SEARCH THE DATABASE

Undead (2003)


September 4, 2010 - 5:13pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: aliens, aussia, australia, australian, cheesy, comedic, Michael Spierig, Peter Spierig, sci fi, undead, walking dead, Zombie Movies

5.8
Your rating: None Average: 5.8 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Michael Spierig, Peter Spierig
Cast: 
Felicity Mason, Mungo McKay, Rob Jenkins, Lisa Cunningham, Emma Randall, Dirk Hunter, Frank Huckingbush


I remember seeing the trailer for this film a long time ago and thinking it looked pretty cool. At the time there weren't many special effects and I was thinking it was gonna be real low-budget. After seeing a better trailer with more zombies and special effects I was digging it a lot more. Apparently the brothers who directed the film funded the movie from their own pocket and those of family and friends and the special effects were done all on their home computer. Pretty cool stuff.

Under the Shadow (2016)


September 26, 2016 - 7:36pm | FrighT MasteR

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Babak Anvari
Cast: 
Narges Rashidi, Avin Manshadi, Bobby Naderi, Ray Haratian, Arash Marandi




With a remake already in development (no surprise), Under the Shadow is the much buzzed about Iranian horror film that has drawn comparisons to another hyped horror film: The Babadook (which I liked). Even Netflix got their grubby hands on it with plans to release it on the platform sometime in the future. Yes, the hype is definitely strong with this one, so naturally I went in expecting something great, but unfortunately was only mildly satisfied with the end result.

Underworld (2003)


October 27, 2009 - 1:32am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, Bill Nighy, Erwin Leder, guns, Kate Beckinsale, Kevin Grevioux, Len Wiseman, lycans, martial arts, Michael Sheen, Scott McElroy, Scott Speedman, Shane Brolly, swordplay, Underworld, vamps

7.26667
Your rating: None Average: 7.3 (15 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Len Wiseman
Cast: 
Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, Shane Brolly, Michael Sheen, Bill Nighy, Erwin Leder, Kevin Grevioux, Scott McElroy


Yes, this was one of those horror flicks that I've been anticipating for some time and I'm glad I finally got to check it, despite the fact I kept dozing off for a few seconds at a time in the first 40 minutes of the film. I should have gotten more sleep the previous night. The story is about a vampire warrior named Selene, who hunts Lychans (Werewolves) for a living. She goes after a human who the Lychans seem to have a strange liking to and discovers that he's a very valuable asset to the Lychans. She ends up falling for the guy and protects him from both being killed by fellow vampires and being taken away by the Lychans. There's a little more to it than that, but I don't wanna spoil too much.

Underworld: Awakening (2012)


January 23, 2012 - 8:08pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 3-d, 3d, action, Charles Dance, India Eisley, Kate Beckinsale, lycan, lycanthrope, Michael Ealy, Sandrine Holt, Screen Gems, sequel, Stephen Rea, Theo James, Underworld, vampire, vamps, werewolf

7.64286
Your rating: None Average: 7.6 (14 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Mans Marlind, Bjorn Stein
Cast: 
Kate Beckinsale, Michael Ealy, Stephen Rea, Sandrine Holt, India Eisley, Theo James, Charles Dance


Since the first film in 2003, the Underworld series has been known for their great blend of action and horror and have (for the most part) kept up that tradition with its sequels. Although I still enjoyed the previous installments, they just didn't seem to fully offer the high octane entertainment that was delivered in the first. With the second being more of an adventure-romance and the third being a period piece, which had its moments, but was ultimately disappointing in certain aspects (for me anyway), so I didn't exactly go into this fourth with high expectations. To my surprise, not only did it recapture some of the great action that was seemingly absent in the past sequels, but it kicked it up a notch and essentially delivered a non-stop pure adrenaline-fueled popcorn flick!

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)


February 10, 2017 - 6:21pm | FrighT MasteR

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Anna Foerster
Cast: 
Theo James, Kate Beckinsale, Tobias Menzies, Bradley James, Lara Pulver, Charles Dance, James Faulkner, Peter Andersson, Clementine Nicholson, Daisy Head


It's been four years since the last Underworld and within that timeframe the project has gone through a lot of changes--originally it started out as somewhat of a spinoff that was going to focus on Selene's daughter, but that idea was scrapped since it wasn't going to involve Kate Beckinsale, whom the studio believes to be the driving force behind the success of the series. While that may be the case, the film's latest box office numbers tell a somewhat different story, namely the fact that viewers may finally be getting tired of all these Underworld movies since it proved to be the weakest opening of all the sequels.

Underworld: Evolution (2006)


November 5, 2009 - 6:27pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, Bill Nighy, Derek Jacobi, Kate Beckinsale, Len Wiseman, lycans, Michael Sheen, sci fi, Scott Speedman, Shane Brolly, Tony Curran, Underworld, vamps, Zita Görög

7.18182
Your rating: None Average: 7.2 (11 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Len Wiseman
Cast: 
Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, Derek Jacobi, Shane Brolly, Michael Sheen, Bill Nighy, Tony Curran, Zita Görög


With the success of the first film and the fact that it ended with a cliffhanger was an obvious indication that we were going to get a sequel sometime in the future. Now that it's out does it live up to the first movie? I think it does, in fact, it's even better than the first in certain instances. Now with a bigger budget Len Wiseman's able to deliver the audience more eye-candy and cool sequences.

One of my favorite parts in the movie would have to be when Selene and Michael attempt to flee from a very angry and winged Marcus. This sequel also brings us gore-hounds more to drool over, with the buckets of blood that was spilt in the film, and some excellent gore, I.E. an exploding head. Although the plot isn't as engaging as the first movie, it still manages to deliver us some twists and turns as time goes on; even revealing a bit more on Selene's past and a little on the Lycan and Vamp origins.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)


February 5, 2010 - 1:58pm | Johnny D
  Tags: action, Bill Nighy, Craig Parker, Kevin Grevioux, lycans, Michael Sheen, Patrick Tatopoulos, Rhona Mitra, Shane Brolly, Steven Mackintosh, Tania Nolan, Underworld, vamps

6.71429
Your rating: None Average: 6.7 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Patrick Tatopoulos
Cast: 
Rhona Mitra, Michael Sheen, Bill Nighy, Shane Brolly, Steven Mackintosh, Craig Parker, Kevin Grevioux, Tania Nolan


My feelings about the two previous Underworld films is that they’re harmless fun. I find nothing offensively bad about them, nor do I believe that they’re high art. They’re entertaining and provide two hours of brainless badass creature action. I went into this third entry with my expectations set for another film that would fit this mold. Well, could you imagine my surprise to find out that Rise of the Lycans was one helluva solid watch, and the best in the series.

Unfriended (2014)


August 24, 2015 - 4:51pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Cybernatural, found footage, ghosts, haunting, Levan Gabriadze, Nelson Greaves, pov, Unfriended, webcam

6.25
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Levan Gabriadze
Cast: 
Shelley Hennig, Moses Storm, Renee Olstead, Will Peltz, Jacob Wysocki, Courtney Halverson, Heather Sossaman


Unfriended (originally titled Cybernatural) is an unconventional found footage flick that seemed to surprise a lot of people at how decent it was, getting fairly mixed reviews overall. It personally didn't look very good to me, but I went in with an open mind. Surprisingly enough, it wasn't as bad as I expected, but it's nowhere near as good as some viewers made it out to be either.

The film takes place entirely through the computer screen of our female lead, Blaire (Shelley Hennig). We watch as she multi-tasks her way through the web, online music, and various forms of social media. However, Skype is where most of the action takes place and is the outlet that introduces us to the rest of her group of friends. As what teens apparently do nowadays, they all BS back and forth on Skype until realizing that an anonymous individual appears to have snuck into their conference call.

Uninvited (1988)


September 4, 2010 - 6:53pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Alex Cord, Austin Stoker, cheesy, Clare Carey, Clu Gulager, creature feature, Eric Larson, George Kennedy, Greydon Clark, killer cat, mutation, Rob Estes, Shari Shattuck, Toni Hudson, Uninvited, yaht

5.33333
Your rating: None Average: 5.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Greydon Clark
Cast: 
Toni Hudson, Eric Larson, Alex Cord, George Kennedy, Clu Gulager, Clare Carey, Rob Estes, Shari Shattuck, Austin Stoker


The best way to describe Uninvited is "pure 80's cheese", because that's exactly what this movie oozes from the start. I mean, it's about a mutated killer cat for crap's sake! Anyway, the story follows a group of 20-somethings that are lookin' for a little vacation fun and decide to mooch off a local shady millionaire after he woo's a couple of the young whores and invites them to his yacht. Before the group enters the yacht one of the ladies picks up an oh-so-adorable stray cat, which I'm sure is just a regular cat and won't kill them or anything, right? Wrong!!! And the passengers aboard the yacht will soon find out as well...

Urban Explorer (2011)


April 6, 2012 - 10:48pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Andy Fetscher, cannibalism, cannibals, exploring, Klaus Stiglmeier, Martin Thau, Max Riemelt, Nathalie Kelley, nazi, nazis, Nick Eversman, Papermoon Films, Rialto Film, survival, Urban Explorers

3.33333
Your rating: None Average: 3.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Andy Fetscher
Cast: 
Nathalie Kelley, Nick Eversman, Klaus Stiglmeier, Max Riemelt


Urban Explorer is a film that I was interested in early on due to its theme of urban exploration, which is something I had always been mildly interested in. It also gives the lead characters a great excuse to explore and seclude themselves in the alien environment. The film is basically like any other flick from the genre, where instead of people vacationing at a cabin or camping in the woods, their exploring the metropolitan undergrounds of Europe. Sadly, that comparison doesn't just end there, as everything else that normally comes with that particular theme is also given here, straight down to the dubious and potentially dangerous "locals".

LATEST VIDEOS

UHM PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.