SEARCH THE DATABASE

Bloody New Year (1987)


October 22, 2009 - 9:02pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, bloody new year, Catherine Roman, cheesy, Colin Heywood, Julian Ronnie, Mark Powley, Nikki Brooks, Norman J. Warren, Steve Wilsher, Suzy Aitchison

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Norman J. Warren
Cast: 
Suzy Aitchison, Nikki Brooks, Colin Heywood, Mark Powley, Catherine Roman, Julian Ronnie, Steve Wilsher


I decided to check this flick after some people on my message board said it wasn't too bad, but clearly those nameless individuals were on something at the time, because this far from being a good movie. Sure it's interesting and has a somewhat original plot coming from the decade, but that doesn't make up for its lack of budget, lame acting and incredibly bad choreography. I found this to be more of a comedy than a horror flick, because there was scene after scene of hilariously bad sequences, and not to mention the fact that they reused some of the same frames during certain scenes to make it seem like more was happening than it really was. Ah, the 80s.

Blue Monkey (1987)


October 19, 2009 - 8:51pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, blue monkey, cheesy, giant, hospital, insects, Steve Railsback, William Fruet

6.5
Your rating: None Average: 6.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
William Fruet
Cast: 
Ivan E. Roth, Steve Railsback, Gwynyth Walsh, Don Lake, Helen Hughes, Sandy Webster, Susan Anspach

Bodycount (1984)


February 5, 2010 - 11:13am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Bodycount, camping, Ruggero Deodato, teens

4.5
Your rating: None Average: 4.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Ruggero Deodato
Cast: 
Andrew Lederer, Cynthia Thompson, John Steiner


Well this was an okay film. It wasn't boring and had its cool parts, but in the end, it's just another slasher. They added a few twists here and there, but they were all rather predictable. I predicted who the killer would be in the first 5 minutes of the film. I am still kind of confused by how it ended though. It starts off when the regular group of teens goes to an old camp that's supposedly haunted. They end up picking up some other kid in a uniform who happens to be the son of the owner of the old camp. Yadda, yadda, anyway they end up dying.

Bood Beach (1981)


June 15, 2010 - 11:41am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, beach, Blood Beach, Burt Young, campy, cheesy, Darrell Fetty, David Huffman, Jeffrey Bloom, John Saxon, Lena Pousette, Marianna Hill, Otis Young, Stefan Gierasch

5
Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Jeffrey Bloom
Cast: 
John Saxon, David Huffman, Marianna Hill, Burt Young, Otis Young, Lena Pousette, Darrell Fetty, Stefan Gierasch


I heard about this cheesy 80's flick years ago, but I never had to chance to check it. Me being a fan of 80's horror flicks, I knew I had to try to get my hands on it. Despite the negative reviews I read, I watched the movie hoping to find it just a cheesy fun flick. Ah, silly me. The movie ended up being a real bore and the ending was just plain silly, but... somehow I still sorta liked it?

Book of Shadows: Blair Witch 2 (2000)


October 3, 2016 - 10:32pm | Ryan Tutolo

5
Your rating: None Average: 5 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Joe Berlinger
Cast: 
Jeffrey Donovan, Stephen Barker Turner, Erica Leerhsen


Hello my name is Ryan and I used to be a Book of Shadows apologist. I would go around and tell people that the movie was good and even better than the original. Having just watched it some 15 years after first seeing I can say my opinion has changed. Good lord how embarrassing.

So Blair Witch 2 picks up after the cinematic release of The Blair Witch Project and a possibly insane recent asylum release decides to open a Blair Witch Tour business to take tourists into the woods to find the Blair Witch. He's joined by a group of clichés including a goth, a wicca, a yuppie douche, and the innocent preggo who wants to get rid of the baby. There isn't a likable one among them. It's tough to describe what happens without spoiling it so be warned:

Spoilers Below!!


Borderland (2007)


July 29, 2009 - 11:41pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: After Dark Films, blood, borderland, Brian Presley, Damian Alcazar, gore, Jake Muxworthy, Martha Higareda, mexico, Rider Strong, Sean Astin, violent, Zev Berman

6
Your rating: None Average: 6 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Zev Berman
Cast: 
Brian Presley, Jake Muxworthy, Rider Strong, Martha Higareda, Damian Alcazar, Sean Astin


Loosely based on the true story involving the disappearance of a young American tourist that was linked to a cult leader that practiced human sacrifice, Borderland was the sleeper hit of the After Dark festival, in my opinion. Mulberry Street and Deaths of Ian Stone were other hits in the fest, but both seemed to get a bit more buzz than this did, which led me to not expect much from this. It turns out that this is actually a good movie, and delivers a realistic approach at how certain scenes would likely turn out in real life. This is no cookie-cutter movie.

Botched (2007)


May 6, 2012 - 9:03pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: bloody, botched, comedic, Geoff Bell, gory, Jaime Murray, Jamie Foreman, Kit Ryan, Sean Pertwee, Stephen Dorff, underrated

6.5
Your rating: None Average: 6.5 (4 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
Kit Ryan
Cast: 
Stephen Dorff, Jaime Murray, Sean Pertwee, Jamie Foreman, Geoff Bell


Botched is a film that really took me by surprise. When I started watching the flick I was under the assumption that it was just a heist comedy, but then 20-minutes in some dude gets his head chopped off by a pair of large sheers, delivering a very bloody and awesome scene. I was hooked and as I continued to watch I was treated by decent comedy, fun characters, lots of gore, and a couple over-the-top killers. How the hell did a movie like this slip by me? Apparently it slipped under the radar for a lot of people, as it only received a small blurb over a year ago on various news outlets, but then it pretty much fell off the planet until recently. Scheduled to hit DVD in Germany and other countries later this year, there's currently no US distribution set, but Darclight Films owns the rights, so it'll likely get a DVD release sometime next year.

Brain Damage (1988)


July 21, 2009 - 12:42pm | steelba
  Tags: 80's, blood, brain damage, cheesy, comedic, Frank Henlotter, Gordon MacDonald, gore, Jenifer Lowry, Joseph Gonzalez, Lucille St-Peter, Rick Hearst, Theo Barnes, Vick Darnell

6.125
Your rating: None Average: 6.1 (8 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Frank Henlotter
Cast: 
Rick Hearst, Gordon MacDonald, Jenifer Lowry, Theo Barnes, Lucille St-Peter, Vick Darnell, Joseph Gonzalez


This is one I saw a long time ago and had been meaning to revisit for some time. After a regular poster here requested a review for it I figured this was as good a time as any to check it. I didn't remember to much in the way of details about this older Henlotter film except that I liked it. Well I hadn't completely forgotten the gore, the Aylmer, or the over the top craziness either. All the other aspects had been forgotten though, so it was almost like seeing it for the first time again.

Brainscan (1994)


December 8, 2009 - 12:29pm | daylynn4ever
  Tags: 90's, brainscan, Edward Furlong, Frank Langella, psychological, serial killer, T. Ryder Smith, teens, trickster, video games

6.4
Your rating: None Average: 6.4 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
7/10
Director: 
John Flynn
Cast: 
Edward Furlong, Frank Langella, T. Ryder Smith


Ever wonder what that quiet boy who sits in the back of your class with his one and only friend does when he home alone? Well Enter Brainscan the newest innovation in virtual reality video games and you’ll soon find out. Come on play I dare you!

A lonely teenage horror-movie fan named Michael Brower (Edward Furlong), who has lost his mother in horrible accident as a child and inadvertently lost his father in the process, aims for the ultimate horror thrill discovers a mysterious computer game that uses hypnosis to custom-tailor the game into the most terrifying experience imaginable.

BubbaHo-Tep (2002)


April 12, 2011 - 9:50pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Bob Ivy, Bruce Campbell, BubbaHo-Tep, comedic, Don Coscarelli, Ella Joyce, Elvis, Heidi Marnhout, Mummies, mummy, Ossie Davis, Reggie Bannister

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Don Coscarelli
Cast: 
Bruce Campbell, Ossie Davis, Reggie Bannister, Ella Joyce, Heidi Marnhout, Bob Ivy


I first heard about this film back when it just barely wrapped up filming and some pics for the film were released online. Back then it was a part of the UHM page, but eventually I took it down, because it seemed like it was never going to get distribution. It wasn't until recently that I added it back on the UHM page after learning that MGM was going to be distributing the flick on DVD. I was lucky enough to catch a copy it, but sadly after viewing it I was left disappointed. I wasn't sure what to expect from this, but I was thinking we'd at least get a little more action here.

LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.