Zombie (1979)

October 22, 2009 - 10:43pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 70's, Al Cliver, Auretta Gay, blood, gore, Ian McCulloch, Lucio Fulci, Richard Johnson, Tisa Farrow, undead, walking dead, zombi 2, zombie, Zombie Movies

Your rating: None Average: 7 (12 votes)

Rating #: 
Lucio Fulci
Tisa Farrow, Ian McCulloch, Richard Johnson, Al Cliver, Auretta Gay

Well I was quite surprised by this film. I've heard a lot of mixed reviews about it and I figured that it wouldn't be that good, but I actually enjoyed it. Had a lot of excellent rotting zombies and a very cool ending. Media Blasters recently re-released it under its Italian title, Zombi 2, on a Special Edition 2-disc set, that's loaded with extras.

Zombie 5: Killing Birds (1987)

December 9, 2010 - 12:00am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: birds, Claudio Lattanzi, italian, italy, James Sutterfield, James Villemaire, Joe D'Amato, killer birds, Lara Wendel, Leslie Cumming, POS movie, Robert Vaughn, Sal Maggiore, Timothy W. Watts, Zombie 5

Your rating: None Average: 2 (2 votes)

Rating #: 
Claudio Lattanzi, Joe D'Amato
Lara Wendel, Robert Vaughn, Timothy W. Watts, Leslie Cumming, James Villemaire, Sal Maggiore, James Sutterfield

Man, what a bore-fest this movie turned out to be. I should've read more stuff on this flick before checking it out, because I was hoping for a little zombie action, but instead got a movie about dumbass killing birds. I should've payed attention to the sub-title more *sigh*...

Zombie Doom (1999)

October 22, 2009 - 10:51pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 90's, Andreas Schnaas, blood, cheesy, gore, low budget, splatter, undead, Violent Shit 3: Infantry of Doom, walking dead, zombie doom

Your rating: None Average: 4 (1 vote)

Rating #: 
Andreas Schnaas
Andreas Schnaas, Marc Trinkhaus, Steve Aquilina, Beate Brüggmann, Uwe Grüntjes

This movie might be better known as Violent Shit 3: Infantry of Doom, which is the original title. Zombie Doom is the US-video title. The previous Violent Shit films dealt with the same character named "Karl the Butcher." I found this movie to actually be somewhat watchable thanks to all the strange stuff it had. I don't know why they decided to call the movie Zombie Doom though, since there are barely any zombies. This was more of Action/Horror film than anything, because it had a lot of ninjas thrown in the mix of strange monsters and zombies.

Zombie High (1987)

January 14, 2012 - 11:09pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, boarding school, Clare Carey, Henry Sutton, high school, James Wilder, Kay E. Kuter, Paul Feig, Paul Williams, POS, POS movie, Richard Cox, Scott Coffey, Sherilyn Fenn, students, Virginia Madsen, Zombie High

Your rating: None Average: 3.3 (3 votes)

Rating #: 
Ron Link
Virginia Madsen, Paul Feig, Sherilyn Fenn, Clare Carey, Scott Coffey, Richard Cox, Kay E. Kuter, James Wilder, Paul Williams, Henry Sutton

When I think "Zombie High" I think of a fun flick with a group of high school students taking on their zombified classmates in an epic battle on school grounds. Instead, what we're actually given is a excruciatingly dull movie about lobotomized students becoming successful in life (WTF??). That's essentially the story for the misleading "Zombie High," as we follow a young Virginia Madsen who accepts a scholarship at a prestigious boarding school where she notices something amiss with her fellow classmates.

Things are especially dubious when one of her peers is a rebellious outspoken sonuva bitch one minute, then an emotionless creeper the next. Virginia eventually discovers that the students are undergoing brain surgery against their will and the school's elder staff are benefiting from it. Apparently they extract certain parts of the brain and mix it with blood to create a means of eternal life. Now Virginia must find a way outta the school before she too becomes yet another science experiment.

Zombie Lake (1981)

July 16, 2009 - 3:24am | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: 80's, Jean Rollin, lake, POS movie, undead, walking dead, zombie lake, Zombie Movies

Your rating: None Average: 2.4 (5 votes)

Rating #: 
Jean Rollin
Howard Vernon, Pierre-Marie Escourrou, Anouchka, Antonio Mayans, Nadine Pascal, Youri Radionow, Gilda Arancio, Jean Rollin, Edmond Besnard

Zombieland (2009)

October 3, 2009 - 8:48pm | Johnny D
  Tags: Abigail Breslin, Amber Heard, comedic, comedies, Emma Stone, end of world, flesh eaters, gore, Jesse Eisenberg, Ruben Fleischer, undead, walking dead, Woody Harrelson, zombedy, zombie-ish

Your rating: None Average: 8.2 (95 votes)

Rating #: 
Ruben Fleischer
Woody Harrelson, Jesse Eisenberg, Emma Stone, Abigail Breslin, Amber Heard

By now I’m sure you’ve heard all of the hype centering around the new Zombedy starring Woody Harrelson and Jesse Eisenberg.  With it’s mix of gruesome undead action and whip smart sense of humor, some are even saying it’s America’s answer to Shaun of the Dead.  At the end of the day, does Zombieland live up to all the praise?  FUCK YEAH!

[Rec] (2007)

July 3, 2009 - 7:16pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: blood, Jaume Balagueró, Paco Plaza, spain, spanish, zombie-ish, [rec]

Your rating: None Average: 7.7 (26 votes)

Rating #: 
Jaume Balagueró, Paco Plaza
Manuela Velasco, Vicente Gil, Pablo Rosso, Ferran Terraza, Claudia Font, Manuel Bronchud, Martha Carbonell, María Teresa Ortega, Carlos Vicente, David Vert, Jorge Serrano

[Rec] 2 (2009)

March 1, 2010 - 2:46pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: exorcism, Filmax, infected, Jaume Balagueró, Jonathan Mellor, Juli Fàbregas, Leticia Dolera, Manuela Velasco, Paco Plaza, Pep Molina, Possession, rec, spain, spanish, [rec]

Your rating: None Average: 7.8 (20 votes)

Rating #: 
Jaume Balagueró, Paco Plaza
Manuela Velasco, Leticia Dolera, Juli Fàbregas, Jonathan Mellor, Pep Molina

A couple years after the first film's release, creators Jaume Balagueró and Paco Plaza return with [Rec] 2, starting off literally seconds after the events of the previous installment. In this movie we follow a group of SWAT members, who are sent into the building with a man from the Ministry of Health to assess the situation and hopefully find answers on the infection. At least that's what we're lead to believe, until the man from the Health department reveals himself to be a priest on a secret mission to retrieve an experimental vile of the infected blood. This is where the movie goes towards an incredibly different, but interesting, direction than its predecessor.

[Rec] 3: Genesis (2012)

July 24, 2012 - 6:27pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Diego Martin, Filmax, infected, Jaume Balagueró, Leticia Dolera, Luis Berdejo, Paco Plaza, pov, sequel, spain, spanish, [rec], [Rec] 3: Genesis

Your rating: None Average: 7.2 (13 votes)

Rating #: 
Paco Plaza
Leticia Dolera, Diego Martín, Javier Botet, Àlex Monner, Claire Baschet, Ismael Martínez, Carla Nieto, Ana Isabel Velásquez, Mireia Ros, Xavier Ruano

After teaming with Jaume Balagueró with the first two [Rec] films, Paco Plaza and Juame decide to part ways for the final two installments in the franchise (supposedly), the first being this flick, followed by Apocalypse from Juame at a later date. It was initially thought that this would be a prequel to the previous installments, but it's actually a parallel story to the first two (primarily the first). Although some may hate that the movie went for a more conventional approach towards its storytelling this time, I actually found it refreshing since I've grown rather tired of the POV camera technique (at least for the moment).

The story finds us at a wedding for Clara and Koldo, a young and happy couple that will soon wish they hadn't invited so many guests for the event, especially their Uncle, who just so happens to have a bite on his hand from the very same dog from the first movie... It's not long before his eyes get bloodshot and starts foaming at the mouth right before taking a bite out of one of the partygoers.

[Rec] 4: Apocalypse (2014)

January 25, 2015 - 8:25pm | FrighT MasteR
  Tags: Filmax, foreign, infected, infection, Jaume Balagueró, Manuela Velasco, Paco Plaza, pov, sequel, spain, spanish, virus, [rec]

Your rating: None Average: 5.4 (7 votes)

Rating #: 
Jaume Balagueró
Manuela Velasco, Héctor Colomé, Críspulo Cabezas, Mariano Venancio, María Alfonsa Rosso, Emilio Buale, Paco Manzanedo, Ismael Fritschi, Carlos Zabala, Cristian Aquino

For a short while there the [Rec] series was really turning into something great. The first film wasn't breaking any new ground, but it was a pretty solid (and at times even scary) found footage pic. Then came the sequel, which in my opinion topped the original in many ways. Mostly the fact that they took the standard infection storyline and blended it with a supernatural/possession angle. I couldn't wait to see where the franchise would take us from that point. Unfortunately what started out as something seemingly fresh for the genre just ended up nothing more than just another run-of-the-mill infection flick.




Got questions? want to advertise? Have news, pics or info for a movie? Contact Us.
UHM has been your upcoming horror movies resource since June 24th '99.
This site is independently owned and operated. Please support us by not blocking the ads.