SEARCH THE DATABASE

Urban Legends: Final Cut (2000)


December 8, 2010 - 11:53pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Eva Mendes, Hart Bochner, Jennifer Morrison, Joey Lawrence, John Ottman, Loretta Devine, Matthew Davis, POS movie, school, sequel, slasher, slashers, students, Urban Legends

2
Your rating: None Average: 2 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
3/10
Director: 
John Ottman
Cast: 
Jennifer Morrison, Matthew Davis, Hart Bochner, Loretta Devine, Eva Mendes, Joey Lawrence


Damnit, what was John Ottman thinking when he made this film? Did he actually believe this would be a good movie? This is nothing but your stereotypical slasher film, where another masked killer is off killing college students. I'm tired of these kinds of films. It's the same thing all the time, either with high school students or college students. Hollywood needs to come up with some original stuff for a change.

Uzumaki (2000)


August 16, 2009 - 7:01pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, based on comic, curse, Eriko Hatsune, Fhi Fan, Higuchinsky, Hinako Saeki, japan, japanese, Masami Horiuchi, Ren Osugi, spiral, uzumaki, vortex

7.28571
Your rating: None Average: 7.3 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Higuchinsky
Cast: 
Eriko Hatsune, Fhi Fan, Ren Osugi, Hinako Saeki, Masami Horiuchi


I heard about this movie a long time ago and many times I questioned whether to purchase it or not, and I always seemed to pass it up, but finally gave in a few weeks ago and I'm glad I did, because this is a sweet movie. It has some freaky scenes and a great story.

This is now one of my favorite movies. It's original and has some excellent special effects. Better than I thought it would. Some of the stuff in this movie I've never seen in any other movie before. One of my favorite scenes is a part where a man spins his eyes around and around creating a vortex to prove a point to his family. The script to this movie is very innovative and original. I've never seen a movie based on vortex's before. Though, I do remember seeing a scene in Dark City that reminded me of a scene in this movie.

V/H/S (2012)


August 7, 2012 - 5:04pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: A.D. Calvo, Adam Wingard, anthology, Bradley Miska, Calvin Reeder, Chad Villella, David Bruckner, found footage, Glenn McQuaid, Joe Swanberg, Kate Lyn Sheil, Matt Bettinelli-Olpin, Nicholas Tecosky, pov, Radio Silence, Salient Media, Simon Barrett, Sophia Takal, Ti West, Tyler Gillett

7.63636
Your rating: None Average: 7.6 (22 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Adam Wingard, Ti West, David Bruckner, Glenn McQuaid, Radio Silence, Joe Swanberg
Cast: 
Calvin Reeder, Lane Hughes, Adam Wingard, Hannah Fierman, Mike Donlan, Joe Sykes, Drew Sawyer, Jas Sams, Joe Swanberg, Sophia Takal, Kate Lyn Sheil, Drew Moerlein, Jason Yachanin, Helen Rogers, Chad Villella, Matt Bettinelli-Olpin, Tyler Gillett, Paul Natonek, Nicole Erb, Eric Curtis, Nicole Boccumini, Lisa Marie Thomas, Melinda Fleming


With all the found footage/POV-type films to come out lately, it was only a matter of time before an anthology was introduced. Thus, we have V/H/S a new low-budget collection of found footage horror tales that looked promising from the trailer, but unfortunately ended up being more of a disappointment than anything. One of the biggest issues I had being its gimmicky use of the VHS format, which made no sense when it came to each of the stories.

Vacancy (2007)


June 15, 2010 - 12:27pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: couple, Ethan Embry, Frank Whaley, Kate Beckinsale, killer, Luke Wilson, motel, Nimród Antal, Scott G. Anderson, suspense, Vacancy

5.6
Your rating: None Average: 5.6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Nimród Antal
Cast: 
Kate Beckinsale, Luke Wilson, Frank Whaley, Ethan Embry, Scott G. Anderson


When the project was first announced early last year, Simon West (When a Stranger Calls '06) was set to direct, with Sarah Jessica Parker starring opposite Luke Wilson. Before production could properly get started, Simon West was gone and replaced by the fairly unknown, but talented, Nimród Antal, and Sarah Jessica Parker also left, supposedly due to "personal reasons," and was replaced by the lovely Kate Beckinsale.

Valentine (2001)


September 4, 2010 - 5:08pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: David Boreanaz, Denise Richards, Jamie Blanks, Jessica Capshaw, Marley Shelton, slasher, Valentine

6.33333
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jamie Blanks
Cast: 
Denise Richards, David Boreanaz, Marley Shelton, Jessica Capshaw


I know a lot of people don't like this film, but I thought it wasn't bad. It wasn't original, but at least it was entertaining. Reminds me a lot of the many 80's slasher films that deals with someone getting revenge on people who did them wrong.

The film starts off with a group of girls who've known each other for years going to a funeral because one of their friends was killed. They soon begin getting strange valentine cards that foreshadows their demise. Like I said before the plot isn't very original and the killer had some resemblance to Michael Myers from the Halloween films. Director Jamie Blanks was obviously playing homage to classic slasher films and wasn't going for anything original.

Vamp (1986)


October 27, 2009 - 1:44am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Billy Drago, Brad Logan, Chris Makepeace, college, Dedee Pfeiffer, Gedde Watanabe, Grace Jones, Richard Wenk, Robert Rusler, Sandy Baron, small town, vamp

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Richard Wenk
Cast: 
Chris Makepeace, Sandy Baron, Robert Rusler, Dedee Pfeiffer, Gedde Watanabe, Grace Jones, Billy Drago, Brad Logan


A number of good vampire flicks came out in the 80s and one of the more underrated and least-talked-about ones has to be Vamp, a movie that offers some of the fun of Fright Night mixed with a little From Dusk 'Till Dawn. The movie's plot is simple -- a couple would-be fraternity members are sent out to find a stripper to bring back to the pledge house in a last-ditch effort to join the fraternity. The two pledges have a little transportation problem, so they seek the aid of a rich Asian guy (also the comedy relief), whom we may remember as Long Duk Dong from Sixteen Candles.

Vampire Hunter D (1985)


August 16, 2009 - 7:49pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, anime, blood, gore, japan, japanese, Toyoa Ashda, vampire hunter d, vamps

6.28571
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Toyoa Ashda
Cast: 
Kaneto Shiozawa, Michael McConnohie, Steve Bulen, Lara Cody, Barbara Goodson, Seizô Katô, Satoko Kifuji, Motomu Kiyokawa


Vampire Hunter D came out in the mid-80s and spawned decades of fans and ultimately becoming a cult hit. Even to this day people are discovering this film and how it was ahead of its time. D has become an anime icon and made his triumphant return with the highly anticipated Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust.

The film itself has a relatively simple story -- taking place sometime in the future, it basically follows a poor woman, who hires a Vampire hunter known as D to protect her and her little brother from the evil mysterious demons and creatures that constantly attack her. It turns out to be the bidding of an old vampire lord, who has chosen the young woman to be his bride. After various attempts to stopping the attacks, the woman eventually gets captured, leading D to break into the mysterious castle and save her life. After doing so he has one last thing to do, and that's to take care of the lord himsef -- Count Magnus Lee.

Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust (2000)


August 16, 2009 - 7:58pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 10 rating, anime, blood, gore, japan, japanese, vampire hunter d, Yoshiaki Kawajiri

7.75
Your rating: None Average: 7.8 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
10/10
Director: 
Yoshiaki Kawajiri
Cast: 
Andrew Philpot, John Rafter Lee, Pamela Segall, Wendee Lee


This is THE best anime movie I've seen. It has everything an anime needs; Monsters, vampires, blood, action, violence, gore, an excellent story, and a bad ass character. This is the first movie that I've ever given a 10-rating. I was seriously considering giving it a 9 instead, but after thinking back on the movie, I came to the conclusion that it kicks ass!

The movie starts off pretty fast when D gets hired by a rich man to get his kidnapped daughter from a vampire lord named MEIER. It turns out that the daughter is in love with the vampire. D isn't the only one wanting the reward money for the girl. A group of notorious vampire hunters called the Markus Brothers are after her too.

Vampires (1998)


March 13, 2013 - 5:17pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, blood, Daniel Baldwin, gore, James Woods, John Carpenter, Maximilian Schell, Sheryl Lee, Thomas Ian Griffith, vampire, vampire hunters, vampire hunting

8.08333
Your rating: None Average: 8.1 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
John Carpenter
Cast: 
James Woods, Daniel Baldwin, Sheryl Lee, Thomas Ian Griffith, Maximilian Schell


I first caught Vampires when it was in theaters in '98 and recently felt the need to revisit it to see if it still held up to what I remembered. Surprisingly enough, I think I enjoyed the movie more now than I did in the past, probably because as an adult I can appreciate certain aspects of it better, especially knowing it was John Carpenters last "good" film (in my opinion). While vampires right now are seemingly being defanged and more feminized and comedic, it's good to go back to a time when they were still considered pure evil and ruthless.

Vampires (2010)


July 4, 2011 - 1:24am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Belgium, Carlo Ferrante, comedic, Fleur Lise Heuet, foreign, france, Frédérique Broos, french, IFC Midnight, Julien Doré, Left Field Ventures, mockumentary, Pierre Lognay, vampire, Vera Van Dooren, Vincent Lannoo, VOD

3
Your rating: None Average: 3 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Vincent Lannoo
Cast: 
Carlo Ferrante, Vera Van Dooren, Pierre Lognay, Fleur Lise Heuet, Julien Doré

Vampires is a Belgium mockumentary that revolves around a documentary crew that follow an odd family of bloodsuckers as they detail their lives and reveal the ins and outs of their strict vampire society. This is a film that I seriously wanted to like, but I just could not get into it at all. The concept is great and innovative, but the execution has A LOT of room for improvement and the pacing is set to a crawl and unfortunately never improves.

Described as a "comedy" the movie even failed to get even the slightest chuckle out of me. Sure there were certain scenes or gags that seemed as though they would be funny to some people, but I personally didn't find them or any other aspects of the movie funny at all. Those expecting any kind of standard vamp violence will be sorely disappointed, as well. Aside from one great scene where a group of vampires raid a home and feed off a number of the residents, the remainder of the pic jus has the family talking in front of the camera about how they live and the people in their lives.

LATEST VIDEOS

UHM PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.