PDA

View Full Version : lil' help?

IKickAssForTheLord
01-16-2008, 06:01 PM
I have a question if anybody can help me out here. I play Counter-Strike pretty often on a different computer then the one I use for this site. I have this computer that is pretty old and its been in the shop for a couple of times. I know I should probably get a new one but don't got the money right now. Anyways, whenever I try to install a game, and when I click the icon my monitor goes black and then it comes back on and all my settings r fucked@! like it goes back to 8bit the colors and screen looks like shit, looks all choppy. And yea I can't even play the game. I've heard that it has somethin' to do wit my drivers or my video card but I know my video card is good, cuz I remember playin' games on this computer before... but I'm seriously confused 'bout this, I'm not very good at fixin' computers or anythin' so any lil' help would be greatly appreciated!

Driden
01-17-2008, 03:17 PM
It sounds like when they fixed your PC perhaps they didn't update your card with the latest drivers? If you know the name of your card google around for new drivers and install them. If that doesn't fix it then we can look into other things. I don't think your card is dying just yet otherwise you would see different patterns almost lego like graphics and black spots etc. Most likely you are just hitting the bare minimum reqs for the game

The desktop staying at 800x600 (or worse pending on monitor size) sounds like either the game takes a toll on your resources and takes a while to recoup. It happens. I know when I was fixing someone else's PC that would happen and I had to readjust the resolution manually.. This problem could sometimes get worse and leave part of the desktop missing like the taskbar or half your screen not aligned.

What's your specs? And if you game have you given any thought into a new PC?

IKickAssForTheLord
01-17-2008, 09:03 PM