SEARCH THE DATABASE

Wake Wood (2011)


April 27, 2011 - 3:24pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aidan Gillen, Amelia Crowley, Brendan McCarthy, Briain Gleeson, Dan Gordon, David Keating, Ella Connolly, Eva Birthistle, evil kid, Hammer Films, killer kid, pegan ritual, Ruth McCabe, small town, Timothy Spall, Wake Wood

3.5
Your rating: None Average: 3.5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
David Keating
Cast: 
Timothy Spall, Aidan Gillen, Eva Birthistle, Ruth McCabe, Briain Gleeson, Amelia Crowley, Dan Gordon, Ella Connolly

Wake Wood is the start of a handful of flicks coming out of the return of Hammer Films. Much like the straight-to-DVD effort, The Resident, this flick takes a fairly standard and over-used story and adds little bits of creativity here and there, resulting in a decent, but still highly predictable horror pic.

The movie tells the story of a couple that relocates to a small quiet town called Wake Wood after their young daughter is savagely killed by a dog. While driving home late one night their car runs into a bit of trouble and they find themselves stranded at the side of the road. Spotting a nearby farmhouse, they make their way to it in hopes of getting a hand from the locals. Instead, they witness a strange ritual practice that seemingly involves the resurrection of a loved one. It's not long before the couple reaches out to the townspeople about possibly bringing back their daughter..

Warning Sign (1985)


July 11, 2009 - 3:55am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Cynthia Carle, G.W. Bailey, Hal Barwood, Jeffrey DeMunn, Jerry Hardin, Kathleen Quinlan, Richard A. Dysart, Rick Rossovich, Sam Waterston, Scott Paulin, underrated, Yaphet Kotto, Zombie Movies

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Hal Barwood
Cast: 
Sam Waterston, Kathleen Quinlan, Yaphet Kotto, Jeffrey DeMunn, Richard A. Dysart, G.W. Bailey, Jerry Hardin, Rick Rossovich, Cynthia Carle, Scott Paulin


I first heard about this flick after someone on the message board mentioned it. Being a fan of 80's horror flicks, I jumped at the chance to get my hands on a VHS ex-rental. I watched it late one night and really got into it. It's pretty slow in the beginning but once the infected people start showing their symptoms it really starts to kick.

We Are Still Here (2015)


June 1, 2015 - 8:45pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Andrew Sensenig, Barbara Crampton, Dark Sky Films, ghosts, haunted house, haunting, Larry Fessenden, Lisa Marie, period piece, Snowfort Pictures, Ted Geoghegan, We Are Still Here

7.2
Your rating: None Average: 7.2 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Ted Geoghegan
Cast: 
Andrew Sensenig, Barbara Crampton, Lisa Marie, Larry Fessenden


There's one thing that the genre is definitely never in short of and that's haunted house flicks. Sometimes, however, a movie comes out that takes the standard tropes and makes it their own. That's how I felt about We Are Still Here--a surprisingly good ghost flick that delivers the creeps as well as the gore.

Writer Ted Geoghegan makes his directorial debut with this pic that stars genre vet Barbara Crampton as a grieving mother who moves into an old secluded home in the quiet New England countryside with her husband Paul. Having recently lost their teenage son to a car accident, the couple hopes that a change of scenery will do them some good. Unfortunately the local town harbors a dark secret that's tied to their new home, which also houses some vengeful spirits that will seemingly stop at nothing to consume the latest owners.

We Are What We Are (2013)


January 9, 2017 - 7:18pm | Ryan Tutolo

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Jim Mickle
Cast: 
Bill Sage, Ambyr Childers, Julia Garner, Michael Parks


We are What We Are is a remake of a 2010 Mexican film that goes by the same title or Somos lo que hay in Spanish. It’s a movie about the Parker family and opens with the mother heading into town then having a seizure which ends up with her headbutting a pipe, causing her to drown in a puddle. All of the family responsibilities then fall to the eldest daughter, Iris (Ambyr Childers). Her younger sister, Rose (Julia Garner) helps with the duties that include cleaning, watching the little brother, and murdering kidnap victims and eating them. Hot on the tails of the family is Dr. Barrow (Michael Parks) who is searching for his missing daughter. As the story unfolds we learn the history of the family and it all comes to a visceral conclusion as everyone’s motives and repercussions of those come to a head.

Weels of Terror (1990)


June 15, 2010 - 12:49pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, Carlos Cervantes, Christopher Cain, evil car, Joanna Cassidy, made for tv, Marcie Leeds, suspense, Wheels of Terror

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Christopher Cain
Cast: 
Joanna Cassidy, Marcie Leeds, Carlos Cervantes


I remember seeing this film with my mom a long time ago while it aired on television. I thought it was okay back then and viewing it now I noticed many of its faults. At first I didn't remember exactly if the car was evil or if someone was really driving the car -- pretty obvious which it was at this point.

The plot is about a mysterious black car thats been seen cruising around local schools with the intent on abducting little girls. A mom, who is also the school bus driver and whose daughter goes to the school, happens to catch on with what the black car is up to and after her daughter is taken away she goes on a high-speed chase with the car to get back her daughter.

Wer (2013)


August 23, 2014 - 2:51pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Brian J. O'Connor, FilmDistrict, found footage, Incentive Filmed Entertainment, Matthew Peterman, Prototype, Sierra/Affinity, Simon Quarterman, Vik Sahay, Wer, werewolf, William Brent Bell

7.69231
Your rating: None Average: 7.7 (13 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
William Brent Bell
Cast: 
A.J. Cook, Brian J. O'Connor, Simon Quarterman, Vik Sahay


As much as I love the werewolf sub-genre, there just aren't that many good films. Even werewolves in general haven't had the best of luck in recent efforts, appearing as oversized dogs in the HBO series True Blood or the terrible Twilight franchise. At least they were decent in the Underworld movies (when they weren't duel wielding guns or created with poor CG). One of the many positive things I found in Wer are its little use of CG and its incredibly basic werewolf design. It's just sad that the film's distributor is simply dumping it on DVD, because it's one of the best werewolf flicks I've seen in years.

When a Stranger Calls (1979)


December 8, 2010 - 10:59pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 70's, Carol Kane, Charles Durning, Colleen Dewhurst, Fred Walton, killer, Tony Beckley, Wen a Stranger Calls

4.5
Your rating: None Average: 4.5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Fred Walton
Cast: 
Charles Durning, Carol Kane, Colleen Dewhurst, Tony Beckley

Whispering Corridors (1998)


November 20, 2009 - 3:14am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Asian Horror, ghosts, korean, revenge, school, south korea, spirits, students, whispering corridors

7.66667
Your rating: None Average: 7.7 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Ki-Hyung Park
Cast: 
Se-yeon Choi, Gyu-ri Kim, Min-jeong Kim, Yu-seok Kim, Mi-yeon Lee


I've wanted to check this flick for some time, but it was always so hard to get a hold of it for some reason. I read somewhere the around the time of the movie's release that the censors wanted it banned, but it was released anyway and became somewhat of a success in South Korea. I saw the other films that were similar-themed to this one and also considered to be sequels: Momento Mori and Wishing Stairs. I heard that the first was the "scariest" so I gave it a shot, and found it to be rather disappointing. The movie has an interesting story, but it's too slow and the scares were lacking.

Who Can Kill a Child? (1976)


November 23, 2009 - 8:55pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 70's, based on book, island, island of the damned, killer kids, Narciso Ibáñez Serrador, small town, spain, who can kill a child

5.8
Your rating: None Average: 5.8 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Narciso Ibáñez Serrador
Cast: 
Lewis Fiander, Prunella Ransome


Before Stephen King's Children of the Corn made killer children so famous within the genre, there was a little Spanish film called Who Can Kill a Child? Although there are very few good pics in the killer-kids sub-genre I'm still a fan of it, and this movie was something that I've been meaning to get around to watching for a few years now. I finally found the time to actually sit down and watch it and I have to say that I really wish I had seen it a lot sooner, because this was a great addition to normally bland and cliched sub-genre.

Also known as Island of the Damned, the flick follows a married couple vacationing to a small undocumented Spanish island, which is supposedly only inhabited by a mere 200-or-so people. In hopes of getting away from the big city, the couple soon discovers that the small town within the island is a little too peaceful, as there appears to be literally no one there, with the exception of a small group of kids.

Wild Zero (2000)


July 3, 2009 - 5:37am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: aliens, Asian Horror, blood, comedic, gore, Guitar Wolf, japan, japanese, rock 'n roll, sci-fi, Tetsuro Takeuchi, Zombie Movies

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Tetsuro Takeuchi
Cast: 
Guitar Wolf, Drum Wolf, Bass Wolf, Masashi Endô

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.