SEARCH THE DATABASE

Willow Creek (2013)


October 8, 2014 - 7:14pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aimee Pierson, Alexie Gilmore, Big Foot, Bobcat Goldthwait, Bryce Johnson, camping, creature feature, found footage, POS, POS movie, pov, Willow Creek

4.55556
Your rating: None Average: 4.6 (9 votes)

Rating #: 
3/10
Director: 
Bobcat Goldthwait
Cast: 
Alexie Gilmore, Bryce Johnson


After years of making comedy-dramas, comedian-turned-director Bobcat Goldthwait ventures into horror territory with Willow Creek--yet another found footage feature to add to the long list of recent efforts. I'm no stranger to Goldthwait's previous films, so I went in with a very curious open mind, wondering what the man could bring to the genre. As it turns out, he brings a whole lot of nothing, which is one way to describe what happens in the movie--NOTHING.

Witching and Bitching (2013)


February 12, 2014 - 11:47pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Alex de la Iglesia Jorge, Carmen Maura, Carolina Bang, comedic, curse, Enrique Cerezo, foriegn, Guerricaechevarría, Hugo Silva, Jaime Ordonez, La Fabrique de Films, Las Brujas de Zugarramurdi, Mario Casas, Pepon Nieto, Secun de la Rosa, spain, spanish, Terele Pavez, witches, Witching and Bitching

8
Your rating: None Average: 8 (11 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Alex de la Iglesia
Cast: 
Mario Casas, Hugo Silva, Carmen Maura, Terele Pavez, Carolina Bang, Secun de la Rosa, Pepon Nieto, Jaime Ordonez


This marks the latest film from Spanish director Alex de la Iglesia (The Last Circus, The Perfect Crime, Common Wealth) whom is no stranger to mixing comedy with horror and being a fan of the man's work I was looking forward to this. Also, specifically because we don't see movies involving witches much in the genre nowadays. Luckily Witching and Bitching didn't disappoint, especially when it came down to the insane and highly entertaining climax.

The story revolves around a small group of criminals (and a young boy) fleeing from the city after robbing a jewelry store. They somehow make their way to a seemingly unknown small town in the middle of nowhere full of your standard assembly of strange locals and also just so happens to be home of hundreds of witches. Unluckily for these guys the witches have been looking for a young boy and other sacrifices to complete a special ritual that they can now proceed with. 

Wolf Creek (2005)


September 29, 2010 - 11:36pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aussie, australia, australian, based on true story, Cassandra Magrath, Greg McLean, John Jarratt, Kestie Morassi, Nathan Phillips, outback, realism, realistic, survival, survival horror, Wolf Creek

7.66667
Your rating: None Average: 7.7 (9 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Greg McLean
Cast: 
John Jarratt, Cassandra Magrath, Kestie Morassi, Nathan Phillips


This film came out some months back in the UK and is actually getting the DVD treatment in January, while we in the states are barely getting it in the theaters. This is a film that plays on the typical theme of city folk in the wrong place with the wrong people, and instead of going through the same-old crazed inbred locals wanting to slice-and-dice'em (and possibly even eat'em), we get more of a twisted and possibly true scenario involving a few people just tryin' to stay alive against a seemingly normal looking individual--this is where the film becomes unique.

Hell, we don't even get into the "action" until almost an hour into it--mostly relying on character development, setting the scene, and added suspense. According to writer/director Greg McLean the film is based on actual cases, one of which went to trial recently, so naturally these "true events" influenced the script. Simply put, with Wolf Creek we get a more realistic look at survival horror.

Wolf Creek 2 (2013)


May 1, 2014 - 11:50pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aussie, australia, australian, Darclight, Greg McLean, John Jarratt, killer, Philipe Klaus, realism, realistic, Ryan Corr, sequel, Shannon Ashlyn, Wolf Creek

7.4
Your rating: None Average: 7.4 (15 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Greg McLean
Cast: 
John Jarratt, Ryan Corr, Shannon Ashlyn, Philipe Klaus


Wolf Creek hit the scene in 2005 with mixed reviews. Despite being a little slow paced, I personally liked the film and it's somewhat realistic approach towards survival horror. A sequel had been long in development for some time and after some bumps along the way our favorite Aussie killer is finally back in Wolf Creek 2--a surprisingly entertaining sequel that succeeds in certain aspects that its predecessor failed in.

The film wastes no time kicking into gear as Mick Taylor (John Jarratt) mercilessly kills a couple police officers in the first 10-minutes. That pretty much sets the tone and pacing for the rest of the movie, which doesn't really let up until the final act. The story shifts focus a couple times, but it mainly revolves around a young British guy who finds himself running for his life against the notorious killer, who spends a majority of the flick hunting him down.

Wolves (2014)


October 28, 2014 - 8:00pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Crystal Sky Pictures, Dark Hero Studios, David Hayter, Elena Satine, Jason Momoa, Merritt Patterson, Ray Stevenson, Slaughter's Road, Stephen McHattie, werewolf, wolves

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
David Hayter
Cast: 
Jason Momoa, Merritt Patterson, Lucas Till, Kaitlyn Leeb, Adam Butcher, Stephen McHattie, Melanie Scrofano, John Pyper-Ferguson


Video game fans may recognize writer/director David Hayter as the voice of Solid Snake from the Metal Gear Solid series, while comic fans may also remember him as scripting the first couple X-Men movies, so either way chances are you may be familiar with the man's work in one form or another. Naturally already established in the action front, Wolves is his surprising detour into the horror genre. Of course the movie still isn't without its action bits, which actually blend well with the story. Honestly I'm just glad the wolves didn't turn into oversized dogs or duel wield guns like what's been overpopulating the sub-genre as of late.

World War Z (2013)


September 11, 2013 - 4:34pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, Anthony Mackie, based on book, Brad Pitt, Bryan Cranston, David Morse, Drew Goddard, Ed Harris, Elyes Gabel, James Badge Dale, Julia Levy-Boeken, Marc Forster, Matthew Fox, Matthew Michael Carnahan, Max Brooks, Mireille Enos, Plan B Entertainment, Zombie Movies

5.25
Your rating: None Average: 5.3 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Marc Forster
Cast: 
Brad Pitt, Mireille Enos, James Badge Dale, Julia Levy-Boeken, Elyes Gabel, Anthony Mackie, Bryan Cranston, David Morse


I'm ashamed to admit that I've never read the book that this film is based on, however I feel had I done so I probably would have a slightly different opinion on the movie. Either way, despite much of the production issues and the slack it got for being completely different from the source material, I personally found the flick rather entertaining. While the book takes place years after the zombie war and recounts key events that occurred during the period, this movie is told as it happens. We follow Brad Pitt as a father looking to get his family out of the city and in safe hands, but in order to do so he has to go back to his old job working at the U.N. and investigate the source of the outbreak, in hopes of possibly finding some sort of cure or prevent it from spreading further.

Wrong Turn (2003)


July 29, 2009 - 6:10am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: blood, Desmond Harrington, Eliza Dushku, Emmanuelle Chriqui, gore, inbred, Jeremy Sisto, Rob Schmidt, woods, wrong turn

8
Your rating: None Average: 8 (41 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Rob Schmidt
Cast: 
Desmond Harrington, Eliza Dushku, Emmanuelle Chriqui, Jeremy Sisto


I was lucky enough to go to a screening for this film a day before its release. I've never been to a screening before, so it was a pretty interesting experience, especially since I really enjoyed the movie. Before I talk more about how I thought, let’s get to the story... A man passing through gets into a small accident with a group of five friends in a remote wooded area in West Virginia. They go for help only to discover a small isolated home in the woods, which they later learn is inhabited by a family of deformed cannibalistic inbreeds.

Wrong Turn 2: Dead End (2007)


July 29, 2009 - 6:13am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aleksa Palladino, blood, Crystal Lowe, Erica Leershen, gore, Henry Rollins, inbred, Joe Lynch, Ken Krizinger, Matthew Currie Holmes, Steve Braun, Texas Battle, woods, wrong turn

7.22222
Your rating: None Average: 7.2 (18 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Joe Lynch
Cast: 
Henry Rollins, Texas Battle, Crystal Lowe, Erica Leershen, Aleksa Palladino, Matthew Currie Holmes, Ken Krizinger, Steve Braun

Wrong Turn 3: Left For Dead (2009)


October 14, 2009 - 4:13pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: blood, Declan O'Brien, DVD, family, gore, inbred, survival, Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation, woods, wrong turn

3.95833
Your rating: None Average: 4 (24 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Declan O'Brien
Cast: 
Janet Montgomery, Tamer Hassan, Chucky Venice, Mac McDonald, Jake Curran, Mike Straub, Tom Frederic, Gil Kolirin, Tom Mackey


In 2003 we were given Wrong Turn from director Rob Schmidt, which was a great throwback to old backwoods horror. Some years later we were given the lower-budgeted sequel, which although paled in comparison to the original, still managed to be a decent flick and possibly even upped the gore. Now in 2009 we're given the even lower-budgeted Wrong Turn 3: Left For Dead from SyFy movie extraordinaire Declan O'Brien. Him alone should have been an indication as to what us fans could expect from the lackluster, and hopefully final, installment in the series.

Wrong Turn 4: Bloody Beginnings (2011)


October 2, 2011 - 5:47pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, Canada, cannibalism, cannibals, Daniel Skene, Declan O'Brien, DVD, Jennifer Pudavick, prequel, sanatorium, Scott Johnson, Sean Skene, Tenika Davis, Winnipeg, winter, wrong turn, Wrong Turn 4

6.69565
Your rating: None Average: 6.7 (23 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Declan O'Brien
Cast: 
Sean Skene, Daniel Skene, Scott Johnson, Jennifer Pudavick, Tenika Davis


Despite the previous sequel being a waste of time, FOX decided to move forward with another installment in the franchise; even giving previous director Declan O'Brien another shot at it. Since all the key members of infamous inbred family have been killed off, they decided to make the fourth addition a prequel, giving the filmmakers an excellent excuse to bring back the beloved "Three Finger", "One Eye" and "Saw-Tooth." Although Bloody Beginnings is a surprising improvement over the third, it's still far from a good movie.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.