyone that steps foot outside. This leaves the staff and patients stuck inside now, where there seems to be some kind of infection going around that's making people crazy and in some cases even turning them into vile creatures.


LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.