SEARCH THE DATABASE

Van Helsing (2004)


December 30, 2010 - 12:50pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, adventure, David Wenham, dracula, Elena Anaya, frankenstein, Hugh Jackman, Kate Beckinsale, Kevin J. O'Connor, lycan, monsters, Richard Roxburgh, Shuler Hensley, Stephen Sommers, Van Helsing, werewolf, Will Kemp, wolf man, wolfman

7.44444
Your rating: None Average: 7.4 (9 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Stephen Sommers
Cast: 
Hugh Jackman, Kate Beckinsale, Richard Roxburgh, David Wenham, Shuler Hensley, Elena Anaya, Will Kemp, Kevin J. O'Connor

Venom (2005)


June 15, 2010 - 1:44pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Agnes Bruckner, Bijou Phillips, D.J. Cotrona, Jim Gillespie, Jonathan Jackson, killer, Laura Ramsey, Louisiana, Meagan Good, Rick Cramer, slasher, underrated, Venom

6.3
Your rating: None Average: 6.3 (10 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Jim Gillespie
Cast: 
Agnes Bruckner, Jonathan Jackson, Laura Ramsey, D.J. Cotrona, Rick Cramer, Meagan Good, Bijou Phillips


Jim Gillespie returns to the horror genre after I Know What You Did Last Summer with Venom, and not since Jeepers Creepers had I been this enthused about a horror icon, but then again we haven't had a supernatural killer since Jeepers anyway. What? You've never heard of this? No surprise, considering Dimension Films only released it to 489 theaters. They didn't even start promoting it or even bothered updating the official site until the last week of its release; typical for Dimension since they barely promote any of their films now-a-days.

Versus (2000)


July 30, 2009 - 12:36am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, Asian Horror, Ayumi Yoshihara, blood, cheesy, Chieko Misaka, comedic, gore, Hideo Sakaki, Hoshimi Asai, japan, japanese, Kazuhito Ohba, Kenji Matsuda, martial arts, Minoru Matsumoto, Motonari Komiya, Ryosuke Watabe, Ryuhei Kitamura, Shoichiro Masumoto, swordplay, Tak Sakaguchi, Takehiro Katayama, Toshiro Kamiaka, versus, yakuza, Yuichiro Arai, Yukihito Tanikado, Zombie Movies

6.07692
Your rating: None Average: 6.1 (13 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Ryuhei Kitamura
Cast: 
Tak Sakaguchi, Hideo Sakaki, Chieko Misaka, Kenji Matsuda, Yuichiro Arai, Minoru Matsumoto, Kazuhito Ohba, Takehiro Katayama, Ayumi Yoshihara, Toshiro Kamiaka, Shoichiro Masumoto, Yukihito Tanikado, Hoshimi Asai, Ryosuke Watabe, Motonari Komiya


I remember reading about this movie online a while back and thinking that it sounded very cool. I never once thought that I'd be able to get my hands on it, but I'm sure as hell glad that I did, cuz this movie kicks ass. This is actually a sequel to a short direct-to-video called Down To Hell that Japanese director Ryuhei Kitamura did back in ’97. Now with a bigger budget he’s able to create the vision that he wanted to do with the first film. In fact, director Ryuhei Kitamura actually brought the cast and crew back after the film's release to create an additional 10-or-so-minutes of footage. Apparently he felt certain scenes could have used more gore and action and respectfully-so.

Vertige (2009)


December 14, 2009 - 3:33am | daylynn4ever
  Tags: Abel Ferry, adventure, france, french, high lane, rock climbing, survival, survival horror, vertige

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Abel Ferry
Cast: 
Justin Blanckaert, Nicolas Giraud, Raphaël Lenglet, Johan Libéreau, Fanny Valette


Everyone has their own ways of getting their adrenaline fix. For some it’s just ringing the door bell and running or making a random phone call and hanging up. For more addicted adrenaline junkies, however, they look for more exciting ways to get their high. Thus, we have the setup for this little French horror film Vertige, which translated to English is "High Lane".

Visible Secret (2001)


September 30, 2009 - 6:37pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Ann Hui, Asian Horror, Eason Chan, ghosts, hong kong, James Wong, Qi Shu, visible secret

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ann Hui
Cast: 
Qi Shu, Eason Chan, James Wong


The plot for this movie may sound a bit silly, but it's far from it. The film has great visuals and haunting music. I loved the atmosphere and the directing. It also has a really cool opening scene. The film starts off with a bunch of people waiting to cross a busy street. One guy gets pushed and accidentally falls into the street where there's oncoming traffic. Next thing you know it, he gets himself decapitated and begins walking around the street without a head. I thought the effects for that scene were sweet and it was funny to watch the guy stumbling without his head.

Visible Secret 2 (2002)


November 20, 2009 - 3:27am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Abe Kwong, Asian Horror, Chai Ping Chan, Cherrie Ying, comedic, Eason Chan, ghosts, hong kong, Jo Kuk, Roger Kwok, spirits, visible secret

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Abe Kwong
Cast: 
Eason Chan, Jo Kuk, Cherrie Ying, Roger Kwok, Chai Ping Chan


This is the "sequel" to the first Visible Secret film, which I actually enjoyed. They really have nothing much to do with each other except for the fact that the same main actor from the first movie plays the main guy in this movie, but they are both different characters. This time around a man begins to see ghosts after recovering from an accident. Aside from seeing ghosts, he begins noticing his wife acting strangely and comes to the conclusion that she is possessed. He now has to find the source of the possession in order to save her.

Visiting Hours (1981)


February 5, 2010 - 12:27pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Harvey Atkin, Helen Hughes, Jean-Claude Lord, Lee Grant, Lenore Zann, Linda Purl, Michael Ironside, Michael J. Reynolds, suspense, underrated, Visiting Hours, William Shatner

5.25
Your rating: None Average: 5.3 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Jean-Claude Lord
Cast: 
Michael Ironside, Lee Grant, Linda Purl, William Shatner, Lenore Zann, Harvey Atkin, Helen Hughes, Michael J. Reynolds


This is actually a movie a lot of members on my message board recommended, so I looked for it on my trip to the local video store. Surprisingly they had it in the original oversized VHS case. I checked the movie out when I got home and thought it was very good from the beginning to the end.

Voice (2005)


September 6, 2009 - 7:17pm | AnthroFred
  Tags: Asian Horror, ghosts, Ik-hwan Choe, korean, school, south korea, students, voice, voice letter, whispering corridors

5.33333
Your rating: None Average: 5.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Ik-hwan Choe
Cast: 
Ji-hye Seo, Hyeon-kyeong Lim, Ok-bin Kim, Seo-hyeong Kim

Voice is the fourth entry in the very successful "Whispering Corridors" series and it is definitely a big improvement from the last movie, "Wishing Stairs". I don't really know why the four movies are a series since there seems to be nothing attaching them to one another. There's a different cast and a different story for each movie. The only thing that they all have in common is that they all take place in an all girls school. There is also the fact that they all begin as dramas and don't become horror flicks until the last couple of minutes but this is a very common phenomenon in the horror genre these days.

Voices (2007)


September 30, 2009 - 7:52pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: After Dark Films, Asian Horror, blood, Gi-woong Park, gore, Jin-seo Yun, Ki-hwan Oh, Ki-woo Lee, korean, someone behind you, south korea, voices

7.75
Your rating: None Average: 7.8 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ki-hwan Oh
Cast: 
Jin-seo Yun, Gi-woong Park, Ki-woo Lee


This marks director Ki-hwan Oh's first stab at the genre, after delivering the tear-jerking romance-drama Last Present in 2001 and the mediocre comedy-romance Art of Seduction in '05. South Korea isn't the most original country for horror, as they like to borrow from other successful countries (namely Japan) for their genre efforts, but occasionally they'll dish out a quality film, whether it's original or just effective in the scares department. Either way, they're still doing a better job than Hollywood, which is currently bombarding us with one pointless remake after another (some of which are from South Korea), but I digress.

Wake Wood (2011)


April 27, 2011 - 4:24pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aidan Gillen, Amelia Crowley, Brendan McCarthy, Briain Gleeson, Dan Gordon, David Keating, Ella Connolly, Eva Birthistle, evil kid, Hammer Films, killer kid, pegan ritual, Ruth McCabe, small town, Timothy Spall, Wake Wood

3.5
Your rating: None Average: 3.5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
David Keating
Cast: 
Timothy Spall, Aidan Gillen, Eva Birthistle, Ruth McCabe, Briain Gleeson, Amelia Crowley, Dan Gordon, Ella Connolly

Wake Wood is the start of a handful of flicks coming out of the return of Hammer Films. Much like the straight-to-DVD effort, The Resident, this flick takes a fairly standard and over-used story and adds little bits of creativity here and there, resulting in a decent, but still highly predictable horror pic.

The movie tells the story of a couple that relocates to a small quiet town called Wake Wood after their young daughter is savagely killed by a dog. While driving home late one night their car runs into a bit of trouble and they find themselves stranded at the side of the road. Spotting a nearby farmhouse, they make their way to it in hopes of getting a hand from the locals. Instead, they witness a strange ritual practice that seemingly involves the resurrection of a loved one. It's not long before the couple reaches out to the townspeople about possibly bringing back their daughter..

LATEST VIDEOS

UHM PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.