SEARCH THE DATABASE

Wolf Creek 2 (2013)


May 2, 2014 - 12:50am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aussie, australia, australian, Darclight, Greg McLean, John Jarratt, killer, Philipe Klaus, realism, realistic, Ryan Corr, sequel, Shannon Ashlyn, Wolf Creek

7.4
Your rating: None Average: 7.4 (15 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Greg McLean
Cast: 
John Jarratt, Ryan Corr, Shannon Ashlyn, Philipe Klaus


Wolf Creek hit the scene in 2005 with mixed reviews. Despite being a little slow paced, I personally liked the film and it's somewhat realistic approach towards survival horror. A sequel had been long in development for some time and after some bumps along the way our favorite Aussie killer is finally back in Wolf Creek 2--a surprisingly entertaining sequel that succeeds in certain aspects that its predecessor failed in.

The film wastes no time kicking into gear as Mick Taylor (John Jarratt) mercilessly kills a couple police officers in the first 10-minutes. That pretty much sets the tone and pacing for the rest of the movie, which doesn't really let up until the final act. The story shifts focus a couple times, but it mainly revolves around a young British guy who finds himself running for his life against the notorious killer, who spends a majority of the flick hunting him down.

Wolves (2014)


October 28, 2014 - 9:00pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Crystal Sky Pictures, Dark Hero Studios, David Hayter, Elena Satine, Jason Momoa, Merritt Patterson, Ray Stevenson, Slaughter's Road, Stephen McHattie, werewolf, wolves

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
David Hayter
Cast: 
Jason Momoa, Merritt Patterson, Lucas Till, Kaitlyn Leeb, Adam Butcher, Stephen McHattie, Melanie Scrofano, John Pyper-Ferguson


Video game fans may recognize writer/director David Hayter as the voice of Solid Snake from the Metal Gear Solid series, while comic fans may also remember him as scripting the first couple X-Men movies, so either way chances are you may be familiar with the man's work in one form or another. Naturally already established in the action front, Wolves is his surprising detour into the horror genre. Of course the movie still isn't without its action bits, which actually blend well with the story. Honestly I'm just glad the wolves didn't turn into oversized dogs or duel wield guns like what's been overpopulating the sub-genre as of late.

World War Z (2013)


September 11, 2013 - 5:34pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, Anthony Mackie, based on book, Brad Pitt, Bryan Cranston, David Morse, Drew Goddard, Ed Harris, Elyes Gabel, James Badge Dale, Julia Levy-Boeken, Marc Forster, Matthew Fox, Matthew Michael Carnahan, Max Brooks, Mireille Enos, Plan B Entertainment, Zombie Movies

5.25
Your rating: None Average: 5.3 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Marc Forster
Cast: 
Brad Pitt, Mireille Enos, James Badge Dale, Julia Levy-Boeken, Elyes Gabel, Anthony Mackie, Bryan Cranston, David Morse


I'm ashamed to admit that I've never read the book that this film is based on, however I feel had I done so I probably would have a slightly different opinion on the movie. Either way, despite much of the production issues and the slack it got for being completely different from the source material, I personally found the flick rather entertaining. While the book takes place years after the zombie war and recounts key events that occurred during the period, this movie is told as it happens. We follow Brad Pitt as a father looking to get his family out of the city and in safe hands, but in order to do so he has to go back to his old job working at the U.N. and investigate the source of the outbreak, in hopes of possibly finding some sort of cure or prevent it from spreading further.

Wrong Turn (2003)


July 29, 2009 - 7:10am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: blood, Desmond Harrington, Eliza Dushku, Emmanuelle Chriqui, gore, inbred, Jeremy Sisto, Rob Schmidt, woods, wrong turn

8
Your rating: None Average: 8 (41 votes)

Rating #: 
8/10
Director: 
Rob Schmidt
Cast: 
Desmond Harrington, Eliza Dushku, Emmanuelle Chriqui, Jeremy Sisto


I was lucky enough to go to a screening for this film a day before its release. I've never been to a screening before, so it was a pretty interesting experience, especially since I really enjoyed the movie. Before I talk more about how I thought, let’s get to the story... A man passing through gets into a small accident with a group of five friends in a remote wooded area in West Virginia. They go for help only to discover a small isolated home in the woods, which they later learn is inhabited by a family of deformed cannibalistic inbreeds.

Wrong Turn 2: Dead End (2007)


July 29, 2009 - 7:13am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Aleksa Palladino, blood, Crystal Lowe, Erica Leershen, gore, Henry Rollins, inbred, Joe Lynch, Ken Krizinger, Matthew Currie Holmes, Steve Braun, Texas Battle, woods, wrong turn

7.22222
Your rating: None Average: 7.2 (18 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Joe Lynch
Cast: 
Henry Rollins, Texas Battle, Crystal Lowe, Erica Leershen, Aleksa Palladino, Matthew Currie Holmes, Ken Krizinger, Steve Braun

Wrong Turn 3: Left For Dead (2009)


October 14, 2009 - 5:13pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: blood, Declan O'Brien, DVD, family, gore, inbred, survival, Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation, woods, wrong turn

3.95833
Your rating: None Average: 4 (24 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Declan O'Brien
Cast: 
Janet Montgomery, Tamer Hassan, Chucky Venice, Mac McDonald, Jake Curran, Mike Straub, Tom Frederic, Gil Kolirin, Tom Mackey


In 2003 we were given Wrong Turn from director Rob Schmidt, which was a great throwback to old backwoods horror. Some years later we were given the lower-budgeted sequel, which although paled in comparison to the original, still managed to be a decent flick and possibly even upped the gore. Now in 2009 we're given the even lower-budgeted Wrong Turn 3: Left For Dead from SyFy movie extraordinaire Declan O'Brien. Him alone should have been an indication as to what us fans could expect from the lackluster, and hopefully final, installment in the series.

Wrong Turn 4: Bloody Beginnings (2011)


October 2, 2011 - 6:47pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, Canada, cannibalism, cannibals, Daniel Skene, Declan O'Brien, DVD, Jennifer Pudavick, prequel, sanatorium, Scott Johnson, Sean Skene, Tenika Davis, Winnipeg, winter, wrong turn, Wrong Turn 4

6.69565
Your rating: None Average: 6.7 (23 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Declan O'Brien
Cast: 
Sean Skene, Daniel Skene, Scott Johnson, Jennifer Pudavick, Tenika Davis


Despite the previous sequel being a waste of time, FOX decided to move forward with another installment in the franchise; even giving previous director Declan O'Brien another shot at it. Since all the key members of infamous inbred family have been killed off, they decided to make the fourth addition a prequel, giving the filmmakers an excellent excuse to bring back the beloved "Three Finger", "One Eye" and "Saw-Tooth." Although Bloody Beginnings is a surprising improvement over the third, it's still far from a good movie.

Wrong Turn 5: Bloodlines (2012)


October 20, 2012 - 7:54pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, Amy Lennox, backwoods, backwoods horror, Camilla Arfwedson, cannibalism, cannibals, Declan O’Brien, Doug Bradley, Duncan Wisbey, DVD, inbred, Kyle Redmond-Jones, Oliver Hoare, Paul Luebke, Peter Brooke, Roxanne McKee, sequel, Simon Ginty, survival, survival horror, wrong turn

5.77778
Your rating: None Average: 5.8 (27 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Declan O’Brien
Cast: 
Doug Bradley, Roxanne McKee, Camilla Arfwedson, Simon Ginty, Oliver Hoare, Amy Lennox, Paul Luebke, Duncan Wisbey, Kyle Redmond-Jones, Peter Brooke, Bobi Dilev, Radoslav Purvanov, Georgi Karlukovski


Another year, another shitty unnecessary Wrong Turn sequel--that's pretty much how I feel about the franchise at this point. The first two films were enjoyable, while the three that followed were pretty much a waste of time. Though, I'll admit that the previous flick had its moments. Despite the fact that Declan O'Brien wrote and directed the worst of the films, the studio keeps bringing him back for more. Such is the case with Bloodlines, yet another worthless installment in the needless straight-to-DVD Wrong Turn series.

The story takes place after the events of the previous movie, meaning it's still a prequel and gives an excuse to once again bring back the same old inbred mutants we've grown tired of seeing. We follow a typical group of 20-somethings as they head to the "Mountain Man Festival" at a small West Virginia town for some boozing, drugging, and sexing. Unfortunately for them, they nearly hit a man along the way. While attempting to help the man off the road, he brandishes a knife in an attempt to take out one of the guys, but a police car arrives just in time to take the man into custody.

Wrong Turn 6: Last Resort (2014)


September 17, 2014 - 7:11pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Anthony Ilott, Aqueela Zoll, backwoods, Billy Ashworth, cannibals, Chris Jarvis, Fox Home Entertainment, Frank H. Woodward, Harry Belcher, inbred, Joe Gaminara, Luke Cousins, Raymond Steers, Rollo Skinner, Roxanne Pallett, Sadie Katz, sequel, survival, Tabitha Luke Eardley, Valeri Milev, wrong turn, Wrong Turn 6

6.63636
Your rating: None Average: 6.6 (33 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Valeri Milev
Cast: 
Sadie Katz, Aqueela Zoll, Anthony Ilott, Chris Jarvis, Rollo Skinner, Billy Ashworth, Joe Gaminara, Harry Belcher, Raymond Steers, Luke Cousins, Tabitha Luke Eardley, Roxanne Pallett


The franchise that simply refuses to die continues on with Last Resort-- another entry that nobody asked for. Who knows WTF is happening with the Wrong Turn movies at this point; I mean, there's barely any continuity and the timeline is just nonexistent, especially after having watched this latest installment. Despite being labeled part 6 in the series, it's actually a prequel/reboot of sorts, as the filmmakers wanted to "head in a new direction" with the storyline.  Unfortunately the only thing new this had to offer was some idiotic plotline that involved the inbred family living forever (*rolls eyes*).

XX (2017)


February 25, 2017 - 3:20pm | FrighT MasteR

3
Your rating: None Average: 3 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Annie Clark, Karyn Kusama, Roxanne Benjamin, Jovanka Vuckovic
Cast: 
Natalie Brown, Mike Doyle, Christina Kirk, Kyle Allen, Peyton Kennedy, Peter DaCunha, Ron Lea, Jonathan Watton, Lisa Renee Pitts, Morgan Peter Brown, Melanie Lynskey, Breeda Wool


XX is an all female horror anthology that was originally supposed to feature a few more notable names like Jennifer Lynch (Chained) and Mary Harron (American Psycho), but they dropped out for whatever reason. The project sounded promising and even the trailer made it look potentially good, but sadly that's far from the truth, as it turned out to be one of the weakest anthologies I've seen in years (though I don't watch many anthologies). Here's a rundown on all the segments featured in the movie:

THE BOX (by Jovanka Vuckovic)


LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.