SEARCH THE DATABASE

The Void (2016)


April 10, 2017 - 8:20pm | FrighT MasteR

6.375
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Jeremy Gillespie, Steven Kostanski
Cast: 
Kenneth Welsh, Aaron Poole, Daniel Fathers, Kathleen Munroe, Ellen Wong


The Void is the latest indie flick to pay homage to the greats from yesteryear, specifically borrowing a lot from early John Carpenter. Normally when a movie borrows from other films it can be seen as derivative, but in this case I personally felt it was a surprising welcomed return to form.

The story kicks off early with a small town deputy taking an injured man to a soon defunct hospital nearby, where the handful of remaining staff members are less than eager to offer assistance. Meanwhile, a group of white-robed randos have amassed around the hospital and will apparently attack anyone that steps foot outside. This leaves the staff and patients stuck inside now, where there seems to be some kind of infection going around that's making people crazy and in some cases even turning them into vile creatures.


The Ward (2010)


June 5, 2011 - 3:35pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Amber Heard, Danielle Panabaker, ghosts, haunted, haunting, John Carpenter, Mamie Gummer, psychiatric ward, revenge, spirit, the ward

3.5
Your rating: None Average: 3.5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
John Carpenter
Cast: 
Amber Heard, Danielle Panabaker, Mamie Gummer, Jared Harris, Mika Boorem, Lyndsy Fonseca, Laura-Leigh


Oh, John Carpenter, how I've missed thee. With the exception of directing a couple episodes of the terrible Master's of Horror series, this marks the horror maestro's return to feature film, after a decade long hiatus. Sadly, it seems the long wait for his return was a fruitless one. Instead of delivering an original piece of work, he's going off an incredibly mediocre script and contributing very little of what we're used to seeing from him. He doesn't even score his own films anymore! It's a sad time to be an old horror fan, seeing all the greats resort to mediocre-to-bad genre efforts, but I digress.

The Warning (1980)


September 30, 2009 - 6:15pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, aliens, cheesy, Christopher S. Nelson, Greydon Clark, Jack Palance, Martin Landau, Neville Brand, scifi, Sue Ane Langdon, Tarah Nutter, the warning

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Greydon Clark
Cast: 
Tarah Nutter, Christopher S. Nelson, Jack Palance, Martin Landau, Sue Ane Langdon, Neville Brand


Before actors Jack Palance and Martin Landau won their Oscars they starred in various flicks including some cheesy 80's horror. Sure we're aware of the interesting 1982 slasher Alone in the Dark, but did you know the duo also starred together in The Warning? I sure didn't! Hell, I didn't even know this movie existed until I stumbled upon it one day. The fact that it has two other alternate titles like Alien Warning and It Came Without Warning didn't help matters.

The Wicker Man (1975)


December 9, 2010 - 12:01am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 70's, Britt Ekland, Christopher Lee, dancing, Diane Cilento, Edward Woodward, musical, Robin Hardy, singing, weird, wicker man

5.75
Your rating: None Average: 5.8 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Robin Hardy
Cast: 
Edward Woodward, Christopher Lee, Diane Cilento, Britt Ekland


I’ve wanted to see this film for the longest time, because it was supposedly one of the "best horror films ever made" and having seen it I have to say that it is definitely NOT one of the best, but it sure is one of the weirdest. The movie starts off pretty interesting being about a police man from the mainland going to an island town after reports of a missing girl. He asks the towns people and they all seem to be hiding something and eventually he stumbles onto something far more sinister then just a simple missing-girl case.

The Wicker Man (2006)


September 29, 2011 - 10:05pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Diane Delano, Ellen Burstyn, Erika-Shaye Gair, Frances Conroy, Kate Beahan, Leelee Sobieski, Molly Parker, Neil LaBute, Nicolas Cage, religion, religious, remake, The Wicker Man, Wickerman

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Neil LaBute
Cast: 
Nicolas Cage, Ellen Burstyn, Kate Beahan, Frances Conroy, Molly Parker, Leelee Sobieski, Diane Delano, Erika-Shaye Gair


Why anyone would want to remake the 1973 film is beyond me, but apparently someone thought it had a big enough fan base to dish out some decent $$ at the box office. This obviously wasn't the case considering the budget was an estimated $40-million, while only making $12-million opening weekend.

Giving the film a PG-13 rating was an attempt to bring in younger viewers’ despite the fact that more than half the people who are even aware of the original, let-alone fans of it, are obviously adults. In the end, after its theatrical run it barely reached half the budget. Granted the original does have cult status and some critics consider it one of the best horror films ever made, I personally hated it. All the pointless singing and naked dancing was an incredible waste of time.

The remake keeps the basic storyline of a cop from the city going to a small island (which has its own ritualistic religion) in search of a missing girl. This time, however, they've removed all the annoying singing, (kept some of the dancing though) and threw in a very funny Nic Cage as the lead. Whether Nic was delivering comedic moments intentionally or not, I had a good laugh during a few scenes.

The Wig (2005)


August 12, 2009 - 2:57pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, ghost, Hyon-Jin Sa, korean, Min-seo Chae, Seon Yu, Shin-yeon Won, south korea, spirit, the wig

6.2
Your rating: None Average: 6.2 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Shin-yeon Won
Cast: 
Min-seo Chae, Hyon-Jin Sa, Seon Yu


Since the popularity of Ringu in 1998, Asian and even American cinema has bared witness to the "scary long black hair" phenomena that has been exploited in numerous recent Asian horror films, namely those to come out of South Korea. Although, the long-haired-theme isn't anything new to cinema (it's also how the Japanese traditionally conceive their ghosts), it didn't become such a phenomenon until Hollywood got wind of it and dished out films with Asian-influenced ghosts with long black hair. Thus, I bring you The Wig -- a film that literally revolves around the long black hair, essentially even making it a central "character." Despite how silly that sounds, the movie is actually quite creepy at times, and surprisingly doesn't spew out the same type of scares we've seen time and time again with Asian horror lately.

The Willies (1990)


January 27, 2010 - 11:32am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, anthology, Bill Erwin, Brian Peck, campy, cheesy, Clu Gulager, James Karen, Jason Horst, Joshua Miller, kids, Michael Bower, Sean Astin, the willies, youth oriented

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Brian Peck
Cast: 
Sean Astin, Jason Horst, Joshua Miller, James Karen, Bill Erwin, Clu Gulager, Michael Bower


The Willies is a film that I've always been curious about, but never got around to watching until recently. Aimed more towards a younger genre crowed, The Willies starts off with a few young boys telling each other "scary" stories in a tent. We're told three brief tales that are more for amusement purposes than anything. First there's the woman who goes to a fried chicken restaurant and bites into a fried rat instead; next is the tale of an old man who dies in a haunted ride attraction, and lastly the ever-popular cat-in-the-microwave story. About 15-or-so minutes in we get into one of the two real tales.

The Windmill (2016)


October 9, 2016 - 7:40pm | FrighT MasteR

8
Your rating: None Average: 8 (3 votes)
Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Nick Jongerius
Cast: 
Bart Klever, Charlotte Beaumont, Tanroh Ishida, Fiona Hampton, Ben Batt, Adam Thomas Wright


Also known as The Windmill Massacre, this English-language film comes to us from the Netherlands and follows a young Australian girl on the run from the authorities and hitches a ride with a tour bus that's roaming Holland's countryside for their "world famous windmills." After the bus breaks down the diverse group of travelers are forced to seek shelter at an abandoned shed, which just so happens to be near an old windmill that's rumored to once house a.. Devil-worshipping miller! (*GASP*)

The movie doesn't waste much time getting to the point since we get our first kill after about 20-minutes in, which came unexpected and was surprisingly gory. This set the tone for the rest of the film, which kept a solid pace until the very end. Unfortunately, not all the kills were as gory as the first, but the deaths were at least varied and still had their bloody/gory moments. Thankfully it was all mostly practical, with the occasional CG blood here and there (let us never speak of the bad CG fire).

The Witch (2015)


May 1, 2016 - 7:13pm | FrighT MasteR

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Robert Eggers
Cast: 
Anya Taylor-Joy, Ralph Ineson, Kate Dickie, Harvey Scrimshaw, Ellie Grainger, Lucas Dawson


Director Robert Eggers makes his directorial debut with this film, which was reportedly a passion project of his, as he grew up fascinated by witches and wanted to eventually make a movie based on old folklore and historical written accounts of witchcraft. Thanks to the moody trailer and good word of mouth it did pretty well at the box office, bringing in a total of over $32-million. I really liked the film, so I'm glad it was fairly successful and hope that we'll see more modest-budgeted story-driven atmospheric horror going to theaters.

The Wolfman (2010)


February 15, 2010 - 12:26am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Anthony Hopkins, Benicio Del Toro, blood, Emily Blunt, gore, Hugo Weaving, Joe Johnston, lycan, lycanthrope, period piece, the wolfman, Universal Pictures, wolfman

7.52
Your rating: None Average: 7.5 (25 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Joe Johnston
Cast: 
Benicio Del Toro, Anthony Hopkins, Emily Blunt, Hugo Weaving


Reportedly a "passion project" for actor Benicio Del Toro, this remake has been in development for several years now, but finally began moving forward once director Joe Johnston (Jumanji, Jurassic Park III) was attached to the project, quickly replacing Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo), who left due to "creative differences". Despite the many obvious flaws in the remake, I still found myself enjoying every minute of it.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.