SEARCH THE DATABASE

BloodRayne (2005)


June 5, 2011 - 2:12pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: based on game, Ben Kingsley, Billy Zane, bloodrayne, Geraldine Chaplin, Kristanna Loken, Matt Davis, Meat Loaf, Michael Madsen, Michael Paré, Michelle Rodriguez, period piece, Udo Kier, Uwe Boll, Will Sanderson

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Uwe Boll
Cast: 
Kristanna Loken, Ben Kingsley, Will Sanderson, Michelle Rodriguez, Matt Davis, Michael Madsen, Udo Kier, Michael Pare, Geraldine Chaplin, Meat Loaf, Billy Zane


Yes, the disaster-master himself Uwe Boll returns to bring us yet another game-to-movie adaptation. After the bad House of the Dead, and atrocious Alone in the Dark, he attempts to redeem himself with BloodRayne. Off-the-bat critics bashed Boll's involvement in the project, and given the man's track record, I don't blame them. Taking place a couple centuries before the events of the first game, the movie is essentially a prequel to the story, showing Rayne as she started out as some circus freak (?) and learning how to fight by an early version of the Brimstone Society.

Rayne's quest doesn't change much from the games, as she's still on the hunt for her father Kagen, who, like many in the film, are on the hunt for various talisman that grant great power to the user who collects them all. The movie was initially supposed to get around 1,900 screens for its theatrical release, but due to not booking theaters before sending out the prints, the theaters declined to show it, moving the screen estimate to a measly 985. Though, I doubt regardless of the screens that the film would have made a dent at the box office.

BloodRayne 2: Deliverance (2007)


June 5, 2011 - 2:00pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, bloodrayne, Brendan Fletcher, Chris Coppola, Chris Spencer, Michael Eklund, Michael Paré, Natassia Malthe, sequel, Uwe Boll, vampire, western, wild west, Zack Ward

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Uwe Boll
Cast: 
Natassia Malthe, Zack Ward, Michael Pare, Chris Coppola, Brendan Fletcher, Michael Eklund, Chris Spencer


German director Uwe Boll (AKA the "disaster master") returns once again to bring forth yet another crappy and forgettable film. This time it's the unwanted sequel to the first game-to-movie adaptation of BloodRayne. Why or how this guy continues to make films is a mystery that will likely never have an answer to. Actress Kristanna Loken was unable to return as "Rayne" reportedly due to "scheduling conflicts", but we all know that she just didn't want her career to go any further down the toilet than it already did thanks to the first movie.

Instead, she's replaced by the much more attractive Natassia Malthe, who I personally liked better as Rayne (although her awkward movements with the double blades were painful to watch) than Loken, but sadly doesn't appear nude in the film. Having seen the movie it's apparent that Uwe just wanted to make a western and (for one reason or another) decided to throw in some vamps and call it BloodRayne 2. There's very little vampire action at all; in fact, even the supposed vampires used guns, especially the lead vamp "Billy the Kid" -- who knew the infamous young outlaw was a blood sucker with a horrible Transylvanian accent!

BloodRayne: The Third Reich (2010)


June 5, 2011 - 1:53pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: action, Annett Culp, bloodrayne, Brendan Fletcher, Clint Howard, Michael Paré, Natassia Malthe, nazi, POS, POS movie, Safiya Kaygin, sequel, Steffen Mennekes, Uwe Boll, vampire, Willam Belli, wwII

2
Your rating: None Average: 2 (27 votes)

Rating #: 
3/10
Director: 
Uwe Boll
Cast: 
Natassia Malthe, Michael Paré, Brendan Fletcher, Willam Belli, Annett Culp, Clint Howard, Steffen Mennekes, Safiya Kaygin


After witnessing a miracle with Rampage (a Uwe Boll movie that doesn't completely suck) I was starting to think that maybe he could actually start developing some decent flicks. That's obviously not the case, as made apparent with the latest pointless straight-to-DVD effort known as BloodRayne: The Third Reich, the obvious third and hopefully final installment in the horrible BloodRayne film series. It took literally three movies to get to the point where Rayne actually fought Nazis, which is something that should have been added in the first movie, had Uwe not decided to set it in freakin' medieval times!

The  flick starts off with Rayne slicing and dicing numerous Nazis on a train, and mistakenly has her blood spilled into a Nazi Commander's mouth, naturally turning him into a dhampir-hybrid, similar to Rayne. This offers the Nazis an idea to give the remaining blood to the Fuhrer and also create a new hybrid army of vampires. Meanwhile, Rayne decides to team up with a group of resistance fighters, in hopes of stopping the commander and his men from reaching the Fuhrer's location.

Bloody Birthday (1981)


October 22, 2009 - 9:59pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Andy Freeman, Billy Jayne, bloody birthday, Ed Hunt, Elizabeth Hoy, Erica Hope, evil kids, killer kids, Michael Dudikoff, underrated

7
Your rating: None Average: 7 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
6/10
Director: 
Ed Hunt
Cast: 
Elizabeth Hoy, Andy Freeman, Michael Dudikoff, Erica Hope, Billy Jayne


I actually sort of enjoyed this film. I think any movie with kids being killers really can't go that wrong. It can't be considered a Children of the Corn rip-off either, because it came out before Corn did. The plot for the movie was nothing too original and I found that it had a lot of plot-holes, but that didn't bother me too much. There's no real explanation as to why the three kids go about killing people around their 10th birthday, but it is explained that due to being born around an eclipse that they have no conscience to tell them what they're doing is wrong.

Bloody Murder (2000)


October 11, 2011 - 2:10am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Bloody Murder, cheesy, Crystalle Ford, Jessica Morris, killer, low budget, low-budget, masked killer, Patrick Cavanaugh, Peter Guillemette, POS movie, Ralph Portillo, slasher, spoof

3.4
Your rating: None Average: 3.4 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
2/10
Director: 
Ralph Portillo
Cast: 
Jessica Morris, Peter Guillemette, Patrick Cavanaugh, Crystalle Ford


This movie was given to me from a friend and I think I know why -- this is one of the most clichéd and unoriginal pieces of crap I've ever seen! I would assume that when they made this movie that they knew what they were getting themselves into.

This was VERY poorly scripted, leaving many plot-holes and a silly climax. The acting was horrible and the directing was nothing special. They obviously burrowed many things from horror films to make this film, with Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Friday the 13th being the main ones. The killer was predictable and the way they tried to confuse the audience towards the end was just plain silly.

An example of bad acting and weak scripting is a scene where this guy is accused of murder, so to prove his innocence he tries to turn to his only friend, who is the lead character. The guy decides to run up from behind the girl and tackle her to the ground to explain that he's innocent. She naturally suspects him of being the killer so she runs off. First off, if you're accused of being a killer and know you're innocent, you don’t get their attention by tackling them from behind!

Bloody New Year (1987)


October 22, 2009 - 10:02pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, bloody new year, Catherine Roman, cheesy, Colin Heywood, Julian Ronnie, Mark Powley, Nikki Brooks, Norman J. Warren, Steve Wilsher, Suzy Aitchison

4
Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Norman J. Warren
Cast: 
Suzy Aitchison, Nikki Brooks, Colin Heywood, Mark Powley, Catherine Roman, Julian Ronnie, Steve Wilsher


I decided to check this flick after some people on my message board said it wasn't too bad, but clearly those nameless individuals were on something at the time, because this far from being a good movie. Sure it's interesting and has a somewhat original plot coming from the decade, but that doesn't make up for its lack of budget, lame acting and incredibly bad choreography. I found this to be more of a comedy than a horror flick, because there was scene after scene of hilariously bad sequences, and not to mention the fact that they reused some of the same frames during certain scenes to make it seem like more was happening than it really was. Ah, the 80s.

Blue Monkey (1987)


October 19, 2009 - 9:51pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, blue monkey, cheesy, giant, hospital, insects, Steve Railsback, William Fruet

6.5
Your rating: None Average: 6.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
William Fruet
Cast: 
Ivan E. Roth, Steve Railsback, Gwynyth Walsh, Don Lake, Helen Hughes, Sandy Webster, Susan Anspach

Bodycount (1984)


February 5, 2010 - 12:13pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, 80's Slashers, Bodycount, camping, Ruggero Deodato, teens

4.5
Your rating: None Average: 4.5 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Ruggero Deodato
Cast: 
Andrew Lederer, Cynthia Thompson, John Steiner


Well this was an okay film. It wasn't boring and had its cool parts, but in the end, it's just another slasher. They added a few twists here and there, but they were all rather predictable. I predicted who the killer would be in the first 5 minutes of the film. I am still kind of confused by how it ended though. It starts off when the regular group of teens goes to an old camp that's supposedly haunted. They end up picking up some other kid in a uniform who happens to be the son of the owner of the old camp. Yadda, yadda, anyway they end up dying.

Bood Beach (1981)


June 15, 2010 - 12:41pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, beach, Blood Beach, Burt Young, campy, cheesy, Darrell Fetty, David Huffman, Jeffrey Bloom, John Saxon, Lena Pousette, Marianna Hill, Otis Young, Stefan Gierasch

5
Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
5/10
Director: 
Jeffrey Bloom
Cast: 
John Saxon, David Huffman, Marianna Hill, Burt Young, Otis Young, Lena Pousette, Darrell Fetty, Stefan Gierasch


I heard about this cheesy 80's flick years ago, but I never had to chance to check it. Me being a fan of 80's horror flicks, I knew I had to try to get my hands on it. Despite the negative reviews I read, I watched the movie hoping to find it just a cheesy fun flick. Ah, silly me. The movie ended up being a real bore and the ending was just plain silly, but... somehow I still sorta liked it?

Book of Shadows: Blair Witch 2 (2000)


October 3, 2016 - 11:32pm | Ryan Tutolo

5
Your rating: None Average: 5 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
4/10
Director: 
Joe Berlinger
Cast: 
Jeffrey Donovan, Stephen Barker Turner, Erica Leerhsen


Hello my name is Ryan and I used to be a Book of Shadows apologist. I would go around and tell people that the movie was good and even better than the original. Having just watched it some 15 years after first seeing I can say my opinion has changed. Good lord how embarrassing.

So Blair Witch 2 picks up after the cinematic release of The Blair Witch Project and a possibly insane recent asylum release decides to open a Blair Witch Tour business to take tourists into the woods to find the Blair Witch. He's joined by a group of clichés including a goth, a wicca, a yuppie douche, and the innocent preggo who wants to get rid of the baby. There isn't a likable one among them. It's tough to describe what happens without spoiling it so be warned:

Spoilers Below!!


LATEST VIDEOS

AYNiB PODCAST



UHM SCHEDULE



Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.